Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy with a nice view

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Set up, great room. Kitchen in suite had everything you need, from pizza tray, utensils to a mini set of complimentary coffee, soaps, detergents, etc.
Cons: It's clean & Tucson style. At some point bathrooms will need to get updated, though, as is, the suite set up is like living at home, (a great thing).
Easy access a few minutes from the freeway; in the foothills, with a larger resort nearby, a golf course & surrounding residential in the hills. Great suite, a kitchen and living space with a separate bedroom, king size, a large bathroom with a tub & shower, and laundry in suite. A wood burning fireplace, a nice pool & a solid gym with ample equipment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Lovely Desert Stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The resort is located in a beautiful area. The grounds are lovely. The service and cleanliness of the rooms were excellent. The resort is in need of some room updates, but that is only cosmetic. The restaunt and bar were enjoyable. I would definitely come back to explore more of Tucson and stay here. If you want a posh experience then try the Marriott at Starr Pass up the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Would not recommend this Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Not much. We enjoyed going up to the big Hotel the next morning.
Cons: See above comments.
The hotel looked clean. It, however, smelled like mold. The bathroom is ready for a remodel and the shower curtain smelt like mold. The parking and driveway need more lighting. It feels very uncomfortable walking with minimal lighting from the parking lot to hotel room. We tried to eat at your restaurant and everyone except our server was rude and made us feel uncomfortable. The wifi would not come in properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Shell Starr Pass Golf Resort

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: I would like some outdoor patios near the rooms
Location: Golf and hiking
The hotel was a perfect choice for Thanksgiving since my daughter and son-in-law live a mile away. The property is a little dated. The rooms could use some updating. The bathroom is old. The toilet is tiny and the television is also outdated. There is a combination VCR/DVD player. The staff was friendly. There is not daily maid service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Rooms are in need of refurbishing. Outdated and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

there were issues.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The location is off the beaten path just enough for quiet nights and close to enough to get into town quickly.
We had hot water about 60% of the time. The TV only worked if you stood within 5 feet of it to use remote. Our key cards stopped working a few times. Beds were very comfortable, Salt water pool was great. Not sure we will stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Disappointing Room

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Spectacular views, amenities, staff
Cons: Only a few TV channels worked on this small TV. No insulation between rooms. Dated bathroom. Black letters that disappeared at night.
Location: This is Tucson! Artistic and lovely.
The surroundings at this suite are beautiful. The staff is well trained and friendly.The waitstaff incredible. But then, you try to find the room. Stylish, I guess, to not have lighting, and paint the room letters in black, so that they disappear at night. Almost in a panic, you finally realize that this must be your room because either side is occupied. So, your room key fits, but now another disappointment. The room just stepped out of the 70's. The bathroom from the 60's. The television so small. The lighting malfunctions. We could hear the three kids next door bouncing off the wall until we finally had to call the desk; no insulation between rooms. They said that they will start renovations soon, but that didn't help us now. We were looking for a relaxed vacation, but this wasn't it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice Location, Dated Room

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The resort is in a lovely area of Tucson in the foothills of the mountains and the staff were very welcoming. However, the room was extremely dated and dark. There were insects both dead and alive in the bathroom and the air conditioning unit was very noisy. When we arrived, the toilet was not working. The hotel staff was prompt and fixed the problem to our satisfaction. My advice is to update the bathroom and furnishings to compliment the lovely location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ventura ca

Beautiful Setting

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Very comfortable, spacious casita. Gorgeous desert views. Courteous helpful staff. I loved staying here. Our stay was very short, but I would definitely come back for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great a choice. Would stay again!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Overall, it was a great room for the price. Check in was a little questionable as they had my reservation but couldn't seem to decide on my room. After 10 minutes they gave me what my reservation had requested. I'm not sure what the actual problem was. There was an attendant working the desk but she normally didn't work the desk so couldn't answer my questions. The normal reps were in a meeting she told me. The remotes for the tvs in the rooms need new batteries.