Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lytham St Annes

Such a shame.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Lovely hotel in a great location. Such a shame it is in such disrepair. Yes it is currently being refurbished, but the rooms that haven't are just letting the hotel's reputation down. We werent allocated a refurbished room that we had requested. The bed was mouldy, the mattress was thin. The bedroom ceiling appeared to have had a leak at some point and when it rained heavily during the night, we half expected to get a soaking! Bathroom ceiling had big mould patches. The bar wasn't open, which was a disppointment on a Saturday. Lots of passing trade as there are two bars opposite which were very busy, so I'm sure if a ground floor bar was open there would have been plenty of customers besides residents. It's so sad as the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. The staff were helpful and polite. Lovely cooked breakfast. We would return at some point but only if a refurbished room was guaranteed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bolton

One night in Lancaster

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Lots of space and it was clean
Cons: It needs a renovation, bringing up to date.
Location: It's in the city centre so every thing is within walking distance
This hotel is old and tired, I stayed here with work 10 years ago and I the only thing that's changed is they've painted everything white. The carpark is small and with cars parked at all angles there was no room. Car paring was included in the booking, however we had to use secure parking which cost £10. "If you can find a space, you'll be lucky" was the response from staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mancester

Crap Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Friendly and helpful staff.
Location: Town centre with the car park difficult to find.
The place can only be described as tatty the carpets are threadbare the walls in the room have cracks showing through the wall paper the bathroom is no better the hotel is in need of total renervation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Room uncomfortable. Very limited breakfast choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Stayed here before the rooms are dated but clean and beds are comfortable tea / coffee facility, iron,TV,hot running shower,what else do you need.its an old building with quirky interior it's like going back in time ..A bit of TLC and paint in some rooms but apart from that I would recommend this hotel.we've booked to stay in October so will see if there's any change.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kendal

Building itself and staff were nice, room awful!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and breakfast staff.
Cons: Room, Room, ROOM!
Location: Central Lancaster, good.
Nice old hotel from outside. Staff were fine. Room itself was the worst we have ever had the misfortune of staying in. They say you get what you pay for but that is no excuse for dirty, peeling wallpaper, windows wouldn't shut, tatty room. An embarrassing room all round. Breakfast was strangely very good all be it no veggie sausage or anything, but other parts were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel has character. Location good.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Radiator not working.we were moved to another room which was nice and warm. Good breakfast in lovely traditional dining room. Very pleased with the convenient central location. Easy hassle free parking. We arrived earlier than expected and we were checked in straight away by the friendly and welcoming receptionist.Loved the old fashioned lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Central hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Use this hotel often. Its central and has cheap parking. The rooms are dated but clean and staff are helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, shame about the room.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location - very central in Lancaster.
Cons: Pre-visit communication, cleanliness, comfort of bed, shower, wi-fi coverage.
Location: Good location - central Lancaster, close to the Railway Station.
On arrival, reception staff were welcoming. However, the lift was out of order and we had to take the stairs to our 4th.floor room (this fact should have been communicated in advance - fortunately we are reasonably fit for our age). The room was (just about) acceptable, although the inside of the windows were not clean and the bed was uncomfortable. The side window curtain was insufficient to block out the light. Peeling wallpaper in the bathroom and mould apparent.The shower was either hot or cold and was impossible to regulate. Wi-fi did work but had a very low signal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greece

NIce hotel in excellent location

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Nice hotel in a very good location, in the center of Lancaster and only 5 minutes walk from the railway station.