Primary image

Reviews of Drop Anchor

3 out of 5
Drop Anchor
84959 Overseas Highway, 222, Islamorada, FL

Overall score and ratings

4.4

Excellent

Rating 5 - Excellent. 617 out of 1000 reviews
5 - Excellent 62%
Rating 4 - Good. 266 out of 1000 reviews
4 - Good 27%
Rating 3 - Okay. 76 out of 1000 reviews
3 - Okay 8%
Rating 2 - Poor. 27 out of 1000 reviews
2 - Poor 3%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 14 out of 1000 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.5/5

Cleanliness

4.5/5

Staff & service

4.3/5

Amenities

4.3/5

Property conditions & facilities

4.2/5

Eco-friendliness

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Excellent place
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2022
Response from Cliff - GM on Aug 8, 2022
Hi Ryan, Thank you for the 5 star review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We loved the pool with the beautiful view of the ocean. The area around the hotel is awesome with tables, chairs and hammocks just to relax and spend time with family and friends. They also have kayaks available for the guests.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from Cliff - GM on Aug 5, 2022
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Room did not meet expectations
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2022
Response from Cliff - GM on Jun 18, 2022
We are very sorry your room did not meet your expectations. We would love to hear what specific issues you had so we can continue our improvements throughout our facility.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great place to stay. Wonderful water access and views. You can grill or just hang in the hammock. Cool architecture and close enough to good food but far enough from crowds.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022
Response from Donna on Jun 9, 2022
Thank you for your feedback! I agree, can't beat that view!! Hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I really enjoyed the stay there and the staff is really nice. My room was completely updated, the beds were comfortable the AC was great all around is a great little hotel I guess your job though for visitors.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Donna on Jun 9, 2022
Thank you for the great feedback! Hope to see you again!!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely Waterfront Property
Drop Anchor offered a lovely setting and a friendly, helpful staff. We stayed in the water front trailer and my only complaint would be the ceiling height. It is best served for shorter guests of which we were not.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on May 9, 2022
Hi Teresa, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback... we hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Simple, beautiful place to stay. Great views, private beach, quiet and staff extraordinarily friendly.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on Apr 30, 2022
Hi Ronald, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. You were a SUPER guest, we hope you can stay with us again soon...

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Gorgeous!
Stunning!! It was our first trip to the keys and it was everything I had hoped it would be. We had the king ocean view suite and it was so perfect!!! The view was gorgeous. The room was clean and cozy. We loved having a full kitchen to be able to cook breakfast in. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend and will definitely be coming back.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on May 6, 2022
Thank you for the great review, Shauna. We look forward to your next visit!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Zen views
We loved our stay at Drop Anchor as part of a birthday trip. Arrived early and able to check in and enjoy the property. Its gorgeous and well maintained. We stayed in room 2, beach front with direct access. Enjoyed the pool, hammock and superb views. Room had full kitchen and met all our needs. Nice to make some of our own meals on a 2.5 week road trip. Thanks Drop Anchor!!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on Apr 16, 2022
Hello Tanja, Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, what a fabulous group! We hope to see you again soon!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Real quiet and clean
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on Apr 11, 2022
Hello Generoso, and thank you for your feedback. We are happy you found us to be quiet and clean, but would love to have the opportunity to increase our review score. We would welcome any recommendations for improvements.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on Apr 11, 2022
Outstanding! Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Location, location, location.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on Apr 11, 2022
Hi William, Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Anchored boats BLASTED their idea of good music.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on Apr 11, 2022
Hello Christina, Thank you for the review. We are so sorry some of our boating guests disturbed your stay. We would have certainly asked them to lower their volume had we known. We hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everyone was super helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem. They loved what they do and wants us to have the best time. I would stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff - General Manager on Apr 4, 2022
Hi Catherine, We are so glad you enjoyed your time here, and look forward to your next stay. Thank you so much for the great review!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Cliff and Maria are great! Friendly welcome. Room was clean and had a great view!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 29, 2022
Hi Shelly, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Quiet getaway in Islamorada, close to Theater of the Sea. Rooms are updated however water pressure is minimal and kitchens arent functional for cooking. Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Would recommend.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 29, 2022
Hi Tom, Thank you for the great review! We are looking at the water pressure to see if there is something we can do to correct this. Also, we will look at the kitchenware and assure we are up to par!!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The stay was very good and Cliff was very helpful.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 25, 2022
Thank you, Terry! We enjoyed having you and hope you can visit us again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was a great spot with so much charm. The staff was amazing, and I can't wait to go back.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 22, 2022
Hi Katherine, Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to see you again real soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Quick trip
This spot was fine for what we needed, a spot to sleep. Definitely a retro throwback. Room was clean, and the bed comfortable The outside patio area is cute and charming. Near to a number of restaurants, a couple even walking distance. Less than stellar water pressure and supply of hot water. As stated, it was fine for what we needed, but would choose different lodging spot if I ever return to the area.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 22, 2022
Hello, We are happy you allowed us the opportunity to host your stay. We do bring a vintage or throwback feel to the stay, which so many of our guests love. We appreciate your feedback.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed in an oceanfront suite for the weekend. The room itself was renovated, clean, and bright. Bedding was excellent and the shower had amazing pressure. There is a full sized kitchen which is unheard of! The unit had more than what we needed for our stay. The suite opened to a little patio and direct access to the water. The waterside area was exceptionally clean, with lots of comfortable seating, hammocks, and BBQs. The pool area was also very clean and the pool itself was heated. Hotel is centrally located with lots of great restaurants a quick drive away. Check in and out were also quick and painless. Cannot wait to visit again!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 14, 2022
Hi Kristina, Thank you so much for the kind review. You were a pleasure to host, and we hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service
I did not even stay here. Had a family situation arise that caused me to have to leave FL early and tried twice to cancel through Expedia to get even some portion of a refund but nothing. I reached out 4 days before I was to check in. Very disappointed to lose all of the money I paid.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Drop Anchor on Mar 6, 2022
Jennifer, We are very sorry to hear about your trouble. We went back and searched our emails for any communication from you directly to us, but were unable to find any. We show you listed as a "no show", which typically happens when we open the office the day after your scheduled arrival and find that you have not checked in. Our refund policy is clearly stated as 7 days prior, so we have an opportunity to re-sale the room. With a "no-show", we have no chance to do this as we held the room all night for your possible late arrival. Even with our policy, at times exceptions can be made. We wish you would have reached out to management at the motel directly to try to resolve this issue. Regards,

