Ratings based on 1,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel secluded restaurant has good food

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Nice hotel secluded restaurant has good food no fridge or air conditioning but fans Comfortable would return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Murieta

Lovely grounds

Posted Jul 28, 2016
I stayed at Morgan Run for three nights. I was sharing a car with my daughter who had a busy schedule, so I spent most of my time at the hotel. The grounds are beautiful. The gym and pool area area really nice. It's in a quiet area, but is still centrally located. The front desk staff were not overly friendly. I ate most of my meals at their restaurant and the food was pretty good. Not amazing. I think they understaff their restaurant because I often had long waits to have my order taken, or my water refilled. Another problem may be that they add a 20% gratuity right on to your check, so the tip is a guarantee. I found this to be a bit confusing. I'm a 20% tipper anyhow, but I was never sure if the wait staff expected more of a tip on top of the 20% added in. I didn't like this policy. The wifi worked well. My room as large and clean. The major problem was with the cooling system. It was very very noisy. It turns on and off all night long and sounds like a truck running in your room. It caused some major sleeping disruptions. This would be my major complaint with the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort near everything

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Golf Course looked nice
Cons: No elevators so carrying bags was a surprise
Location: A little away from everything but nice being a few minutes outside the busyness. It was easy to commute everywhere
Room compared to average hotel with wall AC. The clubhouse was a expensive for even happy hour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needed a place to stay to see the grandkids

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Very clean and quiet.
Cons: They need to check the dates on bottle water as in our room they were expired 6/23/16.
Location: Del Mar horse track, golf the beach and a lot of restaurants off the property.
We will be back, enjoyed the stay. So glad Expedia had it to view. The room was comfortable and roomy, lots of things to do like walking, swimming, tennis and a beautiful golf course.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful relaxing resort

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: Improve wifi and internet connectivity. Improve cell phone coverage.
I enjoyed my stay at Morgan Run Resort. The room was comfortable, clean and attractive. My family and I enjoyed the pool and surrounding area. The restaurant was very good and the service was excellent. My only disappointment was that the internet service was terrible and the cell phone service was weak. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to Del Mar Fair Grounds

Posted Jul 7, 2016
My husband and I went to the San Diego Fair and needed a place to stay. The resort was nice and the staff were very friendly. The only issue we had was a foul smell coming from the water faucets in the room. It smelled like raw sewage. By the time we checked in we were too tired to deal with this issue and fell asleep. We left the next day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff - nice views

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Staff, room with a patio
Cons: Update decor
My room had a patio looking over the golf course, very enjoyable. The staff was great and the hotel itself is very nice, but maybe getting a little outdated.
4 out of 5
by Joy from Chino Hills, CA

Unique hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Morgan Run is a unique hotel - part country club; part hotel. It may lack a few amenities of your major hotels, but its a very nice, comfortable hotel located on a beautiful golf course. We'd stay here again.
3 out of 5
by james from seattle

comfy hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice older hotel on a golf course. If you like golf, not a bad option to stay and play. There is a decent fitness room, pool and spa (although I did not check out the spa)
4 out of 5
by Tim

Great Deal!

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
excellent