Ratings based on 1,283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna, Austria

Very tired hotel in the center

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent, and hotel staff is helpful.
Cons: Renovation...
Location: Location is great, close to upscale shopping, major fashion boutiques. Lots of cafes, restaurants around, walking distance to seaside.
Although the hotel was in luxury category, it is very tired...needs major renovation! The standard room we booked, was a dissappointment; so we upgraded to a superior room. What they call "superior room" were very small, and some rooms have a bad smell -- changed our room three times. The location is great, excellent. Staff is very nice, helpful. Nice french touch, that's all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice Hotel near To the main places in Lisbon....

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Was a great Vacations For 10 Days in this beautiful hotel un Lisbon with a very professional And friendly Staff ....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Hotel ideal location next to metro Friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Good Hotel in Central Location

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, size of room
Cons: The Elevator is desperate need of an upgrade
Location: Central to many of the sites and close to a metro
We stayed at this hotel in June for 8 nights. The Good: Location and Hotel Staff. The hotel is in a central location, a short walk to many good restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was kept very clean. We had the "Luxury Room" so it was a good sized bedroom. The shower water pressure in the bathroom was excellent. The not so good: The elevator is a little off-putting because it feels really old and rickety and is really out of place from an otherwise classy looking lobby. The washroom was small and cramped but did have all the amenities. Overall a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Feel comfortable NOT booking this Sofitel

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Do not have maintenance working on projects that involve pounding on walls when you have guests in room next door. Furniture needs to be replaced.
This is hotel is over rated. The hotel is run down and seen better days. The furniture is old and unkept up. I also saw mold in the shower. We have stayed at Sofitel before and were more than disappointed. When asked to be moved to a different room, we were told there were none, but would be the next night. This never happened and when we reminded them, they were unwilling to move us. I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pali Alto Ca.

Great friendly staff

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Room was just what we expected. Best location. Did not eat it here so can't rate the food. Everyone was very helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Good hotel in great location, amazing staff.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Hotel located on the best street in Lisbon, walking distance to old Lisbon. Very good service, very helpful staff,who always ready to pleased you. Good restaraunt for lunch. We stayed in Sofitel hotel Lisbon in junior suite. It's great for people with children as it has separate room with sofa bed and second washroom. I will defenatly recommend with hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great Hotel near the City centre!

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The location on the wide tree lined boulevard with cafes in the centre was ideal for people and traffic watchers!
Cons: The only slight issue was that there was no drawers in the room - not even a bedside cabinet. Two shelves and six hangers in a small wardrobe!
The Check In was fantastic and Ana could not have been more helpful with directions and map of suggestions for excursions and dinner venues. The location was fantastic with lots of bars and restaurants nearby. It was a short walk to the railway station (for trains to Sintra) and tourist excursion buses. Lots of shops nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Its was excellent, check in service romm nice and clean!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, but not really a 5*

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: The location, on 'The Avenue' is excellent, and it is just a short stroll to the town, and the staff, who ae 5*
Cons: The hotel needs a general refurbishment, though really the rooms and even the lobby are too small to be called 'luxury.'
Location: 'The Avenue' is a wonderful, leafy and shaded place to be on a hot day, the kiosks are great and served nice food and drinks in the outdoors.
We decided to use the Sofitel on our recent visit to Lisbon, due to our superb experience with the Sofitel in Amsterdam. We booked a 'luxury room' in what was billed as a 'luxury hotel,' but when we saw the room we were very disappointed. The window in the room was small and overlooked an internal courtyard, making the room gloomy, and we had to look up to see what the weather was like. The bathroom was very small, with a bidet opposite the loo which made sitting down uncomfortable due to lack of space. We stayed for three nights, and there was a very small wardrobe, with only a few coat hangers, and not a draw in the place! Even the bedside tables were just that, tables without draws. The furniture was generally drab, and the dark wood wardrobe and coffee station were knocked, and in particular the inside of the wardrobe was badly scratched where the door of the safe dragged against it. The space for the coffee machine was very small and difficult to use, and we were supplied just one coffee pod in the morning and one on turn down, and similarly for the milk. Whilst clearly a Sofitel hotel, where the staff tried their best, it just isn't a 5* hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Dominic Arel - GM, Hotel Management
Dear Nigel, Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade for your stay in Lisbon! We are glad to know that you appreciated mostly our prime location in the center of Lisbon. Nevertheless, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the hotel features in general. Please accept our apologies for that and rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to change it. We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Lisbon! Kind regards,