Featured Image

Reviews of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

3.5 out of 5
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
71 Banyan Dr, Hilo, HI

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.3

Excellent

Rating 5 - Excellent. 509 out of 1104 reviews
5 - Excellent 46%
Rating 4 - Good. 432 out of 1104 reviews
4 - Good 39%
Rating 3 - Okay. 117 out of 1104 reviews
3 - Okay 11%
Rating 2 - Poor. 29 out of 1104 reviews
2 - Poor 3%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 17 out of 1104 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.3/5

Cleanliness

4.4/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Amenities

4.1/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The view and dinning
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from KK on Jul 28, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful updated room with view of Hilo Bay. Convenient to everything around Hilo. Good sized room with balcony. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great! We would absolutely stay here again!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from KK on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Property is clean, staff is friendly, great customer service. I like the location of the property. It’s super close to Hilo airport and by the ocean. Room is clean, will definitely stay here again
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from KK on Jul 23, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return visit. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
The location was amazing and the views from our rooms were gorgeous. You get a view of the Hilo bay with majestic Mauna Kea. You are literally in the banyan Grove and can stroll in the gardens next door. The restaurants in the hotel were quite good. The food was good and so were the staff. The part we didn’t like was the rooms themselves. We felt the rooms could be cleaner (got a motel kinda feeling for a hotel for that size). Their elevators stopped working for sometime and we had to take the stairs to the 6th floor a couple of times. The carpets had an old look and looked dirty. Otherwise from a location aspect, this was spot on.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from KK on Jul 20, 2021
Thank your for your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. Our fire alarm system was triggered near the elevators which was determined to be a non emergency event but it's proximity to the elevators will lock them from operating. Only Fire or Elevator personnel can reset the elevator to operate again. The elevators were up and running in less that an hour. We apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from KK on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you very much for your rating, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice place to stay
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from KK on Jul 7, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, We do appreciate your feedback. Mahalo.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The frond desk is so cold and not friendly. I didn't feel welcomed at all. When I had an issue with the front desk, the woman even cut my line. never have such bad experience with a hotel before. not professional at all. I think the hotel has management problem
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jul 7, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate your feedback, This issue will be addressed with the Front Desk Staff. We apologize for the negative experience at our Front Desk.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Reslly good place to stay. We got the ocean view and every morning it was a beautiful morning to sit and drink my coffy on the balcony. Really recomend it.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jul 1, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to a return visit sometime in the near future. Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jul 12, 2021
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate them. Mahalo

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Amenities
No cleaning service at all. Covid nearly over but no restoration of any type of housekeeping services (other than removing items placed in hallway). Staff nice but not completely up to the task of prioritizing needs of guests.
Stayed 13 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on Jun 30, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. Safety protocols do not allow us to enter occupied rooms at this time. We are hopeful that all guest services in place prior to the Pandemic will soon return. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jul 5, 2021
Thank you very much for your score, we do appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Amazing view of Coconut Island. Room was very clean and staff was friendly.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 24, 2021
Thank you very much for your comment, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. A hui hou (till we meet again).

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
A big disappointment! Let's start with the positive as it short: The location is central and provides easy access to major attractions, and service is responsive. We stayed on the six floor. The negative is that the rooms are small and aging, suffering from little renovation effort, displaying failing efforts trying to maintain what looks like a 90's room decore. The beds are mini - queen size, marginally comfortable and a little larger than a twin bed. Covid-19 prevents daily housekeeping services but the rooms were dirty to start with. My allergies go wild every time I enter a dirty room and this one had me off scale. The thermometer was thilthy and the floor carpet was sticky. The old mini-fridge was freezing the vegetables we stored - so we had to throw them. No screen to the patio and TV screen size closer to a computer monitor. I'm attaching pictures - see for yourself. Overall a big disappointment.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 23, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that we did not live up to expectations, your room cleanliness issues will be addressed with our Housekeeping Department to make and be better. Thank you for sharing your concerns.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I live to stay in this hotel, the view is pretty and room is clean and safe
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel and for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to a return visit to Hilo in the near future. A hui hou (till we meet again).

