Ratings based on 1,180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
We needed a last minute overnight stay somewhere clean. This was not it. Rooms need a lot of maintenance. I don't mind if the place is old as long as its clean. Nothing felt clean about the room. We were even afraid to sleep under the covers. Its loud and you can hear everything. Including the person that was yelling obscenities at 2am. My fault for not looking closer at the negative reviews.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poorly maintained.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Polite staff. Good option of free shuttle to dock and/or airport. Good location within the city.
Cons: Update room and equipment in the room. Deal with unruly partiers.
Location: Great location in relation to the docks and airport with tourist facility available for tours through the city.
TV connection didn't work for about two hours in the evening. Telephone wasn't working. Unruly guests made a lot of noise and were not dealt with for hours.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Only a short walk from the gas lamp, and there's a little store across the street if u wanna get food at a drink or something without going too far.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Don't trust he pictures

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Beds were at least 20 years old and so loud it was ridiculous. Rolling over was like dropping glass plates on the floor at 3:00am. Rooms were filthy.
Location: The location was ok.
The pictures of the hotel and severely different from what you receive. We even paid more to have a superior king room so we could have extra room and it was tiny and looked nothin like the pictures on Expedia website. extremely disappointed. The beds and room were atrocious. Completely unusable. We even cut our vacation short by a night because we couldn't stay there anymore.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location everything else horrible

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location and proximity to freeways downtown everything else was mediocre.
Cons: The room. Bathroom . Lack of cleanliness. Lack of handicap parking. Rooms outdated and dirty.
Location: Gaslamp area close to freeways
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kailua Kona, USA

Basic hotel with secure underground parking, close

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: location is good, included continental breakfast nice; and nice small restaurant across the street if you too late for the included breakfast (6:30 to
Cons: Inconsistent housekeeping with taking towels away, but not leaving two bath towels or bath mat.
Location: Central to Little Italy (down Ash Street) and to Gaslamp (down Ash one block to 6th and down 6th); both areas about half mile away. SD Zoo is a short
Basic hotel, consistent with cost, but central location between Gaslamp section and Little Italy; as well as close to access to freeway heading North 163 and 5, airport RAC 2.5 miles away so can fill up gas night before. SD Zoo is 10 minutes away, like the airport. The included continental breakfast is OK, with make your own pancakes, pastries and bagels, and boiled eggs. Breakfast room has microwave to reheat eggs or pastries, or your leftovers. Toaster too. Room OK, although housekeeping staff consistent in taking away towels for cleaning but not leaving two bath towels. Soleluna restaurant across 6th Avenue good breakfast and dinners, and under hotel at corner is a good coffee shop with boutique coffees. Summary: cost effective, basic, convenient, and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Staff forgot towels.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Excellent. Great location within walking distance to food and shopping.
Except for the first day there, I was out of towels and didn't discover this until after I got out of the shower. It had been a long day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

we had termites on our bed

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The employee who checked us in was great.
Cons: Our rooms were disgusting with termites in them.
Location: It's in downtown San Diego, there's TONS of stuff to do there.
We pulled back the covers on our bed and saw bug wings so we pulled them back even more and saw 3 termites walking around our bed. We did not look for more because we were disgusted already. They switched our rooms but our new room had bugs on the bathroom floor at 3am. I couldn't wake my kids up from a dead sleep just to change rooms yet again but I was not happy with this hotel at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No way.....stay away...!!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Read my review.
Location: Near Little Italy....but nothing to do in the immediate vicinity.
The location isn't worth the room. It was small, noisy AC, terrible breakfast facility and food...as well as unkept. While the staff was mostly ok, the desk clerk whom I encountered, Shaniqua, had a little too much attitude for my taste....unfriendly and unpleasant. Needless to say, I did not feel welcome...and I would NEVER stay there again. There's a Days Inn right down the street from this flea trap....go there instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cómodo y a buen precio

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: El precio y la ubicación
Cons: El costo del estacionamiento
Location: En el centro de San Diego
Buen hotel, a buen costo y muy centrico. No me agradó que cobran 16 dls de estacionamiento por día