Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AJS & DAS

Good central location in Boston

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Very welcoming hotel with a great room and mostly friendly staff. One exception was the male staff member in the café who seemed to be a little curt but it wasn't a problem. We would certainly recommend it and return the next time we visit Bean Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DE

Quiet and cozy

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, quiet, cozy
Cons: Toilet seat made my legs fall asleep quickly
Location: The Prudential building (and mall) is a block away, as is Boylston Street, which has all kinds of restaurants and shops. Fenway Park is close enough.
I stayed here for business a few days; I had to extend my trip by a day, and the process was easy and over with in a minute or two. The front-desk staff were always helpful and polite, and there never seemed to be too many people going in or out; it felt cozy in that way. My room was great; the bed was comfy. The toilet seat tended to make my legs fall asleep, but that's about the only downside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: location, location,location
Cons: Sound proof windows on the 2nd floor rooms; loud 20 somethings on side walk waiting to get into a club next door
Overall had a great stay and time. Close to a lot of shops and restuarants in heart of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

College Visit

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping, dining, easy public transport to downtown.
This hotel is a perfect location to Northeastern and Boston University. Walking distance to shopping and great dining. Easy access to the T. Rooms are comfortable and stylish. Staff is friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our stay very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Perfect Accommodation

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Don't change it - it is perfect as is.
Location: Just off Copley Square a major center in Boston. Major food market just one block away. Close to underground.
Most major Boston Hotels were fully booked. Courtyard at Marriott is a smaller revamped hotel which has accommodated guest for many years. The location is adjacent to the larger Marriott at Copley Square. It was an absolute delight . . . perfect in every way. Fantastic staff. I didn't want to leave which is a testimony to how comfortable it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Canada

Confirmed Expedia Booking Means Nothing

Posted Oct 6, 2014
When booking hotel the specific room selected was a Standard Room with 2 Queen Beds four months in advance. The Expedia booking says "confirmed", "reservation is booked" and "no need to call us to reconfirm". At check-in we were advised that the room would actually be with one king size bed. The reason was that "other people requesting that room were staying longer than two nights". For more than $400 per night I expect better and apparently when booking a vacation there is no guarantee of what you get. I will never book with a hotel that cannot confirm what exactly what we will get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis, MD.

Convenient!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: I like the Location.
Location: The hotel is right in the middle of everything.
Convenient to T stop (Copley). Convenient to Copley Place and The Shops at Prudential. Convenient to restaurants on Boylston and Newbury Streets.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Four Seasons Cost for a Budget Hotel Stay

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: They give you a newspaper in the morning.
Cons: Everything...the place is awful. Needs a gut renovation. Am surprised it is part of the Marriot chain.
Location: Newbury Street, the museums, literally everything you want to see in Boston.
This Courtyard Marriot has definitely seen better days. Rundown and definitely in need of a major renovation, room charges including parking ran over $700 for a one night stay. This was for a "deluxe room" which I was told on arrival meant a corner room. Because the hotel was full given a event happening in Boston my room was not available. What I got was a big room with two queen beds, a saggy mattress, mold in the shower, dilapidated carpet, a broken security lock on the door, and towels that had seen better days. Given that my room faced the street, I was awakened at 6:30 by construction vehicles at a construction site across the street. Not the hotel's fault but it could have been mentioned. Parking is $45/day and the quoted prices do not include hefty taxes. The manager would not budge on price but offered Marriot points...not enough goodwill to ever make me want to go back. The place should be bulldozed. For the same money, plan ahead and stay at the Four Seasons.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

Location and price trumped quality on this visit

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms & prices cheaper than other hotels nearby. Hotel staff helpful. Business center computer to print airline boarding passes.
Cons: Mattresses way too soft for decent back support. Can hear late-night street noise from lower floor rooms. Free wifi but have to pay $ for high-speed.
Location: Within walking distance of several great restaurants, parking, shopping; easy walk to Copley square. Star Market (grocery) a block away on Ring Rd.
We stayed here five nights. There was ongoing construction on Exeter Street between this hotel and the Lenox hotel across the street so there was notable construction noise (audible from our second floor room even with windows closed) during the day, starting around 8 am, but it really wasn't much of a bother as weren't spending a lot of time in the room during the day. The mini-fridge on the floor near the door was a little bit of a walking obstacle (although there was room and electrical outlets to move it elsewhere). There was another small fridge in the room built into a wall cabinet but apparently it is too small so another was included. Everything else about this hotel was reasonably acceptable for the price except for the beds (if you like a reasonably firm mattress -- say, for back support -- you may be disappointed). The mattresses might best be described as "bendy". I never really saw anyone in the small on-site Courtyard Cafe (but then again I may not have been there during whatever hours they serve). It seemed extremely basic and there are good places to eat within walking distance. If you have a rental car, parking at the Prudential Center a block away can be pricey. So overall, it's your basic, clean, relatively cheaper hotel in a good location. It was acceptable for our purpose at the time. Just hope they change those mattresses!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the rating...

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Spent 3 nights at this hotel based on high ratings from other travelers. Don't get it. Lobby is a small room - unlike other courtyards. I thought the taxi dropped me at the wrong hotel because it looked so unlike Courtyard. All other Courtyards I've stayed at have included breakfast, this one didn't and cost about $12. Room was OK and functional. A/C was out in entire hotel for about 12 hrs during hottest day of year in Boston. I would look elsewhere like Marriott Copley or Westin. Lenox and Copley Place hotel look equally questionable to me.