Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Horrendous pipe noise can be heard at all hours

Posted May 22, 2017
We arrived around 7 pm and upon walking into our room it sounded like some construction work was being undertaken. Didn't think much of it at the time as we had to drop our things off and head out. Returned around 11 pm and found the noise was still occurring, every few minutes. Upon calling reception they were lovely and helpful and tried a number of things to fix the issue so we could get some sleep, however none of it worked. The consistent theme was anytime water was used (flushing toilets, washing hands, etc) the pipes groaned immediately after. Every time. When I called again at 12:30 they offered to put us in another room on the other side of the hotel. At this point it wasn't an option, we just wanted to sleep. We stayed in room 3, and without the pipe noise it was visually lovely. The exception due to us being tall, the bed being a sleigh bed made us feel rather cramped, and the mattress was an old spring version, so not overly comfortable. The floors in the bathroom were warped and there was water damage visible on the ceiling. The adjacent room was number 1, and I'm guessing they heard the pipes noises all night as well, it wasn't easy to ignore (the noises did stop sometime around 1, and started again around 6 am). At this point I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you're in a different part of the hotel to where we stayed. The staff were lovely and the room was nice, but my rating remains the same until the pipe groans cease.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Good value. A lovely location. Very comfy bed. Hotel needs A bit of updating. Great facilities.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Perfect for a monthly retreat....

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
What a wonderful hotel. Chic and tidy with a really friendly and functional spa plus a truly excellent restaurant (great fine-dining chef, cocktails and wines). A bit special this one. right on High Street, yet very quiet and Olde World. Felt the stage-coaches still there! We are looking forward to our next stay - might make this a monthly retreat. Hazelmere is a lovely place to visit - and this is the place to stay. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty hotel room

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very dirty room. Carpets were stained and haven't been hoovered from previous guests. Bathroom had terrible smell and still other guest's hair on the floor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Overall an enjoyable stay, only gripes are the rooms and some parts of hotel are a bit shabby round the edges, and the jacuzzi in the spa was not hot enough, which was the main attraction of our stay! We would stay again, friendly staff and good location.
5 out of 5
by yvonne

Happy Christmas

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
My daughter had her wedding there it was great, the staff were really good,food was fantastic,they let us book in early as we arrived back from our holiday at 9.30 ,staff very friendly, breakfast was really good,
5 out of 5
by Joan B

Central location

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Character period building central location for shops, pubs and coffee shops
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
All good except the spa was full and only had one staff member doing treatments so difficult to get an appointment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent value, pretty small town, ideal base for visiting relatives nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel in great location

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
we arrived tired after a long drive then relaxed with drinks and dinner in the hotel, the next morning after breakfast we walked down the high street and wandered into some lovely shops. will come again to the hotel when I next visit Surrey.