Featured Image

Reviews of Drop Anchor

3 out of 5
Drop Anchor
84959 Overseas Highway, 222, Islamorada, FL

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.4

Excellent

Rating 5 - Excellent. 566 out of 974 reviews
5 - Excellent 58%
Rating 4 - Good. 289 out of 974 reviews
4 - Good 30%
Rating 3 - Okay. 81 out of 974 reviews
3 - Okay 8%
Rating 2 - Poor. 27 out of 974 reviews
2 - Poor 3%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 11 out of 974 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.5/5

Cleanliness

4.5/5

Staff & service

4.4/5

Amenities

4.3/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
While the rooms were all new and updated, it still had that old school charm and vibe. The pool was perfect.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We absolutely fell in loved with the place. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed while we stayed. The property was well maintained, the staff was very friendly, management was helpful. Nice pool area, with lounge chairs and plenty of shade. The water view from our room was amazing. The area had plenty of lounge chairs, tiki huts and hammocks, it was paradise!! Stores and restaurants were within walking distance. We hope to book at the Drop Anchor on our next trip back.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jul 31, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
The property outside was beautiful, it had a great view and it was clean, but the room itself was dirty and very small; the whole room needs a renovation but mainly the bathroom. And there was no curtain on one of the windows and I couldn’t sleep in. The shower head and the tv worked nicely, and the bed was comfortable.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jul 24, 2021
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review us, but I wish I knew a little more about your stay. We rely on honest reviews like this one to help guide us on where we need to focus our attention for improvements. It is difficult if we do not know what room you stayed in. That being said, we always do our best to provide a clean room for all of our guests. We do have a few rooms scheduled for renovation starting next month, so hopefully, the improvements will provide a better environment for your future stays.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Centtrally located in Islamorada, very clean and bright. Room was well appointed and a great bed. The pool was fine and the beach area stocked with good chairs and sitting options. Just a fun, clean place to stay! I would recommend to anyone.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you so much for the great review! We are happy you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very clean, comfortable public spaces, nice pool. I really enjoyed sitting in the cabanas looking at the stars at night and swimming in the pool with my family.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jul 18, 2021
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you found it as beautiful as we do and hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
very friendly staff, pleasant place, I will definitely come back.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Amanda- Front Desk on Jul 7, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Drop Anchor. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jul 18, 2021
Thank you for your review. We hope you can visit us again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved the setting, view of water, free cabana and lounge chairs. Very relaxed setting. Very happy,
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jun 29, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Amanda- Front Desk on Jul 5, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us at Drop Anchor. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Amanda- Front Desk on Jul 5, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Family suite was ample space for our family of four. Beds were clean and comfortable. View was amazing!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Tina - Front Desk on Jun 18, 2021
Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was loaded with horrible smelling fish (in the garbage) when we arrived Cliff said they lost a worker but it should have been addressed to prior to our arrival on Monday, it was so bad, the kids were getting nauseated from the foul smells coming from, not only the garbage area but the garbage by the outside bathroom. Also, we didn’t have any barbecue utensils for the grill, we had to use a plastic spatula & regular fork for our meats😩 The big burner on the electric burner wasn’t working, so we had to use the smaller burners with the large frying pan that was provided, it was very frustrating to cook anything evenly as the burners were lopsided! The place needs new utensils & frying pans!! Other than that, we had fresh towels everyday, toilet paper & the girls straightened out the bed sheets very nicely & made our place feel welcome☺️
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Tina - Front Desk on Jun 18, 2021
Thank you for letting us know about the garbage. We took care of that situation immediately as that should not have occurred. Our rooms are not equipped with grilling utensils for the outside grills. We will address that in the near future as we have so many families who love to cook outside. We were unaware of the stove burner not working properly in your room and will look into that. There should have been plenty of frying pans as we just purchased and distributed new ones to each room with kitchens but we always have more. Thank you for the compliments on our housekeeping staff. They will be happy to hear they have done a good job. We do appreciate your patronage and honesty and strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was such a beautiful property, beautifully remodeled. We had the trailer and loved it! We were greeted by Cliff and was such a positive experience it was the best welcome to the Keys we couldve asked for. Between the equipped kitchen, to the hammocks and pool I am not forgetting this place!
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jun 11, 2021
Outstanding! I love it that you had a great experience. You guys were great... come back and see us soon!! Cliff - GM

