Ratings based on 1,121 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las Vegad

Great view!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel looks like it has been recently remodeled: great decore and comfy bed. The view from the upper lobby is fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Old property not kept up

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location! Beautiful setting amongst old growth forest.
Cons: Better linens, care taken to ensure the rooms are functional, maybe putting a working thermostat in the room.
Location: Its Santa Cruz! Beaches, aquariums, museums, and the entire Santa Cruz thing!
From the bed linens that would not stay on the bed to a screen door mounted backwards so it could only be opened from the outside (someone "corrected" this by tearing a hole in the screen so you could reach the latch) our stay at this formerly first class resort was a disappointment. The bones of a great resort are still there, so I am hopeful they can return to their previous level. I will not waste my money there again, so will likely not see it myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Fabulous central lovation

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Loved the location of this hotel. We were 10-15 mins from everything we wanted to do! The drive up is gorgeous and the facility itself is lovely. Breakfast buffet is killer and the bar staff at night can't be beat!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Needs to go a little farther for the price.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
I really needed to get some work done and relax but the wifi connection was terrible. When I mentioned this they said they would reset the router but that never happened. Ended up having to drive to Santa Cruz and sit in a cafe to get work done. Not acceptable for a "luxury" hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Resort with a natural feel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We booked this resort because of it's views and central location. We were pleasantly surprised with the natural look and feel of this resort (some resorts can be overly landscaped so that they start to look and feel more like an amusement park than anything native to the area). We were very happy with the views from the main building amd enjoyed walking the resort's trail. I highly recommend walking through the eucalyptus forest on the resort's grounds, it looks and smells amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location - deceiving web site

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The trees.
Cons: Update interior.
Location: It's SANTA CRUZ!
The hotel staff were great. Very friendly and accommodating. The web site is a little deceiving in that it looks super close to the ocean and beach. It's not. You can see the ocean from the restaurant balcony and the view is great. The fire pits were never lit :( I know Santa Cruz and there are far better places to stay at lower prices. Thanksgiving dinner was pretty good, but waaaaaaaaay over priced. Very disappointmented.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exclusive & Amenities but disappointing shower.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The property itself seems nice and exclusive but when we showed up at 11pm we had to park a long way away from our room and walk through the dark back to our room. The shower was dated and lukewarm which was super disappointing for my wife who needed some real comfort on our way to a doctor's appointment. They waved the $35 resort fee but it would have been better to have a good experience in the first place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the Spa. Excellent Massage Therapists. Restaurants and Lounge not as much..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please let people check in on time

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I liked the location of this resort. Close from the boardwalk and downtown Santa Cruz.
Cons: The food at the restaurant was terrible. $20-$30 plate food taste like shopital food but a lot worst than that. I would never eat at this restaurant. Not worth the money and time. Other than food everything else were ok.
Location: You can uber to downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind words on the property and team. We will definitely follow up with staff on the food quality. If possible could you reach out in person, would love to know which outlet you dined to better direct our recovery efforts. All the best, Kevin Kevin L. Herbst | General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price, stay elsewhere.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
To call Chaminade a "resort" is a bit of a stretch, it was/is really much more of a hotel. The staff was very friendly, professional, and attentive, 4 stars for them. That being said, the bed was miserably uncomfortable, on par with those found in a Comfort Inn, really. The room was noisy as all get out because the hallways are cavernous and the way the doors are loaded to shut on their own results in the loudest, booming, banging sounds when other guests leave their room(s) so good luck getting a good night's sleep. The pool area was crowded with rambunctious children, the hot tub was minuscule in size and the pool itself was really just a lap pool. The whole property really looks and feels like dormitories/apartments that were converted into hotel rooms. I was really very disappointed, especially given the price. Totally not worth it, we were very disappointed overall.