Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Close to town

Posted May 31, 2016
Close to town and railway station but hotel is VERY run down and in need of major repairs windows filthy paint work terrible we were frightened to walk about in room too much as the floor creaked so much, carpets on the stairs very shabby
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted May 28, 2016
The hotel was ok. I will stand by my review I do not tell lies You just do not like the truth, this is the 2nd time I have given you a review and you did not accept my review the first time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wirral

worst hotel I have ever stayed at !!

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: the one staff member
Cons: all
Location: lancaster/lots to see and do
stayed one night sunday room was a single wallpaper hanging off walls bath/shower mold bed very uncomfortable. no room service no bar no hot food for breakfast only one staff member around will not stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very old and shabby hotel.

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Position, breakfast.
Cons: All public areas need a good clean and rooms need upgrading.
Location: Very near to main shopping streets and the castle, river and restaurants.
We booked two nights back in February as we were meeting up with friends as this was a place halfway between where we both live. We then had to arrivd one night earlier due to a change in my husbznd's plans. Hotel foyer and reception is quite dismal and the lift is ancient. We were given room 201 which is pretty small. The bathroom is in a terrible state with a big lump out of the door, paint flaked off the bath panel, cracked toilet, ceiling caving in and stained, stained bath surround and the shower curtain was completely rusty. The view is great, as the hotel overlooks the castle and the position is excellent. The window was dirty with handprints on it and the rail was filthy and looked like it had not been cleaned for a very long time as if had what looked like dried worm casts on it, which remained all the time we were there. Reception was hit and miss as I suspect the staff were cleaning rooms too and we sometimes had to wait 10 minutes for our key. The stairs were not cleaned during our stay. Dining room is lovely and the breakfaxt cannot be faulted although the staff were a bit dizzy. A good choice of breakfast. We requested a room change on various occasions but were told that the hotel was fully booked until Saturday with a coach party and staff apologized for our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentral gelegenes Hotel mit Charme der geschichte

Posted May 21, 2016
Tapeten, die sich ablösen; die Wasserregelung der Dusche nicht bändigbar, so dass am Ende nur ein Bad herauskam; und Ankunft um 8:10 im Frühstücksraum, eine Reisegruppe von 28 Personen hat das Buffet geleert.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap (ish) Bed in the Centre

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Central Car park Cheap
Cons: I'm sure everything will change when it is done up. Meanwhile, you get what you pay for.
football fan passing through. Cheap and comfortable o'night bed and shower (room only) whilst renovations awaited. Handy for centre cafes with good breakfasts, shops and pubs. Car park (£5) was fair value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016
late booking but a good choice. décor a bit tired looking. room and comfort good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

hotel in city centre

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: in Lancaster city centre
Cons: TV poor...very few stations...but that doesn't really matter because I didn't go to watch TV
Location: I went for a litfest which was just 50 m away. I ate at night with friends in a lovely restaurant only 100m away. Train station also VERY close. Ideal
A little bit run down but I enjoyed my stay and expected less for the price I paid. Excellent choice for continental breakfast...I really enjoyed mine. Staff nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Was expensive for quality

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Arrived at 1320 told no check in until 1400, no effort made to see if room was available. Came back at 1415 shown to room, having read the website was not expecting it to be so outdated. It was a short walk from station and town centre is very close. The bathroom was horrendous. Rotting wood, stains on ceiling in both B'room and above bed. Hole in underside of door and towel rail was on floor. Bed was a V small double. Paint work had been done by work Ex, shoddy and untidy.
3 out of 5
by Sue

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very outdated. Beds uncomfortable. Noisy as party on. Also menu in room but restaurant closed for party.