Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Terrible run down scary place to stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Staff was unfriendly during check in, and the room was so bad that my husband and I opted to just leave and find a different place to stay. The lamps, furniture and fixtures were worn out, dirty, and falling apart. Even just walking across the laminate floor was gross- our shoes made tracks on the greasy sticky flooring. Bugs crawling all over... unacceptable. Overall, the worst hotel I have ever booked a room at. (I would say the worst I have ever stayed at, but there was NO WAY I was going to try and sleep in that disgusting room). Beware.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jax

Very close to the ark encounter

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Just minimum comfort but the best location if you are there for the ark encounter. The people running the hotel are very nice. And the encounter is the best museum i have ever gone to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

At least it's close to the Ark

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: The rooms could use fresh paint, fresh bed covers, and new electric sources. The light switches were in bad shape and several didn't work.
Location: The location was great! It was less than a minute drive to get to the Ark Encounter (which is so worth every penny of the $40 per adult).
We didn't really enjoy our stay, but were please with the proximity to the Ark Encounter, which was the entire reason my family traveled to Kentucky. The rooms were outdated, the lights didn't work, the toilet wouldn't flush 9/10ths of the time. The lobby is filthy and smells of smoke. The "breakfast" was more of a light snack and didn't have any options for gluten intolerant people aside from apples (I expected at least a banana or orange juice). That said, the staff was kind. Their appearance was... unpolished... but they were efficient enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The room was comfortable and it was close to where we were going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Next Door to the Ark Encounter

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Clean and affordable
Cons: no negatives
Location: Right next door to the Ark Encounter that we visited the next morning. We were almost first in line.
An older motel but in great condition. Clean, comfortable and affordable. We were well pleased with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Would not recommend

Posted Feb 11, 2017
When we checked in the staff was nice. The room wasn't clean. The heater barely worked. Had to ask for extra blankets. The breakfast area was so small that only 2 people could fit it in comfortably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsport, TN

Decent Hotel next to the Ark Encounter

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Clean Rooms, right next to the Ark Encounter. Once I got it working, the water pressure in the shower was like getting a full massage.
Cons: Shower in bathroom needed repair, hard to get it working, fittings were very loose.
Location: 1 Minute drive to the Ark Encounter, not much else to do unless you drive a couple of exits North.
There's not many hotels in the area, this one is literally 1 minute from the Ark Encounter. While it wasn't the newest/nicest hotel I've been in, it was comfortable and clean. It is an older facility and the front desk had 2 dogs roaming around, but the clerk was very friendly and made the check-in process easy. I slept well and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Room was not as clean as it could have been. Mainly the bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great Hotel!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Clean and updated...good location for us!
Cons: Breakfast area was very small and consisted of cereal, fruit and juice but at least it was included.
Location: Location was great! Nice restaurant and Ark Encounter was nearby.
This is a vintage style motel. The desk clerk did not see my new reservation on his computer even though I had a confirmation from Expedia. He was very accommodating though and gave us a nice room. It is an old hotel but very well kept up, clean and maintained. It even had a razor, toothbrush and grooming kit in the room! It was quiet and great location right down the road from the Ark Encounter! There was also a great Mexican restaurant right next door within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Weekend visit to the Ark.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Overall it was pleasant....one or two issues. However they were addressed right away. Would recommend for the convenience relatively close to the Ark encounter