Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted May 26, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in planning our Iceland adventure. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed for a great price! View is gorgeous, nice walk to downtown Reykjavik.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Be careful! This is not a hotel but an Airbnb room

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The owner is nice and room is clean
Cons: It should not be on Expedia. It's an Airbnb house.
This place is not a hotel. I didn't stay there because the room was too small and the heater was not working. I booked another hotel immediately and left. This place is the owner's house with two floors converted into a "hotel". The owner was a nice person and the room was clean. We are sharing the kitchen with others. Due to the house structure, we are seeing other people at all time. It's definitely not as good as other guest houses. This place is perfectly fine If it's listed on Airbnb. I am not expecting this from Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Zeno - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, you are right we are not a Hotel we are a B&B. On our listing you can see it is well described and our heating does work. If you left right away why were you sharing the kitchen and kept seeing other guests? We are sorry your stay was not satisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold cabin

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The green room was decent, the main shared portion of the cabin felt very cozy and well furnished. The bedrooms are very cold, however, and it wasn't just us. The guest book had a few other comments about heater, and our cabinmate also mentioned their room was cold. There was a small radiator inside each room that came on very slowly, and was very week. Trying to get a hold of the property owner after 7pm to see if there were any other portable heating units we can move in was impossible (another guest at another cabin also spent the whole night looking for him, without any luck).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean!

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for the space. It is a little ways from downtown Reykjavik, but fine for us as we had a rental car. The room was very clean and comfortable. Zeno was very helpful, and easy to get ahold of when we had questions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Shared a small house with one other couple, but not a problem. We were not home much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire, UK

Great little B&B

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We actually stayed in the Yellow House not the Blue House but we had access to the blue house whenever we liked. Zino is very friendly and helpful. The location is lovely, nice and quite and great views. Bus stops are close by into the centre only a 10 minute journey, but the walk in is even nicer along the coastal path. If you are wanting to be in the centre of Reykjavik then this is not the place for you but if you don't mind a short bus ride to stay somewhere out of the hustle and bustle of a town centre then this is your place. The breakfast provided in the Yellow House was minimal just cereals however as we had access to the Blue House we were able to enjoy the freshly made bread, had the option of a continental breakfast on a help yourself basis. I liked that, there was no rush and it was all available until 11:30. Plenty of time. The rooms are very clean and a homely feel to them. I really enjoy my stay and would definitely recommend Iceland and the Blue House B&B.
2 out of 5
by Jeremy

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Too costly for what it is, the yard was a mess and it is a basic house turned into a b&b and if you'll unlucky you could be stuck in a converted garaged. Owner changed my room a couple of days before showing up and no e-mail or follow up on the change before showing up, which lead to some confusion and owner no where to be found, had to end up calling.
4 out of 5
by Christophe from Los Gatos CA

Friendly owner, Clean & Quiet - Recommended!

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly owner, flexible and eager to share tips about nice places to visit. Clean amenities & Quiet neighborhood. Breakfast provided (Boiled eggs, ham/charcuterie, cheese, breads/jam, cereals, milk, yogurts & Orange juice) Mattress in my bedroom a bit too soft for me. More practical with a car or a bike for frequent visits to city center. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, England

Beautiful Blue House

Posted Jun 6, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the Blue House. The check-in was easy, rooms were all very clean and tidy. The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and fresh every day. The one downside was the mattress in our room - it was very flat and wasn't the most comfortable. But it was ok for 4 nights, and the rest of the room was lovely. The blue house is a good 30-40 minute walk to Reykjavik, which was great for us as we wanted a retreat, and the walk into the centre is absolutely stunning! But if you want a central location (and don't have car hire) then be aware of the distance. All in all we absolutely loved this B&B, and highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by John from USA

Quiet, outside of Reyjavik

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room was small but comfortable. The self-serve continental breakfast was fresh and good, including home-baked bread. It was in a quiet neighborhood, making it a quiet place to relax after a day of touring. We never saw the owner or manager, but the place was always clean and the kitchen stocked. It's a small house. If they had been fully booked, things might have gotten a little crowded.