Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Hotel location was great.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Good hotel, friendly staff, clean, close to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Now that I've calmed down

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better AC. No pigeons. Pricing that is more in line with the room size and amenities.
Location: Close to downtown.
Started looking for a room 4 weeks in advance. Searched online and called hotels direct. Numerous times I was told that because of Cal Poly 'move-in' weekend there were no vacancies. Finally found a room at the Lamplighter. 1 queen size bed with 2 adults. $349.00 + tax. Made the decision to book it because it was the only room I could find. Checked in. Staff was very nice. Room was small and very warm. Opened a window and was amazed at how loud pigeons were. Closed window and turned on 'energy effecient' AC. It was energy efficient because it didn't blow cool air. Turns out that a room like this usually goes for a lot less but because if was Cal Poly move-in weekend the rate was pretty much doubled. To add insult to injury, people who showed up on the same day (did not have reservations) were offered nicer rooms for less money. I don't travel much but when I do I always stay at hotels with 3 or more stars. Have always had much nicer rooms for a lot less money. Will never go back..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great hotel location and room was clean. Nice to have fridge and microwave in room. Took a long time for AC to cool the room and pool water a little too green for swimming. Breakfast so-so but hotel staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Posted Aug 24, 2017
A fine hotel in the agricultural area of California. Although close to the freeway, it was quiet and restful. We especially enjoyed eating breakfast in the courtyard outside. We definetly recommend it to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice short stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Nice inexpensive place to stop on the way to Hearst Castle/SanSimeon/Elephant seals. Breakfast was OK (waffles); coffee always in lobby. Clean and convenient!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Needs some work.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Felt comfortable and safe location. Quiet. Clean.
Cons: An entire redo. Needs lots of work. Water pressure too high,
Location: Close to downtown. Cute town.
Lighting is not sufficient. Dark room. Water pressure in shower is so hard that I'm glad I didn't have children with me. I thought we were to conserve water in California. Water flow is over the top. Sink plugged up, took a long time to empty. Refrigerator and microwave in the closet, good thing I didn't have many clothes. You could hear the refrigerator all night. I unplugged the microwave so I didn't have to hear the clock. Shower too small. There was plenty of space for a bigger shower/tub. 2 of the 3 lights in shower burned out. Hotel has extensive dry rot, needs some work. No ice bucket, had to request and light bulb needed replaced. Coffee provided in room- only 1 decaf an 1 regular, so the two of us had to choose. Took 1/2 hour for more eggs and sausage and more muffins. No real butter, just margarine. This hotel was in a good location, and the desk clerk was welcoming and very pleasant.
4 out of 5
by Donnieau

Yes, I'd stay again :-)

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Good night's rest, fairly clean...just a bit outdated. Room smaller than expected for the price. I didn't have the free breakfast because I felt like sleeping in late...I'd stay again if needed and then I'll let you know about the breakfast. Absolutely amazing, friendly, and professional front desk staff...they get 5 stars in my opinion ☆☆☆☆☆
4 out of 5
by Adam

Visiting the Coast

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was nice. Close to freeways and downtown areas. It was clean and staff were courteous. Continental breakfast was really good.
5 out of 5
by Herbert

Will stay there again!

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk was really nice!!! It was close to everything!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels