Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a place I would ever hope to return.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Very central for Lancaster so really well placed.
First the good points; the staff were polite and fairly friendly and the cooked breakfast was made to order and really decent. But the room was terrible. A mattress with so little support you sink straight to the divan underneath. Metal springs pressing in all over. Noise from the fan in the upstairs bathroom louder than the external traffic on the A6 - and on most of the night (note to night porter - it had just gone off when you came to resolve the issue but came on again at about 4am). Pubic hair on the bath on arrival still there several days later when I left. The only channels working on the TV were BBC 1, 2 & 4 and Really. I didn't sleep well and surely the primary purpose of a hotel is a comfortable night. I have never been so relieved to leave a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location lovely historic buildings

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast friendly staff view of castle from room
Cons: Bathroom ready for complete overhaul
Location: Castle maritime museum and town hall all worth visiting. 5 min walk to shops
Good value very central. Hotel parking. Lovely breakfast. Yes rooms and Bathroom tired looking but some have been refurbished obviously an ongoing project
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Good location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Good comfortable accommodation, close to centre. My only concern is that the hotel is out dated and needs a makeover.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lytham, Lancashire

Old But Good

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Perfect location - 5 minute walk from station. Right in town centre. 2 minute stroll to castle. Great restaurant / bar right opposite - Merchants 1688
Slightly dated decor but more than compensated by friendly staff and spotless rooms. It's a traditional hotel with perfectly adequate bedrooms and crisp clean sheets. Not chic or modern or 'boutique', just old fashioned friendliness. We were there for one night and intend to book there next time we visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Potentially lovely, unfortunately dissapointing.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Faulty fire alarms in the middle of the night with no official attendant - very scary and much confusion especially for people with limited English language. Very poor bathroom, although the water was hot for the shower- hardly a recommendation rather a necessity. On departure no manager was available to discuss.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for train station, reasonably priced.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Generally good but with some drawbacks. The Kings Arms boasts an air of faded grandeur which is appealing up to a point. What this should not include is there not being enough toilet roll and the bath not quite gleaming. The creaking floorboards are unproblematic but the creaking window frames are less so, especially given the volume of traffic passing by the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A warm welcome awaits at the Royal

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: It's nice to stay somewhere that's not part of a big chain as it makes it quite quirky in some ways.
Cons: updating on the decor over time could benefit both parties as they could easily raise their rates inline with the completion. Bags of potential here.
Location: Absolutely brilliant location, 2 mins walk up to castle & and set within all the shops & restaurants.
After reading some negative reviews we were not expecting much when we decided to take a risk & book this hotel for one night as we had an event at the castle. Ok it's not the ritz but we got a warm welcome on arrival & found our rooms to be comfortable & clean. Yes the decor is dated & some of the wallpaper may be peeling but you're not sleeping on that or eating your breakfast from it. The bed linen was crisp & clean, bathroom was nice & clean with a very good shower, all the usual tea making facilities, hairdryer, iron & flat screen TV. We have to give them praise for the breakfast as although we had a bit if a wait for our Full English it was lovely & the sausages & bacon were good quality ones, there was lots on offer in the continental selection so we could happily munch away whilst waiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Ok hotel close to train station and city centre

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very good location, i'd recommend it only if you find a good deal and don't care too much about the hotel itself as it's quite dated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Dropping room key to reception every time we left the hotel was inconvenient
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Staff very friendly. This is my 3rd time here.. They're like friends now :)