Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful hotel and impeccable service.

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Everything! The location, cleanliness, surrounding gardens, the beach, the staff, the food
Cons: I would add more local fruit juice at breakfast: guanábana, lychees, zapote and tamarindo. My daughter said she would have liked to have a bathrobe.
Location: Away from the busy center of town, yet within walking distance to it all.
My daughter and I could not have asked for a better hotel, staff or beach. The staff was knowledgeable, polite, attentive and friendly, so were the owners, with whom we crossed paths several times, which means they are "minding the business". I am already looking at dates to return next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Raul Esquivel, Hotel Management
Dear; Sr/Sra Receive the most cordial greetings from your friends at Capitan Suizo Hotel and hope this email find you doing well. Thank you very much for stayed with us, we are happy to know that you had a good time in Capitan Suizo Hotel. We try to a good variety of fruits at the buffet. Some tropical fruits we only find them wehen there is the season because they are not ease to find like Tamarindo or Zapote. Thank you very much for your suggestion we will share it with the management to see if we can put some more tropical fruits. We are so happy to know that you are planning to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Raul Esquivel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Summerville, SC

The perfect choice in Tamarindo

Posted Jul 30, 2017
This hotel is amazing. It's small and feels very private and luxurious. Perfect for a couple, family or group of friends. The rooms are steps away from the pool and ocean. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Great swimming and surf right in front of the hotel. Easy walk to town!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Raul Esquivel, Hotel Management
Dear Torie. Receive the most cordial greetings from your friends at Capitan Suizo Hotel and hope this email find you doing well. Thank you very much for stayed with us, we are happy to know that you had a good time in Capitan Suizo Hotel. We are small hotel of 35 rooms with 85 employees making the best to give to our clients the best experience, we hope to see you again enjoying and relaxing in Capitan Suizo. Located in a privileged area outside of town, at the end of the bay and directly on the Beach of Tamarindo. We hope you will have the time to visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Perfect

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet and relaxing. Restaurant staff is fa nominal .
Cons: More Beach Chairs in the shade.
Location: Everything is within walking Distance. Food, shopping, Whatever you need
Stayed for 7 full days. Couldn't ask for a more relaxing atmosphere. Everything about it is great. Staff, Food, Location, Beaches, Pool. I will be stay here again, Definitely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Raul Esquivel, Hotel Management
Dear; Joe Receive the most cordial greetings from your friends at Capitan Suizo Hotel and hope this email find you doing well. Thank you very much for stayed with us, we are happy to know that you spend a very good time in Capitan Suizo. Once again thank you very much and we hope to see sometime again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R.

A wonderful surprise!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
My original research had lead me to a different hotel, but this one kept poppping up. After my stay there, I see why. Quaint 35 room hotel sandwiched in a beautiful landscape of trees and plants. At first I was disappointed that there were no bungalows available, but was more than happy with my Superior room. This is an eco friendly hotel. No pesticides, herbicides, etc. Are used. A few guests have complained about sing ants here ir there, or a few of little flies that can appear in the a.m. in the open air restraunt. Big deal I say to that. Everything is well done, as you would expect in a Swiss owned hotel. The food was wonderful, the people that work there could not have been more accomadating, I will return. This is not the Four Seasons, but thank goodness it's not!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Raul Esquivel, Hotel Management
Dear Barry, Receive the most cordial greetings from your friends at Capitan Suizo Hotel and hope this email find you doing well. Thank you very much for stayed with us, we are happy to know that you had a good time in Capitan Suizo Hotel. We are small hotel of 35 rooms with 85 employees making the best to give to our clients the best experience, we hope to see you again enjoying and relaxing in Capitan Suizo. As you said we do not any pesticides, herbicides, etc. Capitán Suizo is an environmentally concious Four Star Beachfront Boutique Hotel (officially rated by the Costa Rican Tourism Board) that features 35 units set beneath native trees and nestled between rich, organic maintained gardens which home and attract a wide variety of wildlife. In each and every corner of Capitán Suizo one can observe the magnificent beauty of Costa Rica’s nature. Birds, howler monkeys, squirrels,gray and green iguanas, geckos, armadillos, skunks, collared anteaters and raccoons are some of the animals that can be seen almost daily throughout the hotel’s gardens. Those little flies that you saw in the a.m they are not flies. They are actually bees that feel attracted for all the tropical fruit that we put in our buffet in the mornings. We are so happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us and we hope it will not be last and see you sometime again Best Regards, Raul Esquivel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice location