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 21, 2021
Thank you very much for your score, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to a return visit in the future. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We loved our oceanview suite with the kitchenette. It had two burners on the stovetop which eliminated having to go out for breakfast every day. We also like that it had a separate living room area. It was like living in an apartment with two tvs. We didn't like that there was no recycling bins especially when we had so many aluminum cans and water bottles to recycle. We also didn't like the dryers in the laundry room. They didn't work very well. Also, this place needs a workout room. One thing that was concerning was that a group of locals were congregating in the basement on the night before we were leaving. They were there in there cars possibly partying/drinking there. One of the cars pulled out once we parked next to them so they knew they weren't supposed to be there. The next morning we saw a security guard on duty, so the hotel responded to this incident.
Stayed 10 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 21, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you were not aware of our workout room, it's in the 2nd building from the left that fronts the hotel. We look forward to a return visit in the future. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The restaurant was absolutely delicious, breakfast and dinner. The staff was very kind, and our view from our balcony was amazing. We look forward to going back this winter. Thank you Hilo, aloha!!!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 21, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. We look forward to a return visit in the future. Mahalo for choosing the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice hotel. Breakfast in the dining room was terrible. And I mean really really bad. Not good for your insides bad. Decent supper in the lounge tho. We had a beautiful room and view.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 16, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We have shared them with our Executive Chef to look into. Thank you again for sharing your views with us.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location and excellent views of Hilo.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 15, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. Mahalo.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Nice hotel, friendly staff however, there were little ant like bugs in the bathroom.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 14, 2021
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us, we do appreciate the feedback. We will work on the issue with our exterminators. Mahalo

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Good location
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from KK on Jun 8, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your comments. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly staff. Room was nice and decent.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on Jun 8, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your comments. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
No real services or amenities on site; no maid service or food or coffee. Physical plant needs attention in places.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on Jun 4, 2021
Thank you for your comments, at the present time our restaurant only opens for dinner. Beginning June 7th we will begin serving breakfast. As COVID restrictions begin to lighten, more services will return. We look forward to when all services are restored. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Efficient and thoughtful staff, airy lobby, room is huge, bay view contains the cloud shrouded Mauna Kea, air conditioner works perfectly (unlike Colony I At Sea Mountain where we also stayed). Corridor smells fresh instead of musty. Restaurants within the hotel could improve their food quality.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on Jun 3, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location and affordable price.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on Jun 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your feedback. Mahalo.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Cleanliness
Pillow cases are smelly and not clean
Stayed 5 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on May 25, 2021
Thank you for your comment, we will look into this issue immediately. Mahalo

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
We reserved a king bed room, but got a queen. The staff said we could change to king next day, but there was still no king room. And the room doesn't provide bottled water.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on May 24, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we do try to fulfill every request but there are times when we cannot. The king bed request is one that at times we cannot fulfill. At times there is simply not enough king bedded rooms to fulfill all the requests. We do apologize that your request was one that we could not fulfill. Mahalo.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
Nice rooms with Balcony’s. Pretty view of a park and inlet, not exactly ocean front.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from KK on May 24, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate them. Our Deluxe rooms do face the ocean and Hilo Bay and is described as Ocean View rooms. Thank you very much.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on Jun 1, 2021
Thank you very much for your score, it is greatly appreciated. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from kk on Jun 1, 2021
Thank you very much for your score, it is greatly appreciated. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The bay view was simply amazing from Room 406❤️
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from KK on May 13, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we do appreciate them. We look forward to a return visit to the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel in the near future. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from KK on May 18, 2021
Thank you for your score, we greatly appreciate you taking time out of your day to do this. Mahamo.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Dingy
Having recently re-opened after being closed during Covid, I expected a lot more. The easiest way to describe it is a dingy hotel by the bay without air conditioning. Enough said. I canceled the 2nd night and booked down the street for only $30 more.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from KK on May 3, 2021
We're sorry your experience was less than expected. Our rooms do have Air Conditioning, it may have needed service on it and for that we apologize. FYI, if the glass sliding door is ajar, the a/c will not turn on. Thank you.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021
Response from KK on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your score, we do appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit to Hilo and the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. Aloha.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from KK on May 7, 2021
Thank you very much for your score, we do appreciate it. We look forward to your return visit to Hilo and the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
lounge and restaurant available. Very open entrance and plenty of seating . . Open air and decking for the room. Didn't use the pool but walked the park space - very nice
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from KK on Apr 20, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we do appreciate them. We look forward to your next visit to Hilo and The Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. ALOHA.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My family loved our stay! True Aloha Spirit!
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from kk on Apr 19, 2021
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share them. We look forward to a return visit to Hilo and the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. Aloha..

