Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LINY (Hotel), MD (Residence)


Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: I liked the food. It was excellent, but costly for a family of four.
Cons: See what I wrote above in the "Write about your experience" box.
Location: We enjoyed going to Smith haven Mall.
Overall, my experience was ok. My husband and children probably would have given a rating of 4. There were crumbs on the floor between my bed and the chair (leading me to believe that only the most visible parts of the floor are vacuumed). There were spots on the lamp shade and spots on the bathroom floor. There were also spots on the wooden part of the bed frame. My experience would have been better with a cleaner room and the offering of a free continental breakfast. The breakfast was EXCELLENT; however it was costly for a family of four. For women, it is always nice to have a little privacy (with maybe a divider), so we don't have to get dressed in the bathroom. There also could have been a little more in the gift/candy shop. One of the biggest negatives for me was the charge for using the computer. I have stayed at hotels that offered computer use for free and the hotel guests did not take advantage or stay overly long (more than 5 - 10 minutes) when others were waiting. It would also be nice if we had a listing of places to go for things like manicures/pedicures. We were only told about Walmart and that is the one place we hate going anywhere in any state. Also, we had to call the front desk to get ice because you guys didn't want the guest getting their own (as I was told).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Hi "She from MD". Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Regency and for taking time to provide a review. We strive to provide world class service, and I believe we do more often than not, but in your case it seems we fell short. Please accept my apologies. I have shared your feedback with our managers and I have already made improvements in our Corner Pantry and with our Front Desk in having more recommendations (e.g. pedicures) handy. Please give us another chance the next time you are on Long Island.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, Fl

Excellent place to stay. Unmatched!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We had booked a local Marriot and we not informed at time of booking that is wad under construction to the point they had temporary walls up and most amenities were not available. We switched to the Hyatt having stayed their before and we're amazed at how beautiful the hotel was . It had recently completed a renovation. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Michael and Danielle are amazing and we're so great to our kids and made us feel like mvps.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Hello Mike from Tampa! Thank you for moving from the Marriott to the Hyatt. I love it! We are very proud of our newly renovated hotel and our amazing Associates. Michael and Danielle are two of our very best and since you mentioned them by name, they will receive HyFive vouchers. I sure hope you will visit us (and not the Marriott) again.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Islandia, NY

Bowling Alley?

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Nicely decorated and the service was quite good.
Cons: The New Menu was enclosed in the guide book and was dull and boring. Getting to see the old menu was such a tease.
Location: I was visiting family so I didn't need anything else to do.
The hotel is upscale and the service was very good but the room I given was behind a bank of elevators. It was 3 days before Christmas and many of the guest were out for the evening. I was watching TV until about 11 pm. Just as I was dozing off the noise started. I thought I was in a bowling alley. This continued into the wee hours. There are 4 elevators in the hotel and ran all night. The next morning I changed my room to the top floor as far away from the noise as possible. My original room was better equipped but at least the second room was peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Hello Kate. Thank you for choosing the Hyatt for your pre-Christmas visit. While we strive to provide world class service, we apparently fell short in your case. Please accept my apologies. I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't like the Nu menu. The feedback from most has been incredibly positive. Guests love the Cheesesteak, Duck Burger, Calamari, Pulled Pork Tacos, Scallops and more. As for the noise from the elevators, we acknowledge that there is some noise so we do our best to keep guests who seek tranquility away. I'm glad to hear that our Guest Service Agents were able to move you to a much quieter room. I hope you will give us another chance and visit the Hyatt again. Thank you again. General Manager
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Kelly

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Kelly- Thank you so much for the excellent five star review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you as a Guest again soon! Warm Regards.
3 out of 5
by Glenn Billfrom Long Island

