Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
The staff in this newly remodeled location were friendly and helpful. However, the room and bed were quite small, and the walls were thin (lots of noise from the sitting room out front). Otherwise, this was a good (if slightly hard to find) location from which to explore Rome by foot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield Hills

Quiet neighborhood, noisy hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The check-in girl was helpful and very, very nice. The hotel is very close to the metro stop, Lepanto.
Cons: New locks on the doors. Telling the neighbors to shut it after 10pm. Screens on the windows to keep out mosquitos.
Location: Ironically, the hotel is noisy but the neighborhood is very quiet. Especially in the evening. There are shops and restaurants a few blocks away.
First off, this has to be the single noisiest Pensione I've stayed at in Italy—which is saying something. The pensione occupants themselves are very quiet but the inner courtyard neighbors are very noisy. You can hear everyone's business through your shutters (which you need to keep open for fresh air) all the time. Coughs, conversations—someone was running what sounded like a power saw at midnight! You hear it all. Very loud. The bed was okay comfort-wise but I'd recommend a couple of the free samples of Limoncello around town before hitting the hay at night, it'll help. Or earplugs. The noise/conversations/TVs didn't stop until about 2:30 am. The room itself is 2 star. It was fine. BUT they've duplicated the keys so many times that it's difficult to open your door and on one occasion I got locked in my room. That's right, locked in my room. And since there's no on on staff at the hotel aside from day time check in hours, I had to take apart my hotel room lock with my fingernail clippers just to get out of my room. Thank God I had them! I got numerous bites—good sized ones—on my body while sleeping there. I attribute this to mosquitoes that get in the room through the open shutters. I'm actually still trying to get rid of the bites. You're a few blocks away from a cluster of shops and restaurants, which is good and about 500 (or less) away from the subway stop of Lepanto—which is very, very handy and why I stayed here. Would I do it again? No. I think you can do better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gardnerville, Nv

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Great location! Wonderful staff! Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Roger from Ottawa, ON

Great spot!

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing spot. The place is conveniently located directly in front of a major Metro station and there are plenty of busses nearby. Plus you can walk to the Vatican in just a few minutes. Also lots of restaurants, grocery stores, etc nearby. The service was AMAZING. The front staff was extremely friendly and accommodating to our needs. The Wifi was included and worked very well! Only minor complaint was that it was kind of hidden and not easy to find, signage was at a minimum once in the main complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, England

Clean and comfortable, next to Metro

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Lady on reception was so helpful and friendly, went out of her way to help, excellent service. It is on the 3rd floor of a large building which had other similar guest houses (I think they called them) as well as doctors and I think some residential flats also. They have a very small reception area & then a number of rooms, I'm not sure how many as we were next to the reception, but I would say maybe 8. Our room was clean, had a large double bed and a single bed, both comfortable, ceiling fan which was great as it was very hot. Not loads of space but we only used it to change and sleep so wasn't a problem for us. Bathroom was clean, shower a little small. It was right next the the Lepanto stop on the Metro A line, which was great. 5 stops to termini station, 1 stop to Vatican City, 2 stops to Spanish steps. If u walk down to the main st probably 5 mins away there are a number of shops, restaurants, supermarkets etc. A fair price for a budget holiday, clean, good location. The only bad thing I can say is that the towels weren't changed but I'm certain we had asked we would have got clean ones. I would stay here again :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No more than expected

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
The girl at the front desk was quite short with us a few times. Our key broke in the door trying to get in one night and there's no one at the desk after 9, luckily another hotel guest let us on. When we told her about it the next day she was unkind about it although it sounds like it's a reoccurring issue - not good. The hotel its self was alright no AC Though so very hot at night. The location was good! Not more than a 20 min walk into Rome or to the Vatican.
5 out of 5
by Sam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Poor facilities, staff unfriendly and unhelpful

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The only good thing is the convenient location.
Cons: The main improvement would be if staff undergo training on how to deal in a more positive, friendly manner with customers, and if they cared.
Location: Nearby is the Vatican City.
I'm afraid we had a very poor experience: we knew that facilities would be basic and were prepared to live with that, but too many things made us regret staying at this pensione. The worst was the day staff: the main person in charge was rude and unhelpful from the moment we arrived and for the whole 4 days of our stay. The very small shower/toilet room had no window and the aspirator on the ceiling was broken: I reported that on the first day, they mumbled something about having it fixed but that didn't happen; the shower-head was only half-working and it was spurting water irregularly - it was also fixed on the wall, probably it was a good 20-30 years old. They don't change towels so be prepared to use the same ones for all your stay. Wi-fi doesn't reach the rooms so one has to stay at the microscopic reception to log in and use the internet. The rooms overlook the internal courtyard of the very large building where the pension is located: lots of other residents and businesses are all around so sometimes it was really noisy early in the morning. All in all disappointing, most of all the service and the treatment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by pensione paradise, Hotel Management
Hello Franki, we are sorry that you do not feel good at our pensione,but is not alowed to rent a double room and check -in 3 adult person.the personal make his job charging a triple room and is not right that you are angry for this.we hope that next time you will return and feel better.Best regards, Pensione Paradise
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Poor customer service

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing dirty
I'm not gonna recommend poor for everything especially customer service very very poor
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by pensione paradise, Hotel Management
we are sorry for your experience.it will hepl us if you explain what exactly you do not like,for resolving the problems for the next visitors.Best regards