Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

budget friendly

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Mattress very hard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Don't bother

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The hotel is functional. Clean but basic. It's in the middle of nowhere, the places is old and ted yet has so much potential. Nothing is nearby expect for one restaurant that bits pizza from the cash and carry and reheats them. The shower is hand- held- not even attached to the wall. The beds are essentially just springs with a cover on top. The breakfast is pretty much stale bread, cold eggs, tinned peaches and burnt coffee. Wouldn't NEVER RECOMMEND this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Calgary

Nice hotel with big pool

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Goog location, away from crowdy Fira, archeological site and Red beach very close, very helpful staff, good breakfast, great sunset view, bus stop next to hotel, rooms in traditional style- I love it!
5 out of 5
by Susan from B.C. Canada

Santorini sunset at it's finest

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Family run hotel was perfect for us. Pool was wonderful, breakfast was really good, all staff was friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable and spacious, thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
5 out of 5
by Monika from Vancouver Canada

We love the Caldera View Resort

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 10 days we loved the Caldera View Resort awesome family run property the pool and pool deck is gorgeous such a great pool for swimming laps the rooms are basic comfortable and clean there are many choices in types of rooms the hotel has a restaurant across the street with good food cocktails and seriously the best view of the Caldera Sunset. The hotel is not in the Center of a busy town therefore it's quiet which we loved There is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel. But renting a car gives you a lot more flexibility. We loved the town of Akrotiri it's a 10 min drive there are water taxis to black beach (my fav) The Caldera View Resort is an excellent value for the 3.5 star rating of the hotel . I would absolutely stay there again and can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel outside of town

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Caldera View for a family wedding in Megalachori. We got our 2 rooms next to each other and both had a nice sitting area out front facing the pool which is lovely, refreshing, and very clean. Our upstairs room was more attractive than the 1st floor but both were adequate size, good cross breeze, and decent bed. Bathrooms are awkward but doable. Breakfast was wonderful and the ladies who set it up are delightful! Panos and his father at the front desk and owners were extremely helpful in giving directions, arranging 4 wheelers, calling taxis, etc. The restaurant across the street is part of the complex and has a gorgeous caldera view. Great for drinks and apps or dessert. Never had dinner over there but it is served and with a discount for hotel guests. *Don't walk into town. Really scary walking on road without a shoulder or sidewalk. Catch the bus, get a taxi, or rent 4 wheelers (the island is buzzing with hundreds of them). Pay for the bus when you get on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
I have just got back from 10 nights at this hotel,the room we were given was nice and the views from our balcony were spectacular, the staff were really nice and very helpful..it hasn't got much close by but there is a bus stop right outside..they have a cafe over the road which is lovely and the views of the sunset from there is gorgeous.. We hired a car to see every part of this beautiful island and at the end of every day had a swim in the Fab pool...I would definitely stay at the Caldera View Resort again..We loved it...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel with excellent views

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Location, views, away from the crowds, and lovely clean pool. The friendliness of the staff made it unforgettable.
Cons: The bar beside the pool was shut during our visit; it would be good if that was open to serve refreshments during the day.
Location: Located away from large crowds which we liked. Great views, and buses were easy for Thira and Akrotiri. Some shops in walking distance.
Very friendly staff, relaxing and clean pool, handy for the restaurant across the road with brilliant views of the caldera. Out of town, but buses worked well, and easy to get to other places on the island. Good that the hotel was away from the main throngs of holiday makers. A car was also useful and allowed for visits to Akrotiri and Perisa beach. We would go back there without hesitation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice pool and friendly staff

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The staff were lovely and the pool was great.
Cons: I would say that the breakfast could have been better but it was free so I can't complain!
Location: The restaurant opposite had great views of the island and lovely food. Quad bike hire near by
The staff were lovely and the pool was great. THe rooms were nice and big as well. The restaurant opposite had great views of the island and lovely food. I would say that the breakfast could have been better but it was free so I can't complain!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge disappointment.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Pros: Bus stop in front of the hotel. Quiet place away from the crowds. Big swimming pool. Sunset view from the underused roof.
Cons: Uncomfortable working hours. The hotel has not been renewed in many years Poor cleaning Not friendly staff Disastrous bathroom Simple bkfs
Location: Not at a walkable distance from anywhere. It is necessary to rent a car or bike, or spend all day in buses and miss out most of Santorini.
Don't get carried away by the photos. It is a family ran business that has not intention to improve, which they should. We arrived early in the morning at 6:30 am and there was nobody on the reception for a possible early check in, we had to wait an hour and a half, until 8 am for someone to arrive; but couldn't check in until 12. In my check in review I stated that I did not like the hotel and the room was not good. They read the review immediately and that seemed to be very upsetting for the owner and his son, causing them to be rude with me and very out of place. The breakfast is extremely simple. About the room facilities, extremely unconfortable beds; the shower in the bathroom has no drain, no glass (or similar) doors nor a water retention border. On the contrary it had a little elevation from the rest of the bathroom floor that caused a flood every time someone took a shower; making it impossible to use the bathroom afterwards. I immediately complained to the owner, and his vague response was that you don't spend all the time in the bathroom, and that in 20 years no one has complained (which I doubt). He offered to provide me with more towels as a solution, which I did received but were taken away the same day. Furthermore, the cleaning lady took from our room our bottle of special shampoo, that although there was little left, she had no right to take it. They did pay for a new one, which cost them more than it was worth, but it was the fact of taking our belongings.