Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morro Bay

Nice Hotel Close to the Ocean

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The condo was spacious and our room was near the pool. The jacuzzi was hot and the pool was probably around 80 degrees-just perfect.
Cons: I would have liked to have known about the additional cleaning and other fees ($281.00) prior to booking my trip - not as an FYI after confirmation.
Location: The hotel is located on the west side of Hawaii. It is very dry and rocky in the area. You can relax at the pool or walk, or drive to other locations.
Staff were pleasant and the room was nice and spacious. We easily had space for the family, best friend, and extended family to share the 3 bedroom condo with a nice kitchen and central living area. Masks, a set of fins, and 2 boogie boards were included in our unit We snorkeled nearly daily and we made the 2 1/2 hour drive to hike to as close to Kilauea as we safely could in the early morning (2 am) with very little traffic on the roads. A KTA market was less than 6 miles away, as well as a few other stores. Gas is within a couple of miles. If you want a place to relax and swim in the 4 ft deep pool, soak in the jacuzzi, take a walk, or drive to other locations to snorkel and explore, then you will love this condo. The staff were very, very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, Ca

Wonderful room and great views

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable, able to get good rest and relaxation.
Cons: Be more upfront with the condo situation.
Location: Waikoloa area is gorgeous. A very touristy spot, so think safety, higher costs, and families. Beautiful beach and Lava Lava Beach Club is a must.
Wonderful room with great views, access to the pool is nearby. Nice pool bar area but the water tended to run warm during our stay. I was not aware these were private condos so surprised there was no housekeeping services. No problem cleaning up after ourselves but still a surprise. They also charged us a cleaning deposit fee that exceeded any tips we would have paid in a 7 day week. Also, we ran out of the hotel soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc about 4 days into our vacation. We always pack our stuff but this could inconvenience some folks. Overall the property was peaceful, comfortable, spacious, and all those good things. A decent sized kitchen with a full fridge, microwave, etc. We were just surprised on the cleaning fee. We were washing our own plates a few times during our stay. Last, we had to buy our own beach towels for beach days. They supply pool towels but those are not allowed out of the pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Sunsets

Posted Jul 21, 2017
We were there for a couple of days. Gorgeous sunset views. Restaurant had good food and drinks but closes by 8:00 pm. It would be nice to hang out there and by the pool till later. Nonetheless it was a great place and I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rialto, CA

Excellent Vacation Experience!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the location of the hotel, the complex, the pool, and the atmosphere. I also enjoyed that the gym was overlooking the ocean.
Cons: NA
Location: The location in Waikoloa was close to shopping and excursions.
My family and I had an amazing experience at Castle Halii Kai at Waikoloa. We had an ocean view room with a nice view from the balcony. We had plenty of room and felt comfortable all 6 days we were present. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The pool was amazing and was next to the bar/restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilo, Hi

Quiet n Relaxing w/ Some Issues

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice area. Pool n Bar area was beautiful. No hot water for showers entire stay n live frog in bathroom that we removed ourselves. Gas stove on Lanai for BBQ would not ignite. Could not grill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo in convenient area.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, quiet, well-appointed, and fairly priced.
Cons: We had no criticisms.
Location: Right in the heart of the Waikoloa resort area, with abundant entertainment/recreation opportunities.
We chose this condo complex for its reasonable price and its good location in the Waikoloa area. We weren't disappointed and would book it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dacono, CO

Beautiful resort, well appointed condo!

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Private, Secure and Beautiful. Loved having the amenities of home. Felt comfortable letting our teenagers walk by themselves to the pool area.
Location: Lots of places to eat nearby and a couple of different options for shopping. Great walk along the coastline thru other hotel properties.
Our family of 4 stayed in 19C. It was everything we could have asked for. We used it for a base and went to explore different locations around the island, daily. It was great for the kids(teenagers) to each have their own bed (twin beds, one room). The kitchen with pots, pans, utensils, plates and bowls, microwave, oven and a full-size frig was great for cooking breakfast and a quick dinner here and there. The lanai was a wonderful place to hang out to eat and drink.We did not spend hardly anytime in the living room, but the couch and chair seemed comfortable. The washer and dryer in the unit was a blessing! There was a bike, basketball (Court just down the way), beach umbrellas, one outdoor chair and now 2 boogie boards for use by whoever rents the condo. We had appetizers and listened to live music at the pool - perfect to sit and watch the sun set! We have always stayed in hotels, the condo was beyond our usual and absolutely perfect for this vacation. It was beautiful and met all of our needs while we were here!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great location but unresponsive staff

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgrade condo with new beds, TVs, carpet and all around cleanliness if their going to be charging those rates.
Location: Beach, gold, food, volcano, boat tours
We stayed at Castle Halii Kai at Waikoloa from March 21-25, 2017. We were really looking forward to stay in Waikoloa on the Big Island. With a price of over $350 (all in) per night I expected to have a updated (TV was 22 years old and had basically only a small numbers of channels) and clean condo and a bed with ruts in it. I am a very experience traveler with over 50 nights on the road annually for 25+ years. We were given the key pass until our 3rd day and I asked the staff a number of times for the general manger to call me. She never did. I guess someone spending $1,500 dose not warrant a call. Very disappointed in condo and manager. Location was great as was the remainder of our stay which was in Hilo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Orbitz
We stayed 8 days 2/25/17 through 3/5/17. We loved our experience! Great location and accommodations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Unit 20D is very good

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We stayed in unit 20D and found it to be very comfortable with everything we needed for our stay in the area. A fair walk from there up to the pool and bar (expensive but drinks are decent size). The pool is a great location for watching the sun set. Reception was friendly and efficient - be sure to call and get the access codes if you are arriving later than 8pm. (Fortunately, we arrived just before 8).