Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seaforth, Ontario. Canada

Nice quiet and safe

Posted Jan 17, 2016
The staff is friendly and helpful this was my second time there and it was the same staff and we were made to feel as we were a part of the family. It's not a party place but it is truly a relaxing atmosphere to soak up sun and go for jumps into the Caribbean Sea the food is good and generally a helpful bunch working there. I would recommend this place to people looking to relax but if you want the fun of the beach it's just a 5$ cab ride away. Oh yeah beautiful sunsets every evening
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do NOT stay here!

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!
Location: Negril is a fun area with lots to do. Thank goodness because staying at Samsara the entire trip was not an option.
Do not stay at this resort unless you want to be disappointed and frustrated your entire vacation. Lesson learned, do not travel the week between Christmas and New Years because rates are inflated. We paid WAY to much for this dump. Definitely never do the "all-inclusive" here. The one star is for the cleanliness and the overall grounds of the resort. After that, everything was crap. The all-inclusive went from 10am-10pm. This mean't you couldn't even get a diet coke before 10am and if you stayed awake past 10 you were buying your drinks. The food was awful except for breakfast. The staff was so unfriendly and aloof. There were no amenities. They don't even give you a beach towel, toiletries and their bath towel barely fit around my slim body. Then there was the spa collapse. Thank god no one was inside of it at the time. They would have been killed. Scared the life out of me. I didn't feel safe after that. If they invest some money into this place it could so awesome. Seriously. Get all new soft features like beds, bedding lighting, new room doors (some of them were SO flimsy), sun/pool chairs. Supply beach towels, actually run an all-inclusive, have water toys and I think you can actually call it a decent resort. Until then, don't bother with this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Major disappointment

Posted Jan 7, 2016
This hotel is not how it is described. The grounds are ok, the rooms were clean considering the overall condition but otherwise nothing has been updated here since the 80s. The food was mediocre with a couple of good things throughout the week but otherwise it was not worth the money. The only fresh fruit offered all week was watermelon at breakfast. There were only occasionally cooked vegetables. There was never a salad. Breakfast, including coffee, was not available till 8am (many tours leave before then). Other drinks like soda or juices or alcohol weren't available till 10am. There was a shuttle that ran to the sister hotel Legends but only once per day. Otherwise you had to pay for a cab. The staff were mostly rude or uninterested in helping you though there were a couple that were great. The hotel messed up two of the three reservations that our group had and we met three other couples while we were there who said the same thing. Also while we were there the spa building collapsed. Literally tumbled to the ground as though it had been blown up. Luckily no one was in there or hurt! There were so many beautiful places right on the beach in negril so I would highly recommend anyone considering this hotel to find one of the other options. Even if it's more money....it will be worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, NY

Better than expected

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Cliff jumping and character
Cons: The bar staff wasn't very attenitive or pleasant
Location: Very clost to Ricks Cafe, a must, and Negril
Samsara is very cool. We didn't do all-inclusive and only stayed for 1 night, but it was very nice. Cliff jumping was a blast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Love Samsara!

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Quiet, uncrowded hotel on the cliffs with fabulous views. Easy access to local restaurants and stores, wouldn't recommend all-inclusive as the buffet is not great. We will go back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

1 nighter

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The cliffs
Location: Food and fun are all nearby
It was just for a quick getaway to relax so all went well, not much else to say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad food poor drinks slow bartender

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: NEW OWNERS
Location: ALOT OF SMALL BEAUTIFUL RESORTS
BEAUTIFUL LOCATION OK GROUNDS POOR FOOD POOR DRINKS POOR BAR SERVICE
3 out of 5
by Sherri

Birthday Vacation

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Orbitz
Sigh, I have been dreading this review. Let me start with the good I had an ocean view and it was phenomenal. The view from my room every morning was absolutely beautiful. The views of the ocean around the resort were truly amazing. I booked a package deal which included airfaire for two, the room itself, and transportation to and from the aiport. I was a little disappointed to find that my reservation did not include meals, I must have misread and the price to add the all inclusive deal at the hotel was outrageous almost $500 for two people, so me ane my friend decided to venture out for food. The first night we returned to the hotel to find two large cock roaches in the room. We we were afraid to sleep and there was no one to call as the front desk had gone for the evening. Majority of the staff was not kind, they seem to cater more towards their European guests, there were several occasions where some of the ladies from the front desk gave us dirty looks. On multiple occasions we went to the bar and were not even acknowledged, meanwhile the other patrons were constantly being checked on. Me and my friend booked massages and the ladies were very nice. It was different, but quite relaxing to get a massage out doors in that beautiful weather, I was a little disappointed that I was not able to get a pedicure F.Y.I. The bed I had felt like bricks. I wanted to make the best of my vacation so I did not complain much, however I did see one of the housekeepers the next day and told her about the cock roaches. I would not stay at this property again nor will I recommend it. Most of the negative reviews were spot on, so stay at your own discretion.
1 out of 5
by Andrea S.

Will never go back to this place

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on CheapTickets
The cost of the food in their restaurants was outrageous, servers showed poor customer service skills and air conditioning is considered a luxury in the rooms. The railing to the pool was unstable and the chef at Chez Maurice needs to go back to culinary school. I will never stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Perfect Low Key Get Away

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Negril is the perfect place to relax or turn up! This hotel is not your typical commercial hotel. It's a quiet low key hotel with the potential to turn into a wild time. As far as the facilities it is a bit out dated. However, it's not run down. It gives you the complete carribean Jamaican experience. Did I mention the cliffs??? It's about a 12-15 foot drop. It's my new low key getaway location. Oh the staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely reccomend the hotel!!