Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Idyllic setting from which to explore the Cotswold

Posted Sep 22, 2016
... If you can bring yourself to leave the spectacular grounds!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Anniversary Treat

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly, professional and courteous.
Cons: The outdoor chess sets had some pieces missing.
Location: Lovely walks in the area. Lovely grounds for relaxing in.
Returned to the hotel 23 years after having our wedding reception here. We were given an upgrade to a lovely suite in the oldest part of the Old Swan - the stairs were a bit tricky with a suitcase but not a major problem. The Old swan is old! Really old in places, and as you would expect the floors are uneven, the floorboards a bit creaky and the windows rattly which adds to the charm. The receptionist arranged a taxi for us to go into Witney for dinner on the Friday evening - they arrived on time and took us into town for a very reasonable rate. We ate in the hotel on the Saturday night and the food was lovely. Some drinks were a little expensive though - Twelve pounds for a large (250ml) glass of Pinot Grigio! Spa treatments were arranged prior to our visit via email and the staff were courteous and professional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Lovely hotel, fantastic spa treatment!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Spa treatments Quietness Garden Location Parker the cat!
Cons: Breakfast
Location: 3 miles from Witney - we would recommend Fat Lils for dinner if you like a good meal Burford is 5 miles - you can hire a bike at the hotel
We stayed in one of the Old Swan rooms which was the older part. The room was nice but not that big - the bed was king size and very comfortable. We also had a small garden as we were on the ground floor. The shower was great, very powerful and always had hot water. The White Company toiletries was a nice touch - I'm not sure I understand the reasoning behind providing new toiletries when only used once though! My husband and I both had a spa treatment which was amazing - I wanted to book another it was so good but unfortunately they were fully booked! We had dinner at the hotel one night - we both had steak which was very nice although I'd say over priced. If you want just pub food you would need to go somewhere else! Breakfast could have been better - it took 15-20 mins to replace cooked items when they ran out which wasn't really acceptable. We also had to ask for butter, tea and glasses - given the amount of staff we shouldn't have had to do this. Overall though, I'd say its a lovely hotel in a nice location. Parker the cat is also worth mentioning - he came and sat with us whilst we were having a drink in the garden and is a lovely boy, very friendly :)
4 out of 5
by Jean from Ilkley

Short break

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel in beautiful setting We had a very long wait in the restaurant for our evening meal which we would not have expected in view of the price we paid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful setting.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Cons: Avoid room close to pumping station as it switches on and off all night. Eg. 106. Shower very weak.
Location: Close to Bicester for shopping and Oxford for sightseeing.
Overall our stay was pleasant and relaxing. If the weather had been kinder we could have taken advantage of the walks and bike rides.
3 out of 5
by Anthony from Yarm

Decent hotel, marred by some issues

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Let down by electric vehicle charging point being out of service & lack of directions to hotel when arriving late.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire

Pretty setting in the cotswolds

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: It has class without being stuffy. Very comfortable.
Cons: Room service to the river rooms.
Location: Set in acres of grounds, no need to venture away from hotel and grounds if in a short stay. On hand for bourton on water and stow on wold etc.
Went for 50th birthday celebration. Had a room upgrade to a river room, fantastic view right beside river. Quiet and tranquil setting. Upgrade much appreciated as made birthday even more special. Lunch, evening meal and breakfast excellent. The setting was gorgeous, picturesque Cotswold village. Weather was amazing too.
4 out of 5
by S J from Harlow

Minster Mill

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 Night stay Bed & Breakfast Pet Friendly Room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: The outside space and gardens. Lovely local walks. Room size, quality and comfort.
Cons: A little more thought given to breakfast seating and rooming of couples wanting a quiet and relaxing experience. A fridge, wine cooler in rooms
Location: Great local walks, an abundance of restaurants and charming villages to visit. Close to Bicester for shopping.
We were interested to find out how much the hotel had changed since we last stayed here when it was owned by De Vere. As we drove up to the hotel it looked exactly the same, very charming and inviting, the gardens and outside space are delightful. The rooms have been upgraded, and we were delighted with the quality of furnishings and overall layout and facilities, although a small fridge in the room would be useful with fresh milk. Breakfast was excellent however, the Sunday was very noisy as lots of young families had made the most of the bank holiday. However, it was much quieter the next day, service is a little hap hazard but nothing to get overally worked up about. Staff are generally warm and friendly and we enjoyed our return visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Felixstowe

Going back in time

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Everything
27 years ago I lived near Abingdon and decided to visit my roots. We stayed at The Swan for two glorious nights. We loved every single thing from the setting, the room and the food. The staff could not have been more helpful. Sandra was amazing and advised us on places to visit. There is no doubt in my mind that we will be back.