Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bulgaria

Great old building in the mountain

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: See above.
The property is in a 1400-year old small village of made of stone houses in the mountain above Chinque Terre. We felt really great there. The owner was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by cortepaganini., Hotel Management
Thank you Kostadin for your nice words, make me feel very happy, I hope a day to see you again ..
5 out of 5
by Jinyoung

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
It's a lovely place on the mountain. Our room was neat and clean. Kitchen was good too. The manager was very kind and helpful. She provided us with pick-ups from the train station and gave us very helpful information about where to go with lots of maps and pictures. You can feel her passion and genuine love for the place. I loved staying this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks Jin, it was a pleasure to host you, you are very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Perfect!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Loved the rustic accommodation and the views!
Location: The location is quite remote and the road is very narrow and winding. You must have a car to stay here. It is well worth the drive up the mountain!
This rustic converted barn was the perfect choice for our holiday. Our host Francesca was lovely! A bottle of local wine was waiting for us when we arrived. The views were spectacular and we loved our little balcony and the courtyard where we enjoyed a glass of wine each evening. The wifi only works in the courtyard, but who cares whe you are on holiday! Put your electronics away and enjoy life!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Not a hotel. This is an renovated apartment.

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The mountains, the views, the solitude.
Cons: Wifi, parking, lighting.
Location: Some of our neighbors enjoyed the hiking opportunities. Easy to take the ferry from La Spezia to the Cinque Terra.
This apartment high in the mountains in Caste,Italy was unique. Pros: scenery, character, solitude, and the host, Francesca ..... Cons: wifi ( had to sit by an open window to get decent reception ) , parking (limited), proximity to anything ( can also be a plus), We found the indoor lighting to be very dim. The radiator heat had been turned off and sometimes the apt. felt damp and cold; a few minutes of heat could have improved the comfort level greatly. We enjoyed our stay so much that we could overlook any of these shortcomings.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

Charming position and view

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Though the road and parking were both intimidating, this rustic and charming position was not too far from la spezia. The villas are very basic and a bit cold in October with heating central and weak, and turned on at request. We were wlcomed warmly and Carlo and Francesca were very helpful. They introduced us to the nearby estuarine which is in e middl of nowhere but has splendid dishes. We found the bed hard and the pillows too lean. Lighting inside is a bit dim. There is TV noise from nearby at night until quite late. The view from the courtyard is lovely though. Probably a 2.5-3 star accomodation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice...but buyer beware!

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
This was a really cool place, though not too easy to get to unless you have a car! You should be aware that there is no air conditioning and no fans, so if you're staying in this hotel in the heat of the summer (we were there in late July 2015)- you will be uncomfortable. Also, they have small concerts in the courtyard on some nights, so if you want peace and quiet after traveling, check the web site before booking to be sure this isn't happening on your nights. We went through a 2 hour sound check, a hour plus reading from a novel in Italian, which we didn't understand, and then another hour of the songs that we listened do during the aforementioned soundcheck - during this time, we had to be quiet - no TV or music or anything or we would've interrupted this "show." They finished up at nearly midnight, and it wasn't a great night's sleep to have to leave the next morning. Francesca is very ni9ce, but she doesn't speak English very well, so it was hard to communicate. You also have to hang out the window to get internet - especially if there's a concert in the common area that you can't interrupt!! Great view though - just VERY HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by Charlie from Stockholm

With car, a perfect location for Cinque Terre

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
This is a perfect stay if you have a car. About 15 minutes up in the mountains from La Spezia. Wonderful view, calm and relaxing. Even though this is a very small village they have a restaurant worth a visit. I would say that this is a really good location if you want to hike or visit the cities of Cinque Terre. There is trains from La Spezia all the time. Thats the cheap option (think it was like 8 euros for a day pass) and then there are the boats wich is a little more expensive (28€ for a day pass). Dont worry about parking in La Spezia. There is a free touristparking with walking distans to the harbor or the trainstation. There are also free busses from this parking to city center every 20 minutes or so. If you want to hike to the nearest city of Cinque Terre from the house its about 1h 40 min.
5 out of 5
by Tanja from Serbia

Spirit of tradition in best way

Posted Aug 2, 2014 on Hotels
This place is gorgeous!!! The house in which the apartments are was restored to fully reflect the spirit of time when it was built. And still, the accommodation is fully equipped. The owners are very good hosts and you will get all the information you need. Since the accommodation is located in small village near La Spezia, you'll need a car to get to La Spezia. During our stay the owners offer the ride to La Spezia and back for the travelers who didn`t come by car. All compliment for this accommodation!
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Florida

Rural getaway

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Breathtaking views, hospitable hosts, and authentic stay. Corte Paganini is a must stay if you are traveling by car. I was not. Cab fare from the nearest train station is 40€ and the closest market to Corte Paganini is a 3km stroll. However, Francesca, our host, was so kind and caring! She drove my friends and I to the market and upon departure all the way to the train station. She made us feel more than welcome. She made us feel at home, as did the rest of the residents in Caste! On a side note: if you're with musicians the locals will love ya, Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Amazing secluded location within a short drive to La Spezia. Owners are flexible, accommodating and full of useful tips for the area. House offers fantastic views, has a lot of character and at the same time is equipped with modern amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by cortepaganini., Hotel Management
Thank you, I'm glad you were fine, your words, make me happy ... to the next holiday Ciao Francesca