Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canning, Nova Scotia

Good basic hotel near Ek Balam ruins.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: It is in a very small village (< 300 people). You rub shoulders with the village people. They are nice and friendly.
Cons: Could use some water in the fountain, which sort of acts as a pool.
Location: The ruins and several cenotes.
We stayed here one night several weeks back. The name on the hotel / restaurant was not Doulcement, which throws a person off. The hotel is not busy. Matter of fact, we were the only guests there on the night that we stayed there. The owners were not in the country, so the girl from the place across the road dropped over to check me in. She did not have us in the booking sheet she works from. I had a copy of the booking number through Expedia, so she copied the number down and checked me in. She asked when we wanted to eat dinner that night and opened the restaurant for us. The meal was good. We sat around after our meal and had a nice talk with her brother in law. He spoke really good English as he is a guide at the ruins. In the morning, she made me some toast and coffee, which is complimentary with the price of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value considering the location

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The best things about this hotel are its location, around a mile from the Ek Balam archeological site, a clean, comfortable bed, and working bathroom.
Cons: Put armoires or hooks in the rooms to hang clothes. Fix the fountain and maintain the grounds a bit more.
Location: The Ek Balam ruins and cenote are the main attraction, but there are quite a few other cenotes in the area that are also worth visiting.
This Italian-owned facility is evidently fairly new and in good condition but basic. We had a large bedroom with a king-size bed (quite firm but not lumpy), nice tile floors, a working bathroom in good condition, and an overhead fan. The room has an air conditioner but we didn't try it (or, actually, find a controller for it) because it was unseasonably cool (in the 70's) during our visit. Everything was very clean. Because of the remote location, there is no Internet or cell phone service, no TV, etc. -- not necessarily a bad thing. The hotel has potential for improvement, such as putting the fountain in working order, making sure the air conditioning is available when needed, and perhaps providing armoires or hooks to hang clothes in the rooms. As when we visited another, larger property owned by the same people (Las Aguilas, in Xul), we were the only guests. This is a much smaller, less developed site. We understand some of the owners visit on weekends, but not when we were there. The staff, both adults and children, were friendly, charming, and helpful, but they speak Spanish as a second language and no Italian or English. Of the Italian dishes listed on the menu, we tried only a few. Some are pale imitations of the real thing (insalata caprese), others (cannelone) evidently made in advance, presumably at Las Aguilas, and brought in frozen. Breakfasts are good, but don't count on gourmet fare. Prices in the restaurant are high for the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Ek Balam site

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Quiet, large room
Cons: Bathroom needs to be refurbished and hot water almost never came
Good price hotel close to the ruins of Ek Balam. Very rustic though, in the countryside, you need to ask for finding for it, but charming personnel. Breakfast was supposed to be included but we had to pay for it in the end. Very cheap though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfort, Michigan, USA

Lovely hotel - just needs better beds and showers

Posted Nov 22, 2014
The hotel is quite nice, particularly for the very low price that I paid for it. I was quite happy with most things. The only issues that I experienced were: (1) all of the beds were very hard (others in our group also complained) and (2) the hot water supply for the shower as well as the water pressure in general was rather spotty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great place to stay right next to Ek Balam ruins!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This hotel is a little off the beaten path (in a good way) and the owner and her children were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, with a little courtyard filled with a fountain and jungle plants, along with the occasional wandering duck with ducklings. Be sure to eat at the delicious restaurant as well. The quesadillas I had for breakfast there were the best I had on my trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lorraine from San Francisco

A Hidden Treasure

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Friendly and personable Husband and Wife owners.
Cons: The cost of taxis to get to the local attractions.
Location: A genuine Mayan village.
At first I was shocked to find myself in the middle of "nowhere," but then I got used to the remoteness, aided by the fact that the owners are so kind and helpful. In fact, I extended my original two-night stay to four nights. The wife, Francesca, is from Rome so you can depend on her home-made pasta for a delicious dinner. The only reason I downgraded my overall rating is that you need to take into account the remoteness of the hotel (in an authentic Mayan village) and budget for taxis, which can add up to a hefty tariff each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wanda from SW France

Basic but well cared for hotel next to EkBalam

Posted Feb 8, 2012
Pros: Peace and quiet. Lovely breakfast with home made bread and local honey.
Cons: No hanging space in room
Location: 10 minutes drive from Ek Balam site
Beds and linen very comfortable. No hanging space for clothes. Shower difficult to control temperature. Italian restaurant where we ate good pasta with fresh tomato sauce. House wine just OK. Home made bread. Breakfast with fresh orange juice from their own trees and local honey (if requested) Good Italian coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids Iowa

The only bulding with walls in town (Realy)

Posted Apr 4, 2010
We had a hard time finding the hotel, it’s in a very small Mexican town. All the houses are stick and plum tree branches roof. The hotel is very nice but doesn’t have AC in the rooms. The stone back wall did keep the room from being to hot but at 90 outside it’s not too comfortable for us that are use to 50 for high temps. The rooms were clean and showers were hot with good water presser. The person running the hotel didn’t speak English and the restaurant menu was ALL in Spanish with no pictures. The restaurant looked great and the food was good. There were 3 single ladies staying there at the time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Maybe not the best, but OK

Posted Dec 29, 2009
The Nina Hotel in Playa del Carmen is an inexpensive (though not least expensive) place to stay near the busy beach zone. Parking, an OK pool and beach towels are provided at the associated Toucan Hotel about 6 blocks away. 2 adjacent restaurants had OK Mexican food, and others were within 5 to 10 minutes walk. Air conditioning (noisy), hotel towels and plumbing might be considered lower quality. Wireless internet and TV were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baja California

Tranquilísimo

Posted Feb 1, 2017
En una población pequeña y muy apartada. Muchísimo espacio. Parece abandonado por la poca cantidad de gente, pero está bien atendido.