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The property was ok but a little overpriced for what they offer, stay in 4A and bathroom really small, mold on the wall next to the sink. Overall the property was ok but overpriced
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jun 8, 2021
We are sorry we didn't provide with with a room that meets your standards. Room 14B is a small room and we have plans to upgrade it this summer. Should you choose to visit again, ask for the GM and he will be able to help fit you to a room that may suit you better. We appreciate your feedback and will work hard to improve. Hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I loved that it was limited capacity, it made for a more intimate, secluded feel, rather than a loud overcrowded resort. The staff was so friendly and accomodating. The property was beautiful and well maintained
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Jun 8, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I guess I expect too much sometimes but those wall unit air conditioners are murder if you’re expecting to actually sleep. An unauthorized credit card charge that hasn’t gone away made me realize even more why I check my online banking daily. Hopefully it will be gone before I have to call Visa.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 24, 2021
Hello, and thank you for the review. We are sorry you did not sleep well with the air, and I will review our units to see which ones are making noise. If you can reach out to me to identify yourself I would be more than happy to check on any unauthorized charges... this should never happen. Thank you

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 26, 2021
Thank you for the fantastic review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed one night and loved every minute of it. First of all the warm greeting by Clay at reception. The room was perfect with sea view, king's size bed, fridge and stove. Loved the grounds, had wine and cheese out by pool early evening and then walked to Hog's Heaven for dinner. Perfect stay!
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 13, 2021
We are so happy you had a great stay. Hoping to see you again in the near future. Sincerely

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 6, 2021
Charles, thank you for writing a review for us. We hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Pleasant Stay at Drop Anchor
Pleasant stay at Drop Anchor. Check-in was quick, easy and everyone nice. Decent size main room. Could use some updating. The bathroom/shower are VERY small, which was fine for me, but may be a tight fit for others (Room 6). The outside was really nice with chairs, huts, hammocks and pool, ocean-side.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 4, 2021
Thank you so much for writing a review. We try very hard to keep our little slice of heaven as nice as possible to share with all our great guests, and feedback is such an important part of that. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Love This Place
The staff were very friendly. Cliff the manager was particularly helpful. One of our beds needed a newer mattress, but other than that, we cannot say enough good about this wonderful little gem. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to the Keys.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 4, 2021
Thank you, Steven, for taking the time to write an awesome review! We love having good people as guests and you are topping that list! Come back anytime!!!

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 6, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review.

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 4, 2021
Thank you so much! Come back soon...

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed in room #1- very nicely recently remodeled. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. Pool area , grounds and dock area were well kept and clean. Would definitely stay there again.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 23, 2021
Thank you, Thomas, for such a great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on May 4, 2021
Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Drop Anchor reminds me of a throwback more old school motel of the 60's and 70's.The room was nicely decorated and clean. Updates were nicely done.Each room had a balcony or patio. The beach and pool were very inviting. There were kayaks available. Property is quiet and relaxing .
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 23, 2021
Thank you for the review. We are working very hard to assure each guest receives an awesome experience. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice, well maintained property with comfy beds. Plenty of beach chairs and hammocks for lounging on the waterfront. They were fully booked when we visited but we still felt like the only ones there! Very tranquil. We rented their kayaks one day and had a blast exploring the crystal clear water just steps from our door. There is no beach here but this is typical for the Keys. The pool was heated and clean so it made up for the lack of a beach access.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 20, 2021
We are so happy you had a great time. Thank you for leaving us a great review! we hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Worth the Stay
Thought it was wonderful! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay at in the keys. The room was clean and tidy. Loved the decor! Cliff at the front desk was amazing. He did everything to make our stay comfortable and had a great disposition. Friendly and attentive. I would most definitely go back.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 13, 2021
Hi Melody, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. These are so important to us to make sure we stay on our game! I'm happy you had a great stay with us and hope you will come back to visit again. Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very Nice!
We truly had an ocean view, clean room and comfortable bed.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 13, 2021
We are pleased you had a great stay. Hoping you can come back again for another visit. Regards

5/5 Excellent

Beautiful Florida Keys Location
Very Nice location and spectacular view. Sandy Beach area...no shoes required. I was very satisifed with everything about Drop Anchor. Our accomadations were a quaint bungalow with 2 bedrooms, living room, dining and kitchen. Bath nice too. Clean, great view right out our windows with a nice private patio There is even a boat launch here and private dock for your boat. Just offshore in the Islamorada Sand Bar snorkeling, fishing and just hanging out. here you are close to Theatre on the Sea, Robbies (A MUST FOR Lunch or Dinner...order "MAHI"), Abel's Tackle Box, Wahoo Bar n Grill and too many Marines and other great dining. The Owner/Manager is the most helpful and knowlegable guy and his insight is worth the price of your stay alone. Only regret is we should have stayed way longer......

