Ratings based on 2,372 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Large rooms, charming decor, good service (helpful and friendly)
Cons: Not much
Location: About 3 blocks from Space Needle and wonderful park. Close to theaters, opera, restaurants.
We found this hotel to be very charming. Built in the early 1900's and still had much if the look/ feel of that time period with modern conveniences. Rooms were large "mini apartments" with separate sitting area and kitchenette. Service was very good all around. There's a lounge on site that wasn't serving food during our visit but the drinks, decor and music was good. Good location a few blocks from the Space Needle, nice restaurants nearby. I would book here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Location: 15 to 20 minutes walking to local attractions and restaurants
The hotel is very elegant and the staff is outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lombard IL

Almost 100 Years old building with historic charm

Posted May 23, 2017
Like it very much and enjoy stay in a big room with historic charm. Much more than what I expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
First time in Seattle this hotel was OK I don't think I will use it if I ever come back.. everything is really old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice Older Hotel, convenient location.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and fairly attentive. The room was spacious. Close proximity to things most will want to see as well as groceries to save some $.
Cons: Bathroom needed upgrading/cleaning. WiFi was terrible. Phone reception in room was non-existent. Had to walk to lobby or outside to get a signal.
Location: Close walk to Space Needle and surrounding museums. Very easy access to CVS and groceries. Uber is $8 or less to the waterfront and Pike marketplace.
Overall our experience was good. This isn't a modern hotel. It's a charming old building and you can save quite a bit of $ if you shop for deals. It has a beautiful staircase but unfortunately you must climb them if you're on the upper floors. If stairs are hard for you then the 1st floor is a must. We stayed on the east side of the 1st floor. There is no view because you're up against an outside wall...but it might be quieter on that side because you're not by the sidewalk. Our room was big with 2 king beds, kitchenette and even a separate sitting area with couch and chair. Unfortunately there are no doors closing off these areas so while I could have gotten some work done while my family slept it was impossible because the lights would wake everyone up. Even a sliding curtain type door would help. The wood floors do creak, they're 100 years old, and can wake others up if you get up at night for anything. If we stayed here again I would buy a cheap fan to help cancel out other noises. Wi-Fi and phone signals were pretty bad. It's only a quick mile or less walk to the Space Needle and museums, we would suggest buying the City Pass to save $, and very close to groceries and restaurants. It's hard finding any "familiar" restaurants but if you're adventurous you'll be rewarded. Uber is very cheap to the Pike and waterfront. The neighborhood is old but seems safe. There are a few homeless folks on the sidewalks but they seem harmless. Free breakfast pastries could be fresher.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Just a tired old building trying to look elegant.

Posted May 20, 2017
Ratty towels; bathtub water spout dripping heavily 24/7 down a rusty drain; the walk-in closet with bathrobes was actually a utility room with HVAC equipment; dirty windows that didn't open; continental breakfast that consisted mostly of donuts, stale croissants, ginormous muffins, and unripe melon; a front-desk staff that really didn't know much at all about Seattle; no elevator in the building. These are things i will remember most about the Marqueen, rather than the positives: extremely large room with comfortable beds, full (albeit dated) kitchen, valet parking. Stayed four nights. Used as base for exploring Seattle and surrounding area. Although walkable to City Center and Space Needle, there wasn't much else in the Queen Anne neighborhood worth doing. We will stay elsewhere. Sad, because the building, once a nice elegant apartment building, has so much potential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend in seattle

Posted May 18, 2017
It was a great stay in a beautiful vintage hotel from the glory days of Seattle. It was close to all the attractions that we wanted to visit and the hotel staff was extremely helpful when we needed it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wanted to stay in Seattle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated, decrepit, disappointing.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The lounge area was cool, but I asked the AM attendant for an OJ when I was seated, and she forgot about it.
Cons: Rehab of the bathroom or at least replacing the tub would be a start. Deep cleaning what is there is a must.
Location: Good access to City Center/Space Needle. Try Taylor's Shellfish Farms for Oysters!
The pic of the lobby oversells the hotel. If you're used to staying at modern Courtyard/Hampton style hotels you will be disappointed. The décor was ~30 years old, paint peeling, floors creaking, tub stained, toilet seat stained. To make matters worse, the room wasn't clean. There were three hairs in obvious places, debris on the floor. Housekeeping goes home @ 5PM, so all they offered was to have the bellman come up and take note of it (not do anything to clean it). Same staff was nonchalant at check-in about greeting me and didn't acknowledge me as I passed through. Unless you're a historical hotel buff, stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The ambience.
A most pleasant stay. The Marqueen Hotel is in close proximity to many nearby venues, including McCaw Hall, the Key Arena. the Pacific Science Center, and the Space Needle. It is within easy walking distance to downtown Seattle and the Pike Place Market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Aging grand dame

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: MarQueen had a suite with bedroom and sofa bed at a better price than we found elsewhere. It had a kitchen with fridge and MW.
Cons: Breakfast service. No orange juice, no black tea (just herbal concoctions like licorice mint...ugh!)
Location: Lots of places to eat & a couple of markets. About 15 min. walk to Seattle Center to catch Monorail to put you near Pike Place Market, etc.
MarQueen has seen grander days, but is still a charming place in a quiet location. That big staircase in the pics is the only way up. Hotel "concierge" very helpful. We purchased city pass for cheaper entry into 4 attractions...Space Needle, Chihully Garden, Aquarium, Harbor Tour. The Underground Tour at Pioneer Park is not to be missed! Catch the Lite Rail when you get off Monorail.