Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful location, but...

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location
An attractive, older large house in a lovely hilltop location. Price was reasonable. Bed was comfortable. Pillows felt like old foam bricks. Volcano Room's furnishings were old, with the exception of a new flat screen. Bathroom was newer, with nice furnishings, but it's a voyeur's delight: It has a large picture window overlooking a grass back yard hillside with absolutely NO privacy. Flier showed glass privacy bricks, but this was obviously photo shopped. Walking distance to old town Hilo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olive Branch, Ms

Suite Room

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: view was great, convienient to town.
Cons: Coffee, towels line dried and very rough. Reminded me of growing up though and were large. Did I mention need coffee, for the price instant very much
Location: in town close to food and beach, rainbow falls really close.
check in was easy and dad took great care of us. Beautiful view from suite and for us it was nice. Suite compared to rest of rooms but dont expect your regular suite. Large room, refrig, microwave, older room with character we liked but not for everyone. No a/c but you dont need windows open and great breeze with fan will have you searching for covers by daylight. We enjoyed the place but could pressure wash deck and give coffee. No breakfast (we knew this) but coffee was instant although there was a coffee maker. We bought coffee and filters and used coffee maker. Need more than a cup of instant in the morning. We left coffee supplies for the next occupant. Overall we enjoyed the place as we like older homes with character.
3 out of 5
by Noah

Charming but not very comfortable

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
This old home is charming and lovely in many ways, but lacking in comfort. The room we were in was quite large and pleasant with windows all around and a porch, and a lovely old desk. There is a fan but no air conditioner (usually it wasn't too hot but it is always very humid on the island). The bed sagged pretty badly, and worse, it had a frame which looked attractive but stuck out in such a way that I was continually banging my shins against it to the point of coming home quite bruised! The bathroom had the original old tile, which was quaint, but there was a kind of ledge you had to step over to get into it, which I was afraid would cause me to trip and fall in the middle of the night (fortunately it didn't). The view of the garden and the town and ocean spread out below was magnificent. Be prepared for the LOUD sound of coqui frogs all night long! There is a small fridge and microwave, but be aware that this is not a kitchen, there is no dishware and nowhere to wash dishes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice enough place. It's mostly a house that has been renovated into a couple of hotel rooms. The rooms were pretty basic - nothing really to complain about, but nothing to rave about either. The staff was very warm and welcoming when I saw them, but also not really around. Overall, it was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

view okay, hard-to-find, poor parking not B&B

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It’s best quality was that it was the view
Cons: . It’s worse quality was its lack of hospitality, communications, and amenities it did not even have a hairdryer.
Location: Drive to the beach and see the sand.
Good views through dirty cracked window. Surface very clean two black roach like bugs the 1st day. No hospitality no food no breakfast pots and pans. Very poor dangerous parking on the side of the hill. Advertise by Orbitz as bed-and-breakfast no breakfast at all. I never saw the owners. 15+ - phone calls seeking details got one returned call. Owner text he would not be there to greet but the text message arrived more than 30 minutes after our arrival. His 70-year-old father greeted did the best he could which was inadequate. He did not shows how to open a hidden pocket door to the bathroom. The home has 5 bedrooms added on and converted to apartments. The home is a full story walk from parking and a two-story walk up to the room. I originally planned 3 nights and canceled 1 and left early. The home is about 10 miles from the beach through questionable part of town. 2 packets of instant coffee were provided with a small coffee maker. The coffee had nondairy creamer mixed in without options and was the worst I’ve had a long time. It’s best quality was the view. It’s worse quality was its lack of hospitality, communications, and amenities it did not even have a hairdryer.
2 out of 5
by Sau M

Not recommended!

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
I thought it is going to be a proper hotel with a front desk and lobby. When I got there, I then realized it is more like an airbnb where a owner is renting out all five bedrooms in a huge house with common area. Check-in: I was not notified that if I were to arrive later than 6pm I had to call in advance. It was purely luck that when I arrived at the front door, another family happened to be returning to their room so we were able to ask for contact number. Cleanliness: There was a dead cockroach on the floor. Disgusting! The room in general is dilapidated and smelly. You can hear noises from the other rooms. It was not a comfortable stay.
1 out of 5
by fan

More than horrible!DO NOT GO

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
We want to give negative point for this so called'room' but the lowest point is only 1. Don't let the picture fool your eye.Mattress is like something picked up from trash,very SMELLY and super uncomfortable.Windows are too old to be able to close or open if close them first, although the place is up on the hill, could be a nice and quiet experience,but some kind of bird made constantly loud/strange noise outside,I like nature but this is a bit over but it's still ok. THE WORST THING IS THE BEDING, STINK AND SO SMELLY! we don't think the owner has ever wash it,my husband only lie down for three hours and I completely sat on the little old chair and covered with my scraf till 4am, luckly we only booked one night. At 4:30am we packed and slept in our rental car for a while.The owner is not very good at giving privacy,knocked our door and tried to sell us a bigger room. Nightmare.This 'house' gives us a very uncomfortable feeling, everything seems horrible.DO NOT GO.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Hotel at the Top of the Hill

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Shower was refreshing.
Cons: People available to get light bulbs and to get advice on places to see if we had a question.
Location: Location was great and 2 thumbs up for the "Pinapple" restaurant we stumbled onto in Hilo. Great food!!
Would not of found the Legacy rental if we didn't have a GPS to find it for us. When we got there, had to double check that the address was correct. The house # was the convincer. There were 2 parking spaces for 3-4 guests. We got there at noon and found nobody there to answer any questions, where we could go until 3 PM check in. We went exploring (had a great time). At 3 PM, still no one at residence. After a few times knocking on door, an elderly gentleman answered and said his son was not home yet but he showed us to the room. Very nice gentleman. Turned out that would be the only time we saw him or his son. The room was small and cramped but OK. Had one queen bed to the left and a computer monitor on the small desk that served as the TV. There was a small closet for thingss to hang up (we didn't). The 10 foot wide by 4 foot wide bathroom had a commode in one side and sink in the middle with a shower stall in the other end. One light bulb near the shower stall worked. The other light bulb over the commode didn't. No one around to ask for another lght bulb either. There were two 110Voutlets in the main bedroom and none in the bathroom. Parking was either in the 2 available slots or down the road on the side of the road. We've stayed in hotels all over the world for the last 30 years. Not trying to be harsh to the owners. I hope the other rooms were better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We had a wonderful stay here. It was quiet and had a lovely garden. I would definitely stay here again!