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved this property!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 4, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Feeling of old Florida. Excellent views.
Stayed 6 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 3, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Cool Retro 1960s property with an Old Florida vibe. The best part was sitting in the hammocks and Adirondack chairs gazing off into the bay. It was quiet and peaceful. Amazing stay!
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 3, 2022
We also love the view here! Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 28, 2022
Hello Kathleen, Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This place is a gem! Our family suite was beautiful, clean and newly remodeled! Our favorite was the pristine grounds.. a tropical paradise. Kayak rentals very reasonable, friendly staff, beautiful grounds, amazing pool.. we can’t wait to come back!!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 26, 2022
Hi Tara, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review and your kind words! We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We had the most relaxing time here! Right on the ocean, with kayaks and paddle boards available. Relaxing by the pool, on the beach in a hammock, or in front of our room in the Adirondack chairs. Easy to get to, close to whatever we needed. Quiet and beautiful property.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 25, 2022
Hello Alissa, Thank you so much for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
This is a nice property....just don't book the trailer.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 21, 2022
Hello Tom, We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope you can visit again, maybe in a unit more to your liking, as we believe the Drop Anchor is a hidden gem here on Islamorada. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A great place in paradise.
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 21, 2022
Hello Dawn, thank you so much for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
A paradise on Earth!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 18, 2022
Thank you Lee for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very clean. Friendly.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 17, 2022
Hi Julie, Thanks so much for the great review! We hope to see you again...

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great bang for the buck
Great experience. Friendly staff and clean overall resort at a great price.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 17, 2022
Hi Reginald! Thank you for the review... we hope to see you again!!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Loved it!
It was an old Florida feel and we loved it! Room was clean view was beautiful. Bathroom was tight but who cares!! Friendly staff would return.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 14, 2022
Hi Christine, and thank you so much for the review. We hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 13, 2022
Hi Elwin, and thank you fr the review! We look forward to your next visit!!

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The good-grounds were very nice but small. The bad-we had an extremely inferior room, like closet size with broken items/sticky floor. I contacted the staff and let them know i was disappointed and wanted to give a review that was positive if they had any explanation. They did not respond. I have many other comments but not wasting my time.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 22, 2022
Hello Rhonda, We are very sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Even though your room was just remodeled, we understand different people have different tastes. I have done my best to respond to all of your postings from the different sites, and apologize if I have missed one. Best Regards

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I've stayed here in the past, but this last trip was truly an awful one. Customer Service was so unpleasant/unhelpful, room was not sanitary (and I'm pretty flexible), and there was no effort to make the stay a better one. Do not recommend to go, unless you plan as if you're going on a camping trip.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 11, 2022
Hello Joshua, You have been here several times (with as many cancellations as visits) and know that your statement is not true. We treat all of our guests very well, including the difficult ones. Your unit on the beach is a very cute unit that is updated and kept very clean. I am very sorry your trip did not turn out for you this time, but your rating is very unfair. Please come talk to me personally on your next trip so I can assure you have all the things you need for a pleasant stay. Best regards

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We trailered out boat. Property had a boat ramp and docking making that process very easy.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 9, 2022
Thanks for the great review Heidi, we hope to see you again soon!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Room was very clean, had a small private outdoor seating area. Property was very nice, has a heated pool and sandy beach area right on the water. Plenty of chairs for guests to spread out, has a relaxing atmosphere. Staff is very friendly. Only con is that there is no food or drink on site, but there are several good restaurants nearby. I would definitely recommend, we would stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 9, 2022
We are so glad you had a great stay! Hope to see you again soon!

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
False advertising at this place. Water did not get hot and was on the lowest pressure. Water was cold when I showered and each time I washed my hands, not very sanitary! Room was not even ready by the time I checked in and there was no heater in the cold freezing room! It’s definitely worth a little extra to stay at a better hotel then this one!
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 7, 2022
Hello Elysia, We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. I would encourage you to reach out to me for further discussion on your stay. I would like to know what was falsely advertised and on what site so I can get it corrected. We generally receive very good reviews, so to receive a 1 is very concerning to me. We also do keep portable room heaters for the very few days they are needed, I just wish you would have reached out. Our check-in time is always 3 PM, I also apologize we were unable to check you in early.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent stay
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 7, 2022
Thank you for the great feedback, James. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Bad water pressure and not always hot water
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 7, 2022
William, Thank you for your feedback. We will look into the pressure to find the cause and correct it for our future guests. Hope to see you again!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Terrible water pressure and couldn’t always get hot water.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Feb 5, 2022
Hello William, Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry you had issues with your water pressure, and have scheduled maintenance accordingly so our future guests will not have the same issues. We hope to see you again soon.