Ratings based on 1,418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Charming hotel in a beautiful historic district

Posted Aug 30, 2016
I absolutely love this beautiful historic hotel! The location is perfect for walking to great dining and cultural spots.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Keyport NJ

Location close to Plaza

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Location close to Plaza
Location: Plenty of shops nearby
Pleasant stay, clean hotel ,pleasant staff, Location close to Plaza ,Plenty of shops nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Charged for parking at checkout (no notice of price).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marble Falls, Texas

Beautiful Old Hotel Close to the Plaza

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The location to the Plaza is ideal.
Location: The Plaza in Santa Fe is the heart of the City with shopping, dining, and music.
My wife and I stayed at this historic hotel and could not have been more pleased. It's beauty and charm make this hotel a must stay in downtown Santa Fe. Its location is ideal and the staff are pleasant and knowledgeable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Great! Except....

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Everything was great upon arrival and check-in. The hotel itself is beautiful! Staff is warm and welcoming, decor is remarkable & the hotel is pet friendly (which we very much appreciated). Location is also great for guests visiting the Santa Fe Plaza. But, for over $300 per night, the rooms were TINY, the showers were TINY, the bed was sunken in and worn out. The view was atrocious, and parking is an additional $18 per day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great location and veranda.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location and the friendly helpful staff.
Cons: In room lighting could be improved especially over the sink. It is sometime hard to see very well when shaving or applying makeup.
Location: Location is excellent, just 1 block off the plaza. The hotel is walking distance from major museums, great restaurants and churches.
The location of this hotel is outstanding, just a block off the plaza. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. Sitting on the veranda in the afternoon and enjoying a glass of wine is very relaxing. The hotel provides water for pets on the veranda and there is usually some very friendly dogs and interesting people on the veranda. The hotel is very old and has lots of character.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

quaint and very central to everything downtown

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: very charming colonial. Staff was extremely polite and helpful.
Location: most everything is withing walking distance.
you couldn't expect more. nice bar but the restaurant is not part of the hotel - not a good thing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L. Texas

The St. Francis Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Noted above. Also, having spent Sunday and Monday nights at the St. Francis, we found the hotel restaurant closed both those nights. Disappointed.
Location: Located in the center of town. Within walking distance to all shopping and restaurants.
We love visiting Santa Fe and also, we very much enjoy staying at the St. Francis Hotel. With its convenient location, a two or three night stay is always pleasant. However, this trip I noticed that other than the small mirror over the sink in the bathroom, there is no other mirror anywhere around. I would like to have seen a larger or full length mirror somewhere in the room. Also noted was the lack of light in the bathroom. Other than that, our stay was pleasant and certainly served our purpose.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location, very small and awkward rooms.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Location, bar, lobby, front desk staff, porch, convenient parking, comfortable bed/sheets/pillows.
Cons: Make the small rooms more comfortable, Hire an industrial designer who will add features like shelves, hooks, better set-up for tv and hanging clothes
Location: Just a small block away from the plaza. Great restaurants, free entertainment, art shops, clothing shops, cafes, chocolate shop, museums, etc etc!!
Location of this hotel allowed us to fully enjoy and experience the plaza area of Santa Fe. We could wake up in the morning and easily walk to a cafe, then walk back to hotel to freshen up and walk to a museum..Short walk back to hotel to rest and back to museum, then back to hotel to change and back to plaza to watch free concert and find a nice place for dinner. In the evening, we always looked forward to getting a wonderful margarita from the hotel bar and sitting on the large porch. Parking, for ($18/day) is right next door. The bed, sheet, and pillows are extremely comfortable and high-end. However, the rooms are very small; we had a standard king room. I was prepared for small rooms because I had read the reviews; but these rooms are not just small - they are very awkward. No effort was made by the hotel to create a comfortable room for their guests (other than the wonderful bed). No place to store items in bathroom. To do my hair, I had to close the toilet and place the hairdryer and flat iron on the lid of the toilet. No place to put toothbrush or cosmetics, so had to leave them in suitcase and get out as needed. Small tv is housed in large, cumbersome armoire that has to be fully opened to see the TV or use the drawers. Bedsheet was torn so our first night there was uncomf as it kept tearing more all night. To compensate us for that, the hotel gave us a small rebate on our parking bill. It was a very mixed experience- great positives but serious negatives as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa fe

Great licatiin

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Great room could use better light by vanity so wife could put makeup on. Need cups to rinse mouth out when brushing teeth.