Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Elegant, comfortable, quiet B &B near the ocean

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Location: We liked Mendocino Cafe and McCallum house for dinner.
Kelly checked us in and we were immediately at ease, excited and ready for our Christmas holiday. The B & B has all kinds of info about the area like activities and restaurants. They have good connections with the restaurants, businesses, parks etc. She had great patience and enthusiasm. She asked us about our food preferences so we liked our breakfast and there wasn't a lot of waste. The food was delicious and creative.Beds comfortable. We stayed in the small room and it was quite big enough for us. The owners are involved in the day to day operations and it shows.
5 out of 5
by Brandon

The Headlands B&B is the place to be!

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
I have been traveling to Mendocino for my entire life to visit family and typically stay with them. This year was expected to be crowded, so I decided to give my girlfriend and myself a reprieve from all the hustle and bustle of a packed house. We booked the "Barry" room which was on the third floor and had an incredible view of the town and the headlands/ocean. The room was comfortable with a fireplace, the owners are charming, breakfast delivered to your room was wonderful and being able to walk around the town and see the shops gave me a whole new appreciation for the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute little B&B

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little b&b, and charming owners. It could use a little sprucing up. Breakfast was delightful. Slightly expensive for the place, but lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach FL

Truly perfect B&B in the heart of Mendocino

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: The room and bed were super compfy and really cozy and romantic with the wood burning stove crackling away. The breakfasts were insanely great!
Cons: In this old building, the wall outlets in our room were worn out and loose, so we could not recharge our many Apple devices.
Location: Just stroll around. Visit the shops and galleries. Go check out the shoreline. Relax. Relax. Relax.
The other reviews on Expedia had it right. The Headlands Inn is a wonderful place to spend a couple of nights in Mendocino. We've been fortunate to travel worldwide and stay in all kinds of fabulous places. When it comes to an American Bed and Breakfast, you can't do better than this special spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australa

Charming

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: It's quite intimate in all aspects and is very relaxing. Great location handy to restaurants.
Cons: We found the wifi up in the attic a bit hit and miss
Location: Ocean views. Lovely walks.
This beautiful town is home to many B and Bs but the Headlands Inn is a standout. The rooms are beautifully styled. We stayed in the John Barry room which is on the top level, facing the ocean. Although it was rainy and foggy for our two night stay, we could still enjoy the view as the room had windows on three sides. Beautiful window seat to sit and relax. A fabulous fireplace with copper trim. Two arm chairs. Stunning carved bed head. This room is decorated in pale blue and was really relaxing. The breakfast trays were a work of art. No plain old bacon and eggs at the Headlands Inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet getaway

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at Headlands Inn, the room was clean, very private, quiet, and relaxing. Very cute town, great for a romantic getaway or for relaxation. I do believe the room rate is a bit high. The inn keeper is very nice, and many of the townspeople are nice as well. Definitely will return in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing breakfast! Super helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful, Cozy, and Pampering

Posted Nov 18, 2016
There is nothing that makes you feel more welcome than checking in while having a glass of sherry in the parlor. And that was just the start. The rooms were reminiscent of the Victorian era right down to cozy feather beds that snuggled you into sleep. Waking with an awesome breakfast brought to our room made me realize that I had booked too few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kinglake, Victoria, Australia.

Fantastic B and B

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location on the coast, comfortable atmosphere, lovely hosts and great breakfasts.
We stayed three nights at the Headlands Inn and would thoroughly recommend it to others. Denise and Mitch were so welcoming and helpful. We had "Annie's Room" which was downstairs and very comfortable. There is access to an upstairs lounge, complete with nibbles and sherry, which was great for relaxing in, and meeting other guests, before heading out to dinner. And the homemade breakfasts are amazing!! Where to start - breakfast is beautifully presented on a tray to your room. Each morning was different but they were all delicious and there was plenty to eat. Thanks Denise and Mitch for your hospitality, it was a pleasure to stay at your B and B. And thanks Mitch for the "Southwestern Eggs" recipe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Wonderful B&B - lovely town!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Lovely choice of restaurants, beautiful coastline and the Giant Redwoods nearby.
Denise and staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and we loved Mendocino! Would recommend this place to family & friends.