Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Lovelly hotel, but me room was on the third floor with no lift and no offer to carry my bags.
4 out of 5
by SquamMom from Boston, MA

Great! Food on the other hand...

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Location: Great - good proximity to Loon, Cannon, Waterville, Squam Lakes, etc.
I booked a room with a fireplace and although we loved the room (pet friendly!) you had to turn the thermostat up past 75 for the fireplace to go on. Once the heat and fireplace kicked in it was way too hot. Not a huge problem (after skiing), just uncomfortable. Also - we turned the heat down at night but the fireplace kicked on twice in the night and I had to get up and shut it off. Hotel staff AWESOME...friendly, etc. The room was clean - pool and hot tub and sauna lots of fun for kids and not crowded. Great location, etc. Continental breakfast was good too - no complaints. We ate at Fosters one night - the inhouse pub. The waiter was really nice and accommodating but sadly the food was mediocre. My husband was up in the night with food poisoning - huge bummer. That's my only complaint - would go back again, just not eat at Fosters. I realize too that you can get food poisoning anywhere...just too bad it had to happen here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2013
I didn't actually get to stay at this hotel. After booking it and driving an hour to get there I was told that they gave my room (the last room) to someone that called right after I booked it online! Frustration doesn't even begin to cover it!!
5 out of 5
by Dj from israe

We had a great time!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2013
We had a great time!!! Its a great place to stay
5 out of 5
by Susann from Woodstock, VT

Fabulous!

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: see above
Cons: the small cinnamon buns in the breakfast room were a bit stale and the floor was sticking to my feet. Breakfast was good otherwise.
Location: Lake Winnepesaukee with train and boat rides. The mountains are also quite near.
We knew we would love this place because we had had a prior tour of this Common Man Inn as well as the one in Claremont. Each room is uniquely decorated and is spacious and well appointed. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was only reached by stairs but not a problem. It was quiet and like having a nice big room in the attic. Everything was spotless. We even had a wheelbarrow on its own pedestal in our room. And the moose lampshades -- so cute! One of the best things about this Common Man Inn is Fletcher the cat who resides usually somewhere in the lobby but visits other parts of the Inn alsol. He has been known to be up on the massage table down in the spa --- whatever is comfortable at the time. A lovely fat yellow cat who is used to everyone's greetings and fawning over him.
5 out of 5
by Deb from Rhode Island

Beautiful room

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The atmosphere was very cozy, and the staff made us feel at home.
Cons: The on-site restaurant needs improving. Atmosphere and waitstaff is perfect, but the food could be improved.
Location: We spent the day in North Conway which is about an hour away.
The first night we stayed in the Camp suite. It was breathtaking, and we felt as if we were all alone in our own private cabin. When we opened the door and were confronted with the screen door leading into our room, we were speechless. We loved the canoe on top of the bed. The beds were all comfortable and the room was immaculate. The second room we spend the night in was just as clean, although we were spoiled by the Camp room. The beds were comfortable and the staff brought in a cot for us. We loved the lobby and we enjoyed some delightful time in the lovely hot tub and pool. The sauna was not working, but that was fine with us. We ate at the on-site restaurant, and while it was OK. Both nights they ran out of items. On the first night my salmon was delicious, but came without the rice as ordered. When the waitress was notified of this it was quickly rectified. They ran out of vanilla ice cream that night. The next night our steaks were very overcooked, and they had run out of rice pilaf. When the waiter asked about our meals we mentioned that the steaks were well done when we had ordered rare. He apologized and offered us a free desert. The waitstaff were very gracious, polite and quick to solve the issues. We highly recommend having breakfast. It was wonderful, and inexpensive, and the breakfast nook was darling. We would love to stay here again, and hope to do so soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun weekend getaway in NH

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Charming, warm and friendly staff.
Cons: bed was a little uncomfortable
Location: Nice location. There is a walking/biking trail unmarked across the road. You won't find it unless you ask.
Lovely and charming Inn. We went to visit our niece at PSU and had a lovely dinner at Fosters Boiler Room on Friday. On Saturday we went to the Italian Farmhouse. We did not make reservations and had a very long wait. Recommend calling ahead. Food was very good. The hostess miscalculated how long it would actually be (15-25 minutes and it ended up over an hour)so that was a bit disappointing. In that instance, they should have given a comp appetizer or drink. But that's just my opinion. Love the hotel the bed was a bit saggy so be cautioned. Maybe you could ask about that when booking. Overall, atmosphere and friendly staff. Very welcoming and we would go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Jun 7, 2012
This Inn was charming and it is very accomodating to its guests!!
5 out of 5
by Judy

Great NH hospitality

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Pros: This hotel has great charm and character
Location: Good location for the Lakes Region and the White Mountains
From the moment I arrived I was made to feel welcome. My interactions with the front desk, the dining room staff and the housekeeping staff were all excellent. The amenities were top notch and the room first class. I highly recommend the Common Man Inn.