Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Rooms a bit shabby. Breakfast not great. Fairly hot and stuffy. Lift tiny. Good location, had character.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Posted May 15, 2017
Needs a general overall. Starting with the bedrooms .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lift wow

Posted May 9, 2017
Worth it for the lift experience alone, felt like we were in a classic movie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely new rooms. Very central.

Posted May 6, 2017
Upgraded to one of the newly refurbished rooms after a minor mistake on the hotels part. Lovely, clean and very comfortable!! Would definitely recommend. You can't get more central to Lancaster. Well worth the price. 😁
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Bad housekeeping bedroom door not locked bath and sink not cleaned In 6 day's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oldham

OK, it's a bit tired, but....

Posted May 2, 2017
It's obvious that the whole place could do with a do-over, but this hotel is something of a jewel in Lancaster's crown. lt's an historic building in an historic city and both deserve to thrive. The staff are never less than friendly and attentive. I much prefer the charm of the Royal Kings Arms over more modern, but perhaps characterless, chain hotels. Thanks to the management and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Lovely old building but decor needs touching up

Posted May 2, 2017
Booked this hotel we was going to a friends 40th birthday event an hotel was central. It is a nice hotel but needs updating, room was really big an had everything you need. We hadn't booked the breakfast when booking but decided when we got there that we would pay for it (£10 each) was very disappointed with it, had to send mine back as asked for pouched egg it was like jelly all over the plate so asked for scrambled instead which came it had been microwaved to deaf. The rest which wasn't much had all been fried so swimming in fat I left it an had some toast. Waste of money so if I was you don't bother with breakfast. Apart from that the room was clean an comfortable so would stay again just for one nite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Close to amenities
Staff were very helpful and pleasant on any occasion we spoke to them. Good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

clean but dated

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: really close to all facilities being right in town centre
Cons: décor needs updating
Stayed here whilst on a course all staff really polite and helpful, rooms clean but all décor dated and in need of renovation ? there are signs it has begun but still lots to do ! I would still recommend and would stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impressive building but a bit of a tired old place

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Impressive, historic old building. Close to train station and castle, town centre etc.
Cons: A lot of redecoration/refurbishment required.
Location: I find Lancaster is a historic and a nice, friendly town worth a visit in its own right with plenty of attractions and pubs/restaurants.
Lovely old building with impressive frontage, very nostalgic. On my 2 visits here, the general decor and the rooms/furniture were in a tired old state, and would benefit from refurbishment. Room heating was borderline. Bedding and towel cleanliness was good. I would use again but would be cautious recommending to others.