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay!
Happy campers! Room was clean, pool was clean. Great restaurant! We had a pleasant stay.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from KK on Apr 19, 2021
Thank you Vanessa for your comment, we appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share them. We look forward to a return visit to Hilo and the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. Aloha..

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from KK on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your score, we do appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit to Hilo and the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. Aloha.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel ruined by loud partiers
Hotel was nice, but expensive for what you get. The big problem that would cause me not to stay there again (and not really the hotel's fault), was loud music and partying at 4:30 to 7:30 in the morning from the park outside the hotel that completely prevented sleeping.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from kk on Apr 12, 2021
We're sorry your stay was not as you had hoped for. The local police would have addressed the issue at the park. I'll talk to our security staff to make sure that they call the police when it occurred.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Have stayed here a number of times over several years. It is old but well kept, a great location right by the Japanese garden, on the bay. The balconies are nice and worth getting a room with an ocean view.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Hotel Management on Apr 12, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we greatly appreciate them. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Absolutely wonderful staff. So friendly and prompt with check in. Even got a couple check in gifts.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Hotel Management on Apr 12, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we greatly appreciate them. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Staff was friendly & helpful. All areas was clean. No problems with parking.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from KK on Apr 9, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, we greatly appreciate them. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nice place.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from KK on Apr 7, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate them very much. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Large spaces, open air lobby, free gifts
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from KK on Apr 7, 2021
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate them very much. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from KK on Apr 19, 2021
Thank you for your score, we appreciate you taking the time to share them. We look forward to a return visit to Hilo and the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. Aloha..

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Very noisy hotel with few amenities available to guests
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2021
Response from KK on Apr 5, 2021
We're sorry your stay was not pleasant as you had expected. We will continue to work hard on improving our services. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Relaxing stay
This hotel is in a great location for diving to all the sites to be seen on the east side of Big Island. There was convenient covered parking to keep the car cool. For our room, we selected one without an ocean view but never regretted it. It rains often in Hilo but the balconies stay dry so we fully enjoyed our cool early mornings on the balcony listening to the many birds sing from the trees directly opposite from our room. All of the customer service representatives that dealt with were super friendly. As a bonus, they have a courtesy filtered water station available to guests.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2021
Response from KK on Apr 5, 2021
Thank you very much for choosing the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your comments. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
This is a very nice hotel with pretty views of coconut island. However, I was not happy about having to pay resort fees with no explanation for what I was getting. There were no amenities. I chose this hotel because the description said there was breakfast available. However, the one restaurant doesn’t serve breakfast. We had to go out and buy groceries along with bowls and spoons after paying resort fees!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from KK on Apr 1, 2021
We're sorry that your stay was not what you expected. The Resort Fee amenities include: Use of the Fitness Center, In Room Internet Service, Local and Long Distance calls, Lobby Internet Service, Pool, Parking, 1 Logo Water Bottle per registered guest. Mahalo.