Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel, poor food

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Characterful and comfortable room, excellent bathroom and superb front of house staff.
Cons: The restaurant and bar.
Location: Location overlooks a spectacular beach and bay. Newport is worth exploring, although we had little time for that, but will return.
Spectacularly good concierge, valets and reception let down by poor barstaff, waiters and lazy chefs. This is a country house 5 star hotel, that in our limited experience there has a problem in the kitchen. This let's down the entire establishment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel on Cliff Walk

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Costumer service is impecable. Rooms are absolutely beautiful. Location is perfect. Staff could not be more accommodating, professional, and genuine in making your experience the best it can be.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Viirginia

Top notch customer service, views, location!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Loved all of the things above, but the staff is really what won us over. My 10 year old daughter was even commenting how kind everyone was.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Loved that this hotel is on Cliff Walk, has unbelievable views, close to the mansions and town.
I have stayed at many high end hotels and this is absolutely one of my favorites. Every person on staff in the hotel and restaurant were genuinely friendly and go out of their way to ensure you are taken care of. The restaurant's food is excellent, they also did offer items off menu for my 10 year old. The views from the hotel are beautiful, grounds as well. My daughter and I stayed in the Gothic room and loved it, great amenities. Upon leaving, it was raining and we were going to do the Mansion tours. Front desk gentleman went out of his way and gave us a hotel umbrella to take with us. Our stay was short, but we will be back to this hotel for a longer stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for Couples Getaway

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Overall experience expected when staying at a high end hotel. The staff, especially the valet and restaurant staff were on point!
Cons: Some finer attention to detail of cleanliness could be improved.
Location: The Cliff Walk, the mansion tours and the harbor side of Newport are all great things to do and experience.
My wife and I stayed there the past two days and had an amazing experience. Hotel staff were tops and the views and quality of this hotel are great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c of brookline ma

Where would James Bond stay?

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The chandler is a first class hotel. You are taken back in time and made to feel like high society. The staff was Proffessional yet friendly. The grounds are Beautiful the view is excellent. We were close to attractions we were able to walk to the shopping areas and beach. Our room was elegant and comfortable and the bathroom was very big and had an amazing shower.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant mansion hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Tastefully appointed, excellent service. Staff always addressed me by name; always polite and courteous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Best views in town

Posted Jun 19, 2016
With awesome views of the beach at the end of the Cliff Walk, you couldn't ask for a better location. Complementary car service is nice too. Although we found that it was also easy to walk to the mansions if necessary (about 1-1.5 miles of walking one-way). And to end the day in our own personal hot tub...what could be better?
5 out of 5
by Kim from Houston, Texas

Heaven on The Cliff Walk

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
We extended a business trip in Boston by a few days to visit Cape Cod and Newport for our 15th wedding anniversary. When we arrived at The Chanler we were delighted to find our room, The Greek Revival, was ready even though we were a bit early. We were especially relieved because we knew a storm was coming. We were met with a glass of sparkling wine and escorted to our room and after taking quite a few pictures of the beautiful room, view of impeccably manicured grounds and ocean front patio we asked if we could move to The English Tudor that I knew from the website was still available. Our thinking was that if we were going to be holed up in our room due to rain we may as well splurge for the room fit for a king! The staff was very accommodating getting the other room ready for us and moving our luggage. I asked if they could bring us some good weather and we all had a laugh. We had a wonderful nights sleep in a very comfortable bed while weathering the storm and woke to find a glorious sun filled day. Such great service...I don't know how they did it! We loved every minute of our stay and checked out at 11:00. They allowed us to leave our car parked at the hotel while we shopped in Newport(within walking distance), walked The Cliff Walk, and ate a delicious, peaceful lunch at the hotel's Cliff Walk Terrace. We left knowing we will return to The Chanler as soon as possible and we will make sure to have more than one day to spend there!
5 out of 5
by evan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by hugh from Wayne, Nj

Wonderful Place to Stay

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
I would return to the Chanler in a heartbeat! I cannot say the same about most places that I have stayed in!