Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Very nice stay!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Very nicely appointed for the price. It was modern, clean, and well run.
Cons: Our electronic door lock would occasionally not latch. The staff was made aware, though, and got right on it.
Location: Auburn is a nice area -- good parks, nice shops, good food.
My wife and I were in Auburn CA for our granddaughter's 2nd birthday. The Best Western Golden Key was very nice, met and surpassed all our expectations. I also wasn't expecting a warm, clean pool in drought-stricken California, but it was great and I was able to swim twice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento calir.

Why, did not expect this at a major motel.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Toilet didn't work upon arrival and room had smell, and finally there was no hot water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Clean facilities and friendly staff. We had a very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good clean hotel with nice amenities.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: N/a
Location: This hotel is right off the freeway in North Auburn. There is a great restaurant, "awful Annie's" right next to it.
We checked in late. The rooms were ready and welcoming. The staff person knew who I was as soon as I said two rooms and greeted me by name. It was quiet, the pool was very nice and the pool towels were large and fluffy. There was good variety in the breakfast and they treated my teenagers well when they went down before I did which doesn't always happen. The staff were all very nice and polite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

Clean, pleasant and pet-friendly!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Cons: Homemade hot cereal for breakfast ;-)
Location: This particular location is in the outer part of Auburn/Bowman. Nearby popular places are Ikeda market, Machado Orchards, Awful Annies Restaurant
I had a very tiring weekend moving out of one place (recently sold) without another place to move to. The only other places that I found that were pet-friendly were a bit unpleasant. I decided on this hotel mainly because it was right up the street from where I moved out of and very close to my work. I thought it was a bit pricey for a pet-friendly place (from my experience of other pet-friendly places), but it was getting late and I was tired and hungry. Upon entering the lobby, I was impressed with the cleanliness and inviting lobby and work-station areas (computer, printer etc), all up to date equipment. Although the check-in process took way longer than normal, the clerk was very resourceful in locating my reservation... I had made the reservation via internet and it did not come through to the hotel yet. When I finally entered the room, I was impressed with the cleanliness as well as the semi-up-to-date furniture and fixtures. For the first time in a long time, I didn't hesitate to sleep between the sheets! Lol! I usually bring my own, especially at pet-friendly hotels. For a moment, I thought the clerk gave me a room that was not for pets, but I was assured that it was. The only reason that I rated the "hotel facilities, condition" a 4 is because I did not have a chance to experience all that was available. I also appreciated that they start breakfast EARLY in the AM as I am an early riser. It was a very nice and relaxing evening after a very physically exhausting week.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value! Clean with lots of amenities

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Loved this place. Will definitely be coming back. Room was very clean and comfortable. Nice sized with clean and comfortable bed. Staff was great. Pool and hot tub were clean and great to use. The complimentary breakfast had alot of good choices and was definitely one of the best ive seen. So happy with my choice to stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Very Clean!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The hotel staff was very accommodating. The room was very clean and fresh.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Third visit!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Nice choice of breakfast foods, with breakfast available starting at 5:30--a plus for travelers who want to hit the road early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to old town Auburn and the tallest bridge.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Loved the pool and was able to plug in hybrid car. Great staff !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel convenient to gold country attractions

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Size of the room. Breakfast. Good internet service. Interstate highway access.
Location: Gold country attractions around Auburn, Grass Valley etc. State Historical Parks in the area too. Variety of restaurants to choose from.
The rooms were larger than other Best Westerns. Breakfast was also better compared to other places we'd stayed. If in the area, I would definitely stay again.