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Drop anchor was the perfect budget friendly hotel for our stay in the keys. It had the tropical feel of an island resort and you can tell it was newly renovated. The showers were big and the view from our balcony was amazing. The beds were soft and the kitchen was fully stocked with all the amenities you could ever need. This is a great option for a unique, personable, and budget friendly stay at the keys.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 9, 2021
Thank you so much for that great review! We try very hard to assure all our guests have a great stay. Hope to see you again soon!!!

3/5 Okay

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 17, 2021
Thank you for leaving us a review. I do wish you had left some details to allow us to see the areas you feel we need to improve, but we will continue to do our best to assure all our guests receive top-end service. We hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Islamorada Drop Anchor
Great place for a family or couples. Super laid back, no frills, no crowd (even though every room was booked). Always plenty or chairs and never felt like we were crunched next to others enjoying their space - on the beach or at the pool. Easy to get to fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, restaurants and groceries, and explore other keys further southwest. When we return to the Keys we will certainly look to stay here again.
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 6, 2021
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great place stay
I highly recommend this resort. The location is awesome, rooms were clean and management was very helpful
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 3, 2021
Thank you, Chris, for taking the time to write us a great review! We enjoyed having you and hope you will come back to see us again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great spot. Quiet with pretty water view. Convenient location. Small, older "Mom & Pop" place.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 1, 2021
Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a good stay!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful view and property. Quiet. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 29, 2021
Thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you again soon!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
rop Anchor
Rented two rooms. One remodeled with sufficient room, updated bath and small full kitchen - good value. The other room (14C) not not been remodeled. There was nothing good about this room - bed too large for the space, could hardly access the sides of the bed with about 9" width; bath was small, cramped, out dated 10 years ago; no room for luggage; A/C not effective. The best thing about this motel was the sandy water-side outdoor area with chairs and cabanas. Could dock a boat at the sea wall.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 28, 2021
Hello John, We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We are working hard to update all of our rooms, and I will pass your comments along to our crew so we can plan and upgrade accordingly. We hope you will visit us again to enjoy the sun, sand, and incredible views.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice Keys Stay
Friendly Staff, great location.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 28, 2021
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Beautiful facility. So quiet and laid back! Highly recommend!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 28, 2021
We love that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the review. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Loved it! Such a cute, laid back place to stay in Islamorada! Would definitely love to stay here again!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 28, 2021
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 3, 2021
Thank you for the Great review! Hope to see you again soon...

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 1, 2021
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Apr 3, 2021
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again!

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Is this HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE even legal?
I booked the Breezy Palm hotel via Hotel.com I arrive at the Breezy Palm - no reservation! Why did Hotel.com show Breezy Palm pictures and facility, lead me to believe that I am booking the Breezy Palm,THIS IS BAIT AND SWITCH TACTICS by Hotel.com, and they sent me to the Drop Anchor Hotel. When I get to the Drop Anchor, the room is about the size of a large over size closet and only one bed that barely fit in it - which didn’t work for us, as we were two grown men that aren’t gay. I immediately protested the room. They were sold out also, and didn’t have rooms to switch, after some debate the attendant there brings a mattress that barely even fits on the floor. The room I am not kidding is the size of an over sized closet 10 X 8 maybe? With the bathroom! We were in a oversized closet of a room, the a/c doesn’t work - and it gets 90 outside, no closet to hang your clothe, no door for the bathroom (it’s a sliding door with holes with no lock) the bathroom is maybe 2 feet wide? No fan for toilet, you can’t sit where the toilet is as there is no room (has to be seriously out of code), you have to enter the shower sideways and slide in. The toilet paper holder is hanging from the wall. Its shocking. The shades on the windows are all broken and has holes all over them. I suspect Hotel.com won’t post this review - but I posted to all travel sites. Left messages for hotel.com - no response!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 17, 2021
Hello, We are so happy that you had a great time. We are always improving and wish the best experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The manager Cliff, was absolutely amazing! His friendliness and hospitality towards his guests was unlike any other! We will definitely be back!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 17, 2021
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to assure all our guests receive the best possible service, as you all deserve it. Hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice place at a reasonable price
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 15, 2021
Hello David, Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 15, 2021
Hi Christine, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are always wanting our guests to feel at home and comfortable and will continue making improvements to achieve this. Hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 13, 2021
Hi Tami, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to assure all of our guests have a wonderful stay and will continue to work hard on our property to achieve this. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Cliff Warren - General Manager on Mar 10, 2021
We are so happy you had a great time. Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope to see you again soon!