Ratings based on 1,331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Great staff . Super easy to deal with and gave me free parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

OK for last minute accommodation

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: See above
Location: Hotel Circle; not much
The rooms & facilities were not super clean and food & service at the breakfast restaurant was sub-par. However, the front desk staff was nice and the beds were comfortable. The walls were very thin and we could hear all the neighbors/children/teenagers running around the hallways all night. I had to shut my room door very hard in order for it to close completely; the housekeeping barely cleaned the rooms daily. It would have been nice to have more restaurants within walking distance without relying on public transit to get to downtown/marina. The daily rate was overpriced for what we got at the hotel. Hotel seemed very outdated, it could use a little TLC and updating to come into the 2010s instead of the 1970s.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Health Hazard

Posted Nov 1, 2016
I was offered 3 different rooms at this hotel. I refused them all due to mold in the bathrooms. I don't know if it is a ventilation problem or a cleaning issue. If you have health problems as I do, this can be especially hazardous to your health. The staff didn't seemed too concerned by it. I don't ask for much in a hotel other than safety and cleanliness. The only positive was the manager reversed my credit card promptly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

tropical getaway

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The tropical grounds waterfalls big plants and trees Staff was very nice
Cons: The refrigerator had leaked and carpet was wet before I checked it. Would have been nice to be offerd diff room vs cleaning at time
Location: Hotel circle right of 3 freeways, golf course and fashion valley mall
Room was clean and spacious. Amenities were great. Patio or balcony with room. Bed was very comfortable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hair and hassles

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: In the heart of San Diego
Cons: Being able to hear every word of the laundry staff like they were in the room with us. Absolutely terrible windows to be able to hear them like that
Long black hair ( so real obvious ) stuck to the shower walls and despite the place was only half full they wanted to put us right next to the laundry at the furthest end, where you don't hear in the machines but you sure the staff at all hours laughing and talking with each other including waking you up with cloud burst at five in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago Il

No

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The front desk people doesn't help don't give me any information especially the Puerto Rican girl
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds, but close inspection reveals flaws

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: location was good
Cons: pay attention to the cosmetic details.
Location: Petco Park, the mall, downtown...
The little things reveal the truth. In my room, the return vent had screws hanging down, the vent in the bathroom was covered with paper and masking tape for example. Looking at the ceiling while waiting for the elevator, you can see slashes in the ceiling. just lots of those little things that make the difference between a decent hotel and an exceptional one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sd

OK

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Friendly staff, clean room, and best view of the golf coarse with a balcony. However, dated decor and the room smelled musty. Kept the balcony sliding door open for the smell to go away. It needs to be renovated ASAP!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
An older hotel, but it has a nice Hawaiian charm to it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Conveniently close to San Diego attractions

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The hotel it self was decent and pleasant, the room was okay. The tv is to small for the room and the bathroom lacked ventilation. The steam from shower lingered and made the whole room muggy.