Ratings based on 846 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale FL

Great Location!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Great main floor and lobby. Lively bar. Good breakfast in restaurant.
Cons: Needs renovation of the hallways.
Location: Fabulous harbor location!
The Sheraton Portsmouth is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. You can walk to all the most interesting shops, historic sites and entertainment. The Market restaurant and bar are great as is the whole lobby; The rooms are very comfortable, clean and pleasant. The service is very good. Valet is excellent, but $$$. Unfortunately, the dingy hallways in desperate need of renovation, prevent this hotel from receiving a five star rating. I would stay there again, but would hope that the condition of the hallways and general wear and tear signs in the hotel would be a thing of the past.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ct

Disappointing room with broom closet for bathroom.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We paid $348 for probably the worst room in the hotel. Room 217. The bathroom was so small that the back of your knees were inches from the side of the toilet and when you flushed the toilet the water flew up on your legs like a geyser. The shower was inches from the other side of the toilet. The toilet wouldn't flush at first and the plumber had to come up and fix it. The bed was crammed catty corner in the room so you had to sidestep to get to the left side in between a chair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hope, pa

Inky the maid was awesome

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The maid that took care of our room was amazing. She was attentive. Left me an extra pillow when she saw I used an couch pillow to prop my head up when I slept. Great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

A beautifully timed surprise!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I made last minute plans to go away with my boyfriend after leaving the funeral of a very close family friend who had died abruptly. Once I arrived, they upgraded us to a suite. We had a fantastic stay. I will definitely go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I was there for a conference at the hotel. The room and all of the facilities were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great Location and Friendly

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: convenient location, clean room, and friendly staff
We were initially given a corner room with an odd configuration and returned to the front desk to request a room change. Front desk personnel were friendly and accommodating, and we were very happy with the new room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great sea coast hotel near downtown

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: large size, cleanliness and spaciousness of room, professional staff, hotel ammenties, location
Cons: beds and pillows were not comfortable. The noise level is intrusive if you are near the stairs. I don't care for dogs in the hotel, they will bark
Location: near downtown, shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and close to Maine coastal sites and outlets
We always try to Stay at the Sheraton Harborside when we are in Portsmouth NH. The hotel is large, has lots of amenities such as hotel restaurant and nice bar, good gym & pool. The hotel is close to the harbor, walking distance to downtown shopping and many restaurants. The location is an easy ride to Maine coastal sites. The room itself was clean and comfortable for the most part. I have only 2 criticisms. The bed was not at all comfortable. Also, our room on the second floor was near the staircase and above the function room. The noise from the function room was quite loud so sleep was difficult for the entire stay. Criticisms aside, I think the Sheraton is a great hotel to stay in and the staff are pleasant and accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensbury NY

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Great location, modern, clean facilities, and a close walk to everything. The breakfast included in our stay was just right as well. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very nice hotel. People could not be more friendly and helpful. Excellent location: easy access to Portsmouth and the highway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shelton, CT

Beautiful hotel and location was great

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was very informative, helpful and friendly. The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable.
Location: The hotel was located by a variety of restaurants. There was a wide selection of places to go. Great seafood!
Went to a math conference that was taking place at the Sheraton for a few days. Stayed for two nights and it was a lovely experience!