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
a/c was busted in lobby.... not very helpful with transportation...never adjusted bill after they said they would...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Glenn- I wanted to respond to some of the concerns you mentioned in your most recent review. While we did have an issue with the A/C in the lobby for a brief time, it was fixed soon after. Unfortunately, we do not expect or plan on such events occurring, but when they do we do our best to resolve them as rapidly as possible. We also provide shuttle transportation based on appointments and availability. We do our best to accommodate the time you need, but if it is unavailable we will absolutely provide you with an available time. Thank you for leaving us with this feedback. Regards.
4 out of 5
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. The shower was great. Fitness center was large and fully equipped. It could just use wipes to clean off equipment after use.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad to see that you found your bed to be comfortable and your room to be very clean. It is also nice that you were able to enjoy our large fitness center! The machines are all new and it is really a wonderful asset to the property. In regards to your comment about having wipes for the machines, we actually do have them in there! They are located to the left of the towels in a large silver container. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we hope you come back and stay with us again the next time you are in town. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Pleasant Upscale Location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
We stayed here on a Saturday night after attending a concert at the Pennysaver Amphitheater. Ordinarily we would stay at a Hampton Inn for half the cost but our arrangements were last minute and this was all that was available in the area. It's a nice upscale hotel very nicely situated adjoining a golf course and off a rural parkway, so the surrounding area is very quiet. That also means you'll have a 5-10 min car ride to reach any shopping or off-site restaurants. Parking is free, outside and expansive, but unless you are lucky enough to park close to the lobby you could have a few minutes walk to your car. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well appointed with contemporary furniture. My only complaint, given the cost of the room, was that in-room wifi was an additional charge (approx. $11 per day). The hotel was overrun with wedding parties the weekend we stayed (late August) so we didn't attempt to use the consequently busy hotel bar and restaurant, but otherwise that was not any problem. I expect the hotel would be equally busy when hosting mid-week business conventions. If $250 ish a night is your price range, I would certainly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Mr. B- Thank you for the lovely feedback you have left regarding your most recent visit. We work to provide a very luxurious and comfortable stay for each of our Guests...the true Hyatt experience! We are definitely located in a nice area on Long Island, central to the main routes of transportation but tucked away in a very serene setting. I will share the kind words you left about your room with the Housekeeping team, as it is our goal to give you an amazing experience...and it seems we have accomplished that. I hope you were able to utilize our fantastic golf course as well...it truly is an excellent course and a very popular feature to our property. Upon your next visit I also recommend checking out our basketball courts, pools, and fitness center...which is equipped with all new machines. Once again, thank you for the great feedback and we hope to have you back again in the near future. Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Ginger and Mikefrom Pennsylvania

wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our short stay so much. Will definitely use this as home base for our frequent visit to L.I. We enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi, restaurant and room. Used the in house coffee maker and loved the forceful shower head in bath. Will be back many times to come.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Ginger and Mike- I am so glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience while staying with us here at the Hyatt Regency Long Island. It is our biggest compliment that you would consider us your "home base" each time you come to Long Island. We will share the positive feedback you have left us regarding the amenities, restaurant and room with the team. We look forward to your next visit! Warm Regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom München

Nicht, was wir von Hyatt erwartet hatten

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Zimmer und Badezimmer nicht ausreichend gereinigt (Chips auf dem Boden in den Ecken, Flecken auf dem Badezimmerboden). Haben über eine Stunde auf das Abendessen gewartet. Party im Nebenzimmer. Auf Beschwerde bei der Rezeption haben wir keine professionelle Antwort erhalten, kein Angebot (z.B. für ein kostenloses Frühstück erhalten). Einzige Antwort war: "Oh, I am so sorry".
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Simone, Thank you for your feedback. I have shared the comments regarding your guestroom with the Housekeeping Managers. I would never want you to leave feeling that the room was not satisfactory. Our main priority is to give you a relaxing and comfortable stay! In regards to the concerns you mentioned about the party in the next room, please know that we take noise complaints very seriously. The Front Office Manager will continue to train the team on handling such situations moving forward. We appreciate your feedback, and we will use it to better the experience for future Guests. Warm Regards, Jeff R. General Manager
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Danfrom Richmond

Quick trip

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice. The front desk was jammed and check in slow All things considered a nice stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Dan- Thank you so much for leaving us with this feedback. I appreciate the kind words you shared about our property. Our Hotel is definitely nice! The team does an excellent job maintaining our grounds and the guestrooms are all very clean, spacious, modern and comfortable. In regards to your comment about the desk being busy and the check in slow, please know that I apologize for the inconvenience. I have shared your comments with the Management team, and we will work on preventing this issue moving forward. Once again, thank you and we hope to have you as a Guest again down the line. Warm Regards.