Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria, CA

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Not sure
Cons: All
Location: We were there Thursday night and they happened to have the biggest and best farmers market ever in downtown from 6-9 pm year round
Rude reception. There was a pice of used gum in the shower that they forgot to pick up!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OR

Walking distance from downtown

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Office was in a nice building. Put us across the street in a old building probably the original motel. Dirty dishes in the closet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our room was not quite up to par

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Location, location, and location
Cons: WiFi!!!!
Location: Within walking distance is Splash Cafe and Downtown SLO with plenty of shopping and good eats!
Our previous stay at this hotel was quite pleasant so we decided to stay here again. This time, however, it was a bit disappointing. While our room was clean, there were a lot of things that needed repair. The drawers were missing knobs (4 out of 6 were missing); the cabinet doors creaked; the bathroom door creaked (quite loudly); the shower curtain rod sagged and wouldn't keep the curtain in place so the bathroom floor got drenched; there didn't seem to be a fan in the bathroom nor a window so there's no ventilation whatsoever (it's possible that there is a fan but it might be connected to the heating lamp and who wants to use the heating lamp in the dead heat of summer?); and their WiFi! It is SO very extremely slow that you're better off not using it at all!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was clean, shower was updated

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Arrived late after 1 am, pleased to find staff avail. and friendly to check in, room was clean, no odor to room like you would find in a inn, would stay there again, great for price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Do not stay here

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff members were all very friendly.
Cons: This hotel needs a total overhaul.
Location: The location was very convenient, with only a 10 minute walk to downtown San Luis Obispo. Lots of good restaurants nearby.
This hotel has seen better days about 20 years ago. Had I not prepaid I would have walked out and found somewhere else to stay. The appearance of the room was disappointing as soon as I opened the door. Upon closer inspection the shabbiness of the carpet and the decrepit state of the furnishings became apparent. The beds were covered with horrible bedspreads, one of which had a spot that appeared to have been melted somehow. The shade covering the door to our small balcony had a slit down the middle that looked like someone had taken a knife to it and the balcony itself was littered with cigarette butts even though this was supposed to have been a non-smoking facility. The cleanliness of the bathroom left a lot to be desired as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to CSU was a big plus.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Overall, a great value. Additionally, breakfast was included and hotel staff was very attentive.
We were able to get a room in the "family" building with three beds and two rooms at a very reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Staff were very friendly.
Great location. The room had a very stale odor, as if the carpet/drapes hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The furniture was outdated. TV's were still tube TV's. Refrigerator buzzed constantly.
5 out of 5
by lisa from Northern CA

Helpful staff that exceeded our expectations

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
I would certainly stay at this hotel again. It's not a 5 star hotel, but that's not what I paid for either. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, and were traveling with kids. Our room was on the third floor in a building behind the main hotel and across the street. That wasn't a problem for us because we don't mind stairs and I felt like the location allowed for more privacy. I'm just putting it here in case someone else would mind. I know they do have an elevator in the main building. Our room was definitely spacious enough that we weren't in each other's hair, and the beds were comfy. It's probably about time to replace the carpet though. For traveling with family, I'll say it is affordable and convenient, and offers a decent breakfast that is a lot better than other hotels that advertise they have breakfast. Here they have scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. They would sometimes run out, but when we let staff know they would promptly bring out more. Speaking of the staff, they are one of the best features of this hotel. During our stay we interacted with about six different employees, and every one of them were friendly, curteous, and helpful and about half of them went out of their way to help us out when we needed something. The surrounding neighborhood is pretty quiet, there are a few restaurants within walking distance. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to downtown SLO. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Friendly Folks

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable room. Very friendly and helpful front desk. Very close and easy to get to Cal Poly.
1 out of 5
by Victoria from Bakersfield, CA

Stay someplace else

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
The price was fine and the neigborhood was as promised, but what a small, run-down room. Mismatched furniture, missing cabinet knobs, broken Kleenex and TP dispense, chipped tub. Seriously dumpy. Don't stay here, we would have stayed someplace else if we'd known.