Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice short stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Nice inexpensive place to stop on the way to Hearst Castle/SanSimeon/Elephant seals. Breakfast was OK (waffles); coffee always in lobby. Clean and convenient!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Needs some work.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Felt comfortable and safe location. Quiet. Clean.
Cons: An entire redo. Needs lots of work. Water pressure too high,
Location: Close to downtown. Cute town.
Lighting is not sufficient. Dark room. Water pressure in shower is so hard that I'm glad I didn't have children with me. I thought we were to conserve water in California. Water flow is over the top. Sink plugged up, took a long time to empty. Refrigerator and microwave in the closet, good thing I didn't have many clothes. You could hear the refrigerator all night. I unplugged the microwave so I didn't have to hear the clock. Shower too small. There was plenty of space for a bigger shower/tub. 2 of the 3 lights in shower burned out. Hotel has extensive dry rot, needs some work. No ice bucket, had to request and light bulb needed replaced. Coffee provided in room- only 1 decaf an 1 regular, so the two of us had to choose. Took 1/2 hour for more eggs and sausage and more muffins. No real butter, just margarine. This hotel was in a good location, and the desk clerk was welcoming and very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Clean, safe, nice hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Lots of parking. It's not the ritz, but great hotel with great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Loved it!

Posted May 25, 2017
Me and honey had a wild hair and wanted to go to the beach and lampliter inn was the best price and as soon as we got there the concierge was wonderful and sweet. I guess when we booked the last queen suite they had to upgrade us to king, because they forgot to turn off the vacancy For the queen suites online. Didn't charge me extra. Which was wonderful. Our view from the room was pretty pleasant. Bed was comfy. I love sleeping with tons of pillows I believe they provide 5? And the view. Nothing extravagant, but the neighborhoods are cute! I wouldn't recommend walking to downtown. Just uber there. Complimentary breakfast was awesome. I will only stay at hotels that provide breakfast. Like the parking a lot. Wasn't congested or anything. Honey and I, had a great stay:) will definitely come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield Ca

Close to downtown SLO

Posted May 8, 2017
There aren't many hotels within walking distance to downtown SLO. Hubby and I have stayed at the Lamplighter twice. We had no issues on either stay. The check-in was smooth and the hotel staff was courteous and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We reserved the King Deluxe and had no problems at all with noise, and it was Cinco de Mayo weekend! There is a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator in the room along with a flat screen t.v. and your typical guest toiletries. There is also a vending machine with soft drinks located in the ice machine room. That's pretty much all we needed since we intended to drive to the nearby beach cities and also walk to downtown SLO. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast until 9:30 am, which was pretty good. Eggs, sausage, toast, pastries, make your own waffles, cereal, juices, and coffee. There is also a bus and trolley stop located in front of the hotel, which is also convenient. I read some of the other dissatisfied reviews, and they appear to reflect their experience about the older section of the hotel located behind the main hotel. Apparently the King Deluxe is situated in the main hotel, so if you're going to stay here, be sure to reserve the King Deluxe. We booked our reservation on Expedia, and even though we had no issues, we feel that $229 a night for this particular hotel is overpriced. Nevertheless, the choices available within walking distance to downtown are minimal, and others looked shady.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Private owned hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
The rooms were nice with a small microwave and fridge. We were able to do laundry (though only one washer and dryer were working) my only complaint is the room was very hot when we got in. It had a little room ac unit that took hours for it to cool down. We went to the pool while we waited for it to cool down. The windows opened, which helped a lot once the sun went down. Continental breakfast included muffins, eggs, sausage, cereal and waffles. There was instant oatmeal available but no hot water or microwave to cook it. Overall, pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcata, CA

Adequate hotel with pleasant staff

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Give me coffee every morning.
Location: The hotel is easy walking distance from some great restaurants and a brewery, and not much further to downtown. The neighborhood is beautiful.
The room was clean and adequately comfortable, but nothing fancy. The bathroom and shower were great and they provided everything I needed. But they did not replace the coffee after the first day, which was a bit disappointment. Also the refrigerator made a lot of noise at night. I did not try the pool or hot tub, but these looked very nice too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
The bed was not very comfortable, and the pillows were really small and squishy. The price point didn't seem to meet the value. The staff was nice and the place was clean. .
2 out of 5
by Lori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chu

Nice staff

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Good hotel with good location and quiet to stay overnight.