Ratings based on 1,915 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The room was lovely and very comfortable
Location: Great restaurants and shopping within a short walk
There are many wonderful places in walking distance of the hotel. Staff is friendly, helpful, and the food was delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stark depressing room in a concrete wasteland

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The staff are nice but the room is bleak. The coffee machine was invisible, lights glaring, and the food in downstairs restaurant pretty awful. Depressing place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location but needs work on dealing wi

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby, good beds, great location.
Cons: They a professional to look at their handicapped rooms. I am sure their intentions are good but execution is lacking.
Location: Right on top of Bethesda Metro station so quick access to DC and everything it offers.
When I arrived, none of the parking staff would direct me to handicapped parking. When i inquired at the front desk, they said ask the parking people. I was put in a room with two beds, not a room with the single king bed I was assured would be waiting for me. The room was clean but smelled strongly of disinfectant. Their attempt at configuring a closet to meet the needs of handicapped folks was actually pretty funny. It resulted in a closet with no way to hang anything. The rod near the floor had less than 15” clearance between it and the fixed shelf below it, so I couldn’t hang anything. On the other hand, the handicapped bath was well done. In a room for the physically handicapped, it stands to reason that the desk chair will be adjustable and have wheels. The chair here was a side chair, no wheels and not height-adjustable. My requested replacement arrived later but the very nice and sincere gentleman who brought it had no clue how it worked. I figured it out so problem solved. I am a big fan of in-room coffee service and their Starbucks offering filled the bill. They also provide a small fridge. I was disappointed that the hotel had no shop for snacks and personal items. I was told there was a supermarket a couple of blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The tub was a little dirty and I was charged for water that I did not drink. Thankfully they reversed the charge when I called.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the cleanliness issues with your tub. We take great pride in our cleanliness and this will certainly be addressed. Thank you for visiting us and sharing this feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Ok hotel needs some work

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Room was nice but there was a nasty tray sitting outside the room from the previous occupants. Called 2x to get it removed also requested 2 plates and waited 2 hours and 3 phone calls before I got them unacceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for your review and for informing us of the tray issue. This is not acceptable and we will immediately follow up with Room Service and Housekeeping. This is not standard and we will work quickly to fix. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel great renovation.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Staff was super helpful very happy with the stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Wash DC

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: location and general comfort
Cons: thorough check at every guest departure.
despite renovation: no coffee maker in room; shower drain did not finction--two requwsrs to repair; clock in room required new batteries since clock did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize that your room did not have a coffee maker. All of our rooms are supposed to be equipped with a coffee set up in the hideaway drawers in the credenza. It is a unique design and I apologize if it was missed. Thank you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Franconia, NH

Gouge by Hyatt and Expedia

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: location front desk accommodating on early check in decent internet
Cons: Customer service regarding billing. Housekeeping staff needs to be beefed up
Booked hotel for the Women's March 2 months in advance. 3 nights stay min. with advance payment required at prices twice the normal price ($400+/night)--aaah, capitalism. Tried to change the reservation a couple weeks before the event (was going to add a day) and saw that room prices were going for about $300/night (with no min stay). Impossible to change or cancel my reservation without forfeiting $1,200 already paid. Spent hours on line and on the phone with Hyatt and Expedia with no satisfaction. Steamed. Arrived to find the hotel under construction and the elevators working very poorly (5 to 10 minute wait). Room was nice, but nothing special. Housekeeping only showed up around 3:30 in the afternoon. This hotel had one thing going for it, which was location over a Metro station. It was a great weekend in DC, but I would not stay at or recommend Hyatt ever again and am reluctant to use Expedia after this experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Our management team has reviewed and appreciate your candor. Thank you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff did not follow up on issues

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location would have been great.
Cons: Staff training. Never argue it was fixed when it wasn't. Don't walk away and talk to others when in the middel of a conversation with me.
Minimum blankets, when additional blankets arrived, they had frayed binding. Light on Bath Mirror (which is the primary light in the bathroom) went out during first shower. Called front desk and requested it be addressed while we were out the next day. Realized next morning that the whole GFI circuit was out and could reset so couldn't use drier in bathroom. Returned to a dark bathroom and towel on the floor in the room (I dropped it, but sheesh it should have been picked up by housekeeping). Call front desk and was told the 'circuit got reset'. Ummm, no, it didn't. Engineering arrived (and got turned away for 5 mintues because bathroom was in use and then turned into 25 minutes wait). Engineering reset the circuit but discovered it was the ballast which was out ... and of course they didn't have a replacement in the correct wattage (new fixtures he said). We refused to move rooms because we were tired and spread out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing this information and for staying with us. I have shared this feedback with our management team to ensure proper follow up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Clean, stylish hotel right on the metro line

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Right on top of the metro! Just jump on, ride to DC. Rooms clean and stylish. Staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet at night. Great fitness center.
Cons: The blankets on the bed were kind of thin and old feeling. Really would have liked there to be a complimentary breakfast.
Location: The area seems to cater to the office building around and on the weekend it was hard to find open restaurants at time. Nice neighborhood. Felt safe.
We were in town to attend the presidential inauguration so we spent most of our time in Washington DC. We generally left Bethesda in the morning and returned around supper time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope you had a great weekend and that you keep us in mind for future DC visits!