Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Small Boutique hotel needs some TLC

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Proximity to main street, Size and staff
Cons: Some rooms need upgrading - more staff around to clean up , pool needs to be cleaned more frequently
Location: Great location walking distance to bars and restaurants
Nice boutique sized hotel close to the main street of Palm Springs. The reception desk is not staffed every day of the week, but you can check in/out and use the facilities at the hotel across the road. Rooms are OK - downstairs rooms can be noisy as you can hear people walking about in the rooms above. Upstairs rooms have nice views - overall the rooms are comfortable but are getting a bit tired - this could be said for most of the hotel. Overall an OK stay but lacking attention to detail and a bit of maintenance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chatsworth, CA

Keeping on running!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Located on the outskirts of Palm Springs, inexpensive for Palm Springs standards. No hotel staff on site, next door. Very old and rundown, but the room was clean. The pictures of the hotel I saw were nothing like the room we had. Room had a phone, which had a dial tone, but the buttons didn't work, old hair dryer on Wall that didn't work, shower curtain that was to short and splattered water all over the floor and made it slippery. Furniture is old and worn, bed was very uncomfortable. No elevators, so if you have heart luggage and you're on the 2nd floor, you will really not be happy. When we were leaving there were men in suits walking around and workers, working on all the overgrown shrubbery. They had finally swept the leaves off the stairs. Pool had a light green appearance to it and the plaster on the bottom looked worn. I wish I would have spent more money and stayed at a better hotel, with more comforts and a better location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel the owners forgot...

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We had to check in across the street in a nicer hotel. No notes on our hotel stating just go across the street to check in. What it has going for it... It is clean, quiet and the staff is friendly. I don't think we would stay there again, but it was a good deal for what it is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Movie Colony Hotel Saved by The Triada

Posted Aug 26, 2016
MCH was virtually shut down (summer in Palm Springs), so check in and service is provided by The Triada, across the street. While the MCH room and grounds were okay, the internet didn't work. After trying to fix it, staff at The Triada offered to move me into one of their rooms where the internet works fine. The room -- the Elizabeth Taylor suite -- was lovely, comfortable, and cozy. While I'd go back to MCH in season, The Triada is more likely to be my destination.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located near to downtown Palm Springs

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The staff are very courteous and helpful, and the place is very clean. There is a pretty nice swimming pool and jacuzzi pool. It's all very old-school
Cons: Put some seating and a table in the room, and a COFFEEMAKER!
I saw this hotel on Expedia search and it looked charming as a small hotel, which is what I was looking for. The grounds and rooms are very clean, albeit very minimalist. As in sparsely decorated, as in our first room had a bed and a TV, but no seating, no table and/or chairs, no carpeting on the concrete floor, and NO COFFEEMAKER.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Birthday weekend

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Unique layout fo the hotel...very cozy.
Cons: Needs a bit updating.
Location: Easy to get downtown good Mexican restaurant next door
The staff was just wonderful. Very helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was great! We rented all but one of the rooms and enjoyed all of the hotel. The breakfast was nice and the pool area inviting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was difficult to reach a person on the telephone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
i came in to late, but there was a pool. It's was quite, I didn't eat breakfast. However I did get charge an unkown fee.
3 out of 5
by Travis from Stockholm, Sweden

Private, serene, but not amazing

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in a standard room with patio for 1 night. The hotel itself was pleasant and private, although the room was very bare bones. The shower was outdated and needed repair, and the room layout was strange with the closet and mini-fridge in the bathroom. There were repairs going on under our stay that was annoying and I was also overcharged for the room.... attempting to fix that now.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice getaway for couples

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed it despite the triple-digit hot weather. The pool was great to have.