Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice get away

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly. They kept it very clean and the food was very good.
Cons: Loud birds at night, dark rooms, no hooks to hang items to dry. Ran out of hot water in shower.
Location: We had to drive quite a ways to go on other adventures, but loved experiencing the culture and local food.
Service was wonderful, they took care of us from the time we landed at the airport. Food and amenities were impeccable. The rooms were nice, but could have been more private (could hear the birds at night) and have more lighting and hooks to hang items to dry. All staff members were welcoming and helpful. Atmosphere was also wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to other couples and groups of couples for a fun get away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautiful Resort in Negril

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Great food selection, traditional Jamaican fare which they had in abdundance, in addition to the regular selections you'll find at most hotels.
Cons: There are no snacks available between lunch and dinner unless you go down to the beach. There should be some small food options at the hotel pool bar.
Location: There are plenty of exclusions to enjoy, Rick's Cafe, various water sports and sightseeing adventures - water falls, etc.
I stayed at the resort for 5 days. My goal for this vacation was rest and relaxation, which is exactly what I got. The rooms (tree houses) are beautifully designed and well maintained. My only complaint regarding the room was I was placed quite near the front of the resort so in the morning I was able to hear traffic from the road. Not a huge deal because I'm an early riser, but something to consider. In general my stay was terrific and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I traveled solo, but felt surrounded by friends at all times. The beach is across the street from the resort, it took me about 5 minutes to walk over every morning. You won't believe your eyes when you get over there. The sand white and the water is crystal clear, absolutely breathtaking. The beach staff are great, bringing you drinks throughout the day and generally taking good care of you. It's a great adult friendly resort and I cannot wait to return. The resort is 1.5 to 2 hours journey from the airport but there's lots to see on the way and the bus drivers and taxi drivers do a great job of explaining the sights to you. Make sure you have cash available for tips. Nobody will ask you for a tip but it's nice to be able to give one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Great resort with very friendly staff. Beach located right across the street, with crossing guard posted to help you cross. Food was great, especially the Chef's Showcase. Smaller resort, so we got to know alot of the other guests while were there. Perfect place to go if you're wanting a quiet and relaxing vacation!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from memphis


Posted Sep 22, 2016
This resort is amazing from the staff, to the tree houses, to the location to the beach. It was perfect. My husband and I went there to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary and it could not have been anymore perfect. It was quiet and relaxing. I was a little concerned about not being right on the beach but it was not a big deal at all!! It was very convenient and not a long walk at all. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marlton, NJ

Nice romantic retreat

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Attentive staff, nice rooms, pool and hot tub were decent sized for the amount of people there. Nice sized rap around porch with hammock for relaxing.
Cons: The nightly entertainment was not impressive and a lot of others felt the same way. No seafood was served but maybe it's due to the time of year.
Location: Plenty of water sports, craft markets and YS Falls/Black River trip was nice but not worth the $150 taxi fee, which was cheaper than using the resort.
This was a great resort for our 10th anniversary. The separate tree type accommodations were unique and different from what we usually do (beachfront). The staff were very friendly and quick to meet any needs we had. We had a minor issue with the shower that couldn't easily be fixed and they graciously moved us to another room with an upgrade at no additional cost. The beach, even though a short walk across the street, was beautiful and very well maintained. Water was really clear and warm!! Having a grill there was also a very nice feature. Loved the jerk chicken!!. They had a different type of fish on the buffet every night that had to be some of the best we've had and the male half is not a fish eater. There's plenty of free water sports. We did the "couch" ride which was pulled behind a boat that was a blast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

We got robbed the second night we left the hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Worst experience ever room was ramshacked thousand of dollars of stuff was missing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Fabulous garden like atmosphere..relaxing wonderfu

Posted Aug 28, 2016
I loved the relaxed atmosphere..we wanted to just relax and sunset at the palms was perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Brilliant hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The laid back, relaxed but professional atmosphere and the treehouse style rooms in the beautiful grounds.
Cons: Need more shade on the beach as it gets very hot and only a few straw fixed umbrellas. Also need more seating/ bar stools at the beach bar.
Location: Location great in the center of Bloody Bay beach.
Sunset at the Palms is an absolutely lovely hotel with fantastic staff. We stayed there for our Pearl Anniversary and couldn't have found a better place to stay. The rooms are treehouse style on stilts and surrounded by trees and plants complete with tree frogs, humming birds, huge crabs and mongoose - sitting on your private balcony complete with a daybed you could imagine you were sitting in a rainforest. Some of the rooms have balconies which are on the pathways through the beautiful gardens but ours was tucked away so very private (room 704). The tree frogs are very loud at nighttime but the sound is very soothing and actually helped me to sleep. The gardeners are great and will talk to you about the plants and wildlife in the grounds, I was even given a bunch of freshly cut flowers on my first morning. You will also see the Chef out in the gardens collecting things for the kitchen. All the staff are very friendly and love to chat to the guests which makes it a very relaxed atmosphere while still very professional. The food was lovely and was different every night in the buffet restaurant for the whole two week holiday - have never known this anywhere else. The beach is beautiful and the hotel is situated in a perfect position in the middle of the bay. There are plenty of sun loungers, a snack bar with delicious Cajun Red Snapper and Jerk Chicken. Thank you to Collington, Cornelious, the gardeners who loved to chat, and all the staff for making our holiday so special.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 19, 2016
i have been to sunset at the palms 3 times. i have usually had the most pleasant experience up until this year. My room was broken into and many valuable things were stolen, most importantly our cell phones. the resort staff attempted to cover up what happened and tried to place blame on us. unfortunately 4 other rooms were also robbed the same night. when we attempted to report it to security and staff they brushed us off and struck a deal with the local police to stop the investigation,which further supported the theory that this was an inside job. it is quite scary to spend the rest of your vacation in a place where you do not know who to trust. we had trouble sleeping, afraid someone could break in at any time and attack us. we were never reimbursed or even comped for our troubles and did not have any phone or adequate internet service supplied to us. it made our vacation a living nitemare. i have come to terms with the fact that our missing items will never be replaced. i just want to be able to spare atleast one couple with the same experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best resort on west side of island

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Very surprising to find such a well kept, clean, and personal experience in Jamaica. This is one of them. The staff is helping make your vacation perfect from the second you get off the bus.