Ratings based on 3,595 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, Calif

Great...BUT

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More restaurants on site. Water sports sponsored by the Hotel
Close to beach, great employees, etc. BUT they started renovations too early. Hotel was supposed to be shut down week after we left, but at 6am each morning we were awakened by pounding, sawing etc. The noise continued throughout the day, disturbing everyone''s relaxation on the beach. Our reservation was also incorrect upon arrival. We booked a room with 2 double beds and got 1 King. The error was not corrected till the next day, so we had to pack up next morning, then wait till 3 pm to get into new room. Ruined our plans for the day. Hotel claims Expedia at fault, so far can't get Expedia to do anything about it. We were also told, by Expedia, we would receive " Resort Credits" for " activities. Farse ! You get coupons for a wedding, diamonds, photo's etc. Overall I would return, but not book through Expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Worst stay ever!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Paid a lot of money! Construction everyday, mold everywhere. Leaking ceilings falling in lobby. Only 1 or 2 restaurants open. People should not have been available blue to stay here while renovating was taking place. We had a baby with us who had to breathe all that in. Hotel wouldn't refund my money, very rude. Worst vacation ever! Never staying with Riu again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long beach ca

vacation from hell

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: every thing customers /guest relation must be improved
Location: hotel Atlantis next door casino also in hotel Atlantis
hotel worked not polite. No running water for 7 hours no hand sanitizer or wipes during water shut down. Food terrible I got sick
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Riu Paradise Island has gone to the dump

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: The entire hotel and staff.
Location: Right next door to the Atlantis, which has plenty of amenities and entertainment.
There was no advanced information given that the hotel was under renovation and would be closing shortly after our stay. There was construction noise all day. There was a mildew smell and leaks throughout the hotel. We practically had to beg for face towels every day and were told that we would have to wait to get clean ones because they had to wash them.When we arrived the Front Desk Agent told us that lunch was being served. We went in the dining area immediately after checking in which was at least 45 minutes before the end of the lunch time that we were given by the Front desk clerk. Upon entering the dining area we noticed that one of the Kitchen Staff Member hurriedly started removing food as we approached and started taking it towards the kitchen area and begin dumping it in the trash. This was so unexpected and rude. One of my sisters and I and other guests saw a roach crawling on the floor in the dining area one afternoon and another one in their bathroom.We have also stayed at the RIU in Dominican Republic, in Aruba and in St. Maarten (which was not a great experience either) and although our experience in St. Marten was not great we decided to try the RIU again on this trip. We have spent a lot of money to stay in the RIU Resorts but we are highly disappointed with our last couple of vacations there. We plan a Caribbean vacation every year and because of these bad and unacceptable experiences we will not stay at another Riu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IN

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Overall a very nice experience. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Superior ocean view room didn't disappoint. Hotel was doing a lot of repairs or renivations (was kinda noisey) and had some leaks when it rained. Only complaints were that mini bar wasn't clean or filled when I checked in and the staff will kick you off of the beach chairs at about 6 pm when they pick them up so if you want to watch the sunset on the beach you either have to sit in the sand or walk around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: noise & elevators
too much construction noise leaks in hallways elevators crowded
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, New York

Hope it's better after the remodel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Hotel is dated and needs some updates.The staff is helpful, friendly and outgoing.The food on the buffet is just ok. The speciality restaurants are good.The entertainment was lame. They have a large theater which holds over 100 people and they were putting on shows in the lobby near the lobby bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our room was nice but that's about it.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel was falling apart from water plumbing damage of some sort leaky ceilings. They are closing apparently to redo the place but I wish they told us that before we booked it because for our entire trip all we heard were saws and hammers on a vacation. They woke us up each morning drilling, sawing, hammering, and continued until night time. There was no relaxation. You heard this in your room, at the beach, and the pool. They didn't even play music to drown out the sound it was terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Renovations during stay

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Riu should have been closed. Hear constant hsmmering/drilling from 7am- 6:30pm in room, pool/beach areas; can't sleep late nor take naps. Ceiling leak in main lobby area. One day water was shut down throughout resort from 11am-5pm. Front desk said to fill bathtub with water to flush toilet. Specialty restaurants began closing down midweek. Staff was wonderful under the circumstances but limited number of staff by midweek.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

No water!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Hotel under construction and should not have been open to the public. Front desk wasn't sympathetic or accommodating. Rodents running around. 1 day without water due to testing. The room above me was under construction and I had a cloud of dust in my room the same day I didn't have water. Was extremely loud as well.