Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great view, on the waterfront.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Initially they didn't put us in the room we booked but after explaining to them what we booked (according to Expedia site) and what we got were two different rooms. They managed to swap our room. I had a bath & when my partner showered, he had no hot water. Only one coffee cup in room. Second day of stay housekeeping didn't replace the coffee. I used the last ear bud. Housekeeping didn't replace it. Room had no face clothes and even though we requested some, we never got them. Stunning room & bathroom. Beautiful looking hotel inside and out. Awesome "cigar room". Lovely pools. On waterfront next to restaurants, pubs & shops. Apart from housekeeping slip ups, I would highly recommended this hotel. Secure car parking with 24 hour security.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Alt ok
5 out of 5
by Fred

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Wiseman

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was too short
3 out of 5
by Jerome from Richland

Update needed!

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
They stay was ok but property looks a bit used. Other Protea properties nearby in better maintain condition. Our stay was fine though and the breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
by Elise . from Queenstown, Eastern Cape

Richards Bay Getaway

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
I booked on the internet, Protea Hotels always being my choice of stay. On arrival we were not offered any assistance with our luggage. Food very good in restuarant and staff helpful and friendly. Bedrooms comfortable, excellent bathroom facilities but the remainder of the hotel in dire need of a decorating revamp! Decor clashing and brash and out of keeping with the environment. Definitely not the best Protea Hotel I have stayed at! Sorry!
4 out of 5
by ian from Durban KZN

Good choice of hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
This was a good choice. Very clean comfortable spacious room, in a lovely hotel in a great location. Very nice view from the room. Friendly staff too, and some good restaurants and pubs within a 5 minute walk. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
by Amit from Los Angeles

All good except WiFi connectivity

Posted Jun 16, 2015 on Hotels
All good except wifi connectivity
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kwazulu Natal Howick

Disappointing stay in Richards bay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
When we got there we carried our cases in. At reception the lady alone was trying to do all three thing by herself. She reserved a sum of R3000.00 on our credit card for the one night stay. The room was a smoking room and it smelt and the air con did not work. They asked us if they could fix the air con the next day, the day we check out??? So after some time with much reluctance they moved us to a room down the hall. Also a smoking room, this did not smell so bad and the air con worked. The next day all three ladies in reception could not reverse our reserved amount on the credit card and then still took off the amount for the stay that night. So therefore they had their money and our R3000.00 too. They could not reverse it as they blamed the machine. Their attitudes were terrible and no one went out of their way to help us. It has been four days now and still they have our money and theirs. Well as long as they have their money, the rest of us can wait till they get taught how to work the credit card machine. I will really look hard at staying at a Protea Hotel again, most probably never again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DBN

A quiet weekend of tranquil and comfort..

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Wanted to spend a quiet yet comfortable weekend out of DURBAN. This hotel has everything: Friendly concierge: thanks Sinethembile! Helpful Reservations desk: thanks Thando! Happy waitrons: thanks Lungile! Professional Chefs too! Room 318 is best: Top floor , away from the loud waterfront restaurant . Stylish and tasteful interior decor , immaculately maintained. Wonderful stay. breakfast at ZAR 175 is pricey but well made. Thanks again. Will definately come back!