Posted May 9, 2017
Guess I am not cut out for the eco lodge experience. Way too many ants and large iguanas for me to relax. Add a fair amount of flies and mosquitos and a handful of cats that no one seemed to mind workers petting without washing afterwards and it spelled disaster for me. Literally ants all over food and any foot left too long in one spot. Wired thing is that no one else seemed to care. Ps I'm sure I have brought a few back to Colorado with me. Yikes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrieta, California

It's a Jungle in here

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Great, lush gardens...friendly accomodating staff...But rooms have lots of pest problems. LARGE ants and lots of them in our room. Hotel staff was outstanding...moved us to a nicer room, but raccoons managed to nest between roof and ceiling and we had urine pour through the ceiling on third day in new room. Odor was pungent and strong. Again, the staff did their upmost to take care of the issue, but bottom line, when you pay a premium you should have a clean pest free haven, even so close to the beach and rainforest. Give the staff 5 stars, but rooms get only 2-3 because of the issues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely boutique hotel.....

Posted Apr 30, 2017
What a wonderful experience we had! Beautiful grounds, excellent food and the staff is exceptional. Shout out to Max, Randall and Angel for making oir stay even more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, PA

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The food was excellent.
Cons: The room needs to be updated but it was still very comfortable and the bed was very nice.
Hotel sits on a beautiful part of the beach. Good for surfing. Staff so nice and helpful. The food was extremely good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Beautiful location too many bugs

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The views, nature and staff
Cons: Given the amount of roaches I saw on my patio and in our room, I would say cleanliness
Location: Surfing, bars, good food, nice people.
The good: The staff and facilities at the hotel are amazing... beautiful views, good restaurant and the downtown area is a short 10min walk on the beach. I booked this for my BF's bday and we got a garden view room with the ocean view. It was really nice. There were monkeys all around, we even saw two little babies! Had a close call with a raccoon twice, nature all around :) Not so good: the first night I was there I had huge cockroach crawl on me while I was outside on the patio, same night a skunk ran under my chair. The skunk visited the 2nd night as well. 2 days into our trip I noticed I was getting bitten while sleeping. Woke up twice while napping and could feel something biting me. There were tiny little bugs in the bed, maybe ants or sand fleas, NBD. I called the front desk and they said they'd send a maintenance person, great. We woke up the next day and there were at least 4 really huge roaches dead on the room floor and 2 grasshoppers. I guess they sprayed or something and everything that was in there came out? Same issue the next day. I informed the employee at the front desk during checkout (in Spanish so I could make sure he understood) he said nothing. The staff had also said they would arrange for a cake to be made for the special bday celebration. I never saw a cake or an email as to why it didn't happen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Here's everything I wish I'd known before I went!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The staff Is incredible- They are exceedingly friendly! Shout out to Marisella,Naty,Max,Angel,Marta,& Gustavo! Tip your staff!They work 6 days a week!
Cons: They could use some more lighting around the property at night since the magnificent guanacaste trees have caused some sidewalks to become uneven.
Location: Easy walk into town. Lots of excursions available from the concierge, Rosa. We just sat on the beach and at the pool, and relaxed the whole time.
This hotel is on the beach, has amazing grounds, and a chef who worked with my crazy dietary restrictions. There were two other guests who also had food intolerances/allergies, and both were easily accommodated.The breakfast buffet had many fabulous choices. The staff encourages you to order anything else you don't see ...Bacon, fried eggs, omelettes. We drank the 'house water' (from the filtered tap at the bar) the entire time and didn't get sick. (We're from Texas) They also provide a 1.75 liter bottle of water in your room every day. Keep your snacks in the room fridge to keep the bugs at bay. There are fewer than you'd expect, being near the beach and a nature preserve. During the dry season,there are far fewer mosquitoes... We didn't wear bug spray and had only a few bites. As two women traveling together, we always felt very safe at the hotel. There are always three guards on duty, and there is a plexiglass wall around the property. They close the gate to the beach at 10pm... ring the bell to have the guard let you in. Bungalows 6 and 7 have partial ocean views. 6 is closest to the restaurant. Bring bar soap if you don't like shower gel. The bed is firm and comfy. FYI, There is no top sheet... It's incorporated into the light duvet cover. Bring ear phones if you're a light sleeper... The parrots and monkeys rise early, plus a couple of nights loud music wafted in from town.There's no TV... You come here to unplug! Rooms have 110 volts (AND one 220 Volt outlet)