Ratings based on 4,151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Potomac, MD

Right across the street from the Alamo.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Right across the street from the Alamo and close to riverwalk, No USB ports and limited number of outlets. They brought up refrigerator shortly after we asked for one. Parking is $28/day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Riverwalk

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Location: The Alamo is just steps from the hotel and the Riverwalk is easily within walking distance.
The Menger is a beautiful old hotel! Our stay was all we hoped it would be and more. Lots of history. A must is the Menger Bar where Teddy Roosevelt recruited men for The Rough Riders
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Good hotel, perfect location, nice staff. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubuque, IA

Nice hotel in downtown San Antonio

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: location and the price was good for when we booked it.
Cons: the smell of the lobby between the front desk and the front door
Location: Perfect. Next to the Alamo, 1-2 blocks from the Riverwalk, 3 blocks to Buckhorn Saloon/Ranger museum, blks from LaVillita village & Hemisfair Park.
Menger Hotel is right in the middle of downtown and it's a location that can not be beat. We took the shuttle from the airport and then was able to walk to all of the attractions we wanted to go to without any difficulty. (No car rental fee or parking fees!) The rooms were spacious. It was quiet and the staff were very helpful. The history of the hotel is very interesting and they say it is haunted! (Did not run into any of that.) It has a pool which was an added benefit and an outside area to sit and just relax. We would recommend this hotel to friends as it is right where you would want to be in downtown San Antonio. If you wanted to go to the Zoo, SeaWorld or 5 Flags over Texas you could easily take the bus, or rent a car for the day in the nearby mall!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Nice hotel in the heart of downtown and all the activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Drenched in History

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Very old building, which is what we love. Drenched in history from end to end. Pool,massage, gardens, shops, antiques displayed everywhere. Front desk very nice (could have used help from valet entrance with luggage though). Easy access to rooms. Not large, but comfortable.Big heavy old woood furniture. Bed's on the firm side, big ceiling fan keeps things cool (I still brought a fan for my comfort) If you have a lot of electronics, might want to bring a charge bar. Bathtub is deep enough to soak comfortably. Front desk easily helps with directions, printing boarding passes, though not in synch with the shuttle info (worked out fine anyhow) You must go to the bar and see the wedge mark where a prohibitionist took an axe to it. Drinks are okay. Gets a bit busy at night (even during the week). Think they need at least another hostess for those times. "Teddy Roosevelt" even showed up there. The hotel is right next to the Alamo, and is in walking distance to the Riverwalk, the museums, pretty much anywhere downtown. Take the 11 bus to the zoo. Take a carriage ride at night. Definitely take the river taxi to see the whole river (the tour boats only do the loop) but don't be in a rush to go anywhere. Very laid back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A perfect location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
What I really liked about the hotel is its location, being close to the Alamo and sightseeing bus departure stop. San Antonio Visitors Center was in the same building. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very historical, many historical artifacts to view

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and very clean
Cons: very much NOT sound proof, could hear every toilet flush for 3 rooms both ways. I am in my 50's and one of the younger guests!
Location: GREAT location
If you like old quaint hotels with aging guests this is the place for you! Very nice, friendly staff but lacks some of the modern conveniences found in most hotels today.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Hotel steeped in history

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The fact that the building is historic and revels in that.
Staying at the Menger is an experience unto itself. The hotel is *right next door* to the Alamo, and virtually connected to RiverCenter Mall. It is one block from the Riverwalk. You are literally in the middle of everything there. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building that has been well maintained. There are pictures of famous people from U.S. history on the walls. As far as the rooms and amenities go, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, a little small but big enough for one person traveling on business by himself. Two people would be a tight fit, but I was in a room that seemed to me to be set up just for one person. Which was fine with me. The Menger isn't your typical luxury hotel, it's got little quirks and eccentricities, which I find charming but the typical traveler might not. For example, the elevator was small and slow. I didn't care because I was expecting that, but if you like fast and flashy, the Menger might not be your place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Historical hotel in the center of attractions

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Its history
Cons: The pool area is out of towels frequently. As towels are not that expensive, this could be corrected by purchasing new pool towels.
Location: Great access to the River Walk and River City Mall. The Alamo is literally next door.
We celebrated our anniversary. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. Security was excellent. The breakfast buffet was very complete; however be careful on Sundays as brunch begins at 10.The price goes up. So, if you aren't hungry for a heavy meal really early, you will need to get up early or go somewhere else for breakfast.