Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
The front girl not welcoming or friendly. She looked like tired and was unfriedly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, England

Basic, budget hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Location: Nothing to do nearby - 15 minutes away from the city centre by bus
The Arion CityHotel is 15 minutes bus ride from the State Opera (city centre). To walk there would be a nightmare so do not advise. Aircon does not work. We had a small kitchen in our bedroom (random to say the least) - the fridge did not work so we asked if it could be looked at - nothing done during our stay so nowhere to put drinks to chill. The bedroom itself was basic. TV channels were all in German - option for a BBC channel but was not available to us. Staff need a bit of an attitude adjustment. Seem not interested in you as a person - it's just a job to them. Breakfast - advise on eating out as nothing chilled. Dinner - again, advise on eating out. Limited menu and we heard a lot of microwaves dinging - the food was not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for short city break

Posted Apr 8, 2017
This hotel is about 15 minutes by bus away from the centre of Vienna. The accommodation is clean and spacious for comfort. The local area is quite quiet and has a supermarket and petrol station near by. Good price for a good quality hotel.
5 out of 5
by Lucian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lousy place

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
This place was not good. In the room next to mine there were fours kids who were yelling and screaming and jumping up and down at night at bedtime. There were no adults present to supervise them. I tried to get the hotel to do something about this several times and spoke to the kids myself. This was very annoying and difficult for me. Especially after a long trip. The main purpose of a hotel is to provide quiet so that you can sleep. Finally after all this effort they managed to quiet the kids for the rest of the night . This room had the separate small beds that one can find in Europe. They were pushed together to make one larger bed with a crack in the middle. This was like two twin beds. This was uncomfortable. The beds were not soft. I would have normally gone to sleep much sooner if it had not been for this as the next day I had to take the long trip back to America. By the way this place does not have a free breakfast as most places . It charges 12 Euros for this. They had a bar and a very limited type bar menu. When I asked about alternatives they referred me to a restaurant about 4 blocks away. When I got there they told me they were filled with wedding and Christmas parties and nothing was available. And I went back to the hotel, this was on a very cold night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone after this experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
worth paying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn CA

Modern hotel in suburbs

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Free parking and a bus to the centre of Vienna. Good buffet breakfast. Used by tour groups.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Not bad for a few days but not a 4 star

Posted Jul 6, 2016
We ended up having to get taxis to and from the hotel for 3 days because the surrounding transport was pretty terrible, and we expected the room to have a kettle and cups and tea/coffee but it didn't I had to go and ask for a kettle and they didn't give us cups - and there was no minifridge. These are the kind of basics I expect from a 4 star hotel. Over all it was not as good as I expected it to be.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
the front desk are all helpful. if you can avoid not to use the laundry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning, turned off by horrible staff

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel turns off the air conditioning at night when it's incredibly hot outside and refuses to turn it back on. Couldn't sleep. I can't think of a worse experience. Nothing can make up for that. I'd give it zero or negative stars if I could. Horrible place. Wouldn't do anything about this despite the fact that they were made aware multiple times and acknowledged the problem. During the day the a.c. works ok usually which makes the hotel staff that much worse. Avoid at all costs. Also you'll have to pay extra taxes.