Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Jamaican Paradise

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Grounds beautiful, lush and tropical, our room was quite nice, LOVED the beach, pool with swim up bar was also quite nice. Staff were all outstanding
Cons: Need printer attached to computer in internet room to facilitate printing of boarding passes
Location: Great trip to Rick's Cafe in Negril via catamaran. Beautiful day!
Hotel grounds - 5/5. Lush tropical grounds, individual treehouse style rooms, grounds kept very clean and well maintained, common areas all tropical, beautiful dark wood decor. Staff 5/5 - Uniformly kind, friendly, attentive to guest needs, lovely Jamaican smiles and personality Beach 5/5 - Have to walk across street, but beach is beautiful, well maintained, lots of trees and shade if you want it, not loud and boisterous, water was amazing Arrival at airport 5/5 - VIP concierge arrival assistant and Club Mobay staff made getting through customs a breeze Food/Drink 3.5/5 - Buffet style, good variety, including local dishes, but sometimes food was cold or stale. Many dishes were quite tasty, but just not outstanding food. Beach bar and grill was quite nice. Bar had reasonable liquor selection, not super high end but OK WiFi/Internet 3/5 - Wifi was slow and spotty, but adequate for email. Don't plan on streaming any video. Graphics heavy webpages could literally take 3-5 minutes to load. Check in/Check out 4/5. Overall a very easy and pleasant process, but the ONLY computer in the internet room was old, slow, and not connected to a printer. Cannot do mobile boarding passes for Montego Bay airport (at least not for Delta), and it actually took me more than 30 minutes to get my boarding passes printed. The computer did not have email configured, so I had to go back to my room, save boarding passes on my computer, email them to the front desk, and then wait 10 min for them to print
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

TRULY ALL-INCLUSIVE! Relaxing low key vacation

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The resort is small enough that you never feel like you are at a big resort, but big enough that you are not crowded in with other guests.
Cons: Flag service on the beach only includes drinks. Not food. You need to go up to the grill and order it yourself. Flag service for food would be awesome
Location: Location is great although it is a 90min drive from the airport. It didn't bother us at all. Their shuttle can easily take you to shops / clubs nearby
My husband and I went here in December 2016 for a quick 4 day getaway for my 40th birthday. This resort was perfect! Truly all-inclusive! Adults only! Staff is fantastically friendly and will bend over backwards for whatever you need. Don't see it? Just ask for it. Lalita is wonderful! Rooms are very unique and make you feel as if you are tucked away someplace very exotic. They are pretty much very fancy cabins with granite bathrooms. The beach is beautiful. DO NOT let the fact that it is across the street keep you from booking here! There is always a staff member on duty to bring you across the street. Once you are over there, there is no reason to leave. Bathrooms, grill, bar, flag service to your chair! Beach is beautiful! Thatch hut cabanas get taken up quickly so head over early before 10am. Swim up bar is great for the afternoons. Watch out for Nepal...he makes a blue drink called "somethin' good". Order at your own risk. Night time is low key. Some live music. 2 different bars to hang out in as well as plenty of common space to lounge in. Just a chill time all around. We did not do any excursions because I just wanted to chill out for a few days. This was the perfect place. We never left the resort and I could have stayed longer. We are planning on returning next year! Oh and the VIP Express Service through Customs is AWESOME!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
What a awesome place to stay. Staff was unbelievably helpful and courteous. We can't wait to get back. Miss you all already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

7 days at sunset at the palms

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Saturday night is sea food night -piano bar is way to much fun -small romantic rooms -breakfast and lunch are simple with great reservation dinners
Cons: the staff is great but, like anyone at any job they are better at something then others, I wish management would host employee parties to trade skills
Location: location is bloody bay, not 7 mile beach, very clean beach, unlike most other resorts, quite, romantic, fun, peaceful
SATP is a great resort with a small charming romantic feel. The staff is great, the food is okay but, the cooks are happy to meet any request. I recommend this resort for couples who what to reconnect with each other. I took my girlfriend her for 7 days, we hardly left the resort, between the nightly piano bar martinis or the live music by the garden bar we had fun. the beach is private, the staff getting your lounge chairs and catering to your drink request is a plus, it's located on bloody bay which protects the beach from high winds or waves. No resort is perfect, this resort is no expectation, being small it can be bothering seeing the same guest every night but, it's like a small town bar, everyone knows your name and is there to unwind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roxana, delaware

Pretty property

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The property and employees were absolutely wonderful. The food was great. The selection of food is okay but there really isn't all day food like at the other all inclusive hotels. The hotel rooms leave a lot to be desired though, the body sprayers did not work in the shower, the shower drain was bent up and we almost cut our feet on it, wall sockets were poping out of the wall, we had a 5 min hot shower if that the two units share a hot water heater the size of a beer keg, the beach seemed more like a park than a nice resort beach and the beach chairs were straight out of the early 90s.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Really enjoyed this Resort. I would stay there again should I visit Jamaica again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from san francisco, ca

nice hotel , great hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: staff is very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Don't plan on watching much tv in your room. reception is not good.
Location: best deals are from vendors on beach. haggle for pricing
just got back from a week at the palms resort. hotel "treehouse" room is clean and well kept, as is the grounds. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. good food. recommend making reservations for non buffet restaurants BEFORE arrival as they were booked when we got there. so we had buffet each night. for a great change, try "dynamite" on the beach, he catches and cooks live lobster on an open fire. best we ever had and reasonable prices. Remember, this hotel is NOT on the beach. you have to cross a street to get there. hotel provides a crossing guard. BUT beach closes gates at 7:00 pm till morning, so no access. Enjoy your stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Short 2-3min walk to the beach

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Really relaxing and fun atmosphere. The complimentary champagne and 20% off of Spa treatments were an unexpected bonus. The staff was very attentive and always made sure we had what we needed. The food was excellent. The complimentary use of beach "toys" was fantastic! Paddle boards, boats, kayaks, etc..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect Hideaway

Posted Dec 13, 2016
This was our 11th visit to Sunset at the Palms and hopefully not our last!!! We love the wonderful staff who will go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as possible, the excellent food at each venue, the lush beautiful grounds that are immaculately groomed continually, and the bartenders and servers who are such fun to know. The entire staff is so welcoming and caring. Because the resort is small, you see the same staff and guests often throughout your visit and become friends. Over the past 11 years, we've made many new friends [staff and returning guests] who we continue to meet at Sunset at the Palms each year. Come experience Paradise!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bluffton, SC

Simply the best!

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Unique tree top rooms, friendly staff, amazing food, small resort with no overcrowding.
Cons: Our room didn't have a door to the bathroom.
Location: 15-20 minutes from Negril (Rick's Cafe/shopping) 1.5 hours from the airport. Many excursions available within 2 hours drive
This small, unique and gorgeous all inclusive resort may be the best in the world! The staff is top notch. Kerry, Alex, Nepaul and all the bartenders were outstanding. Craig went above and beyond with our dinner at Lotus Leaf. Denise and Brenda relaxed us with a couples massage. The complimentary Club Mobay at arrival at the airport is a giant time saver. Hedley gave us a tour of the grounds which are filled with amazing trees and plants. All the food was amazing from the buffet to Lotus Leaf and Chef's Showcase to the late night snacks and the food on the beach. Highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax and forget about the real world for a few days.