Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Palmdale

Mattress was comfortable

Posted Mar 4, 2015
The hotel is a bit dated and far from downtown . They only have a few beach chairs and ran out of towels. The restaurant food is just ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Time Share Condos

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Rates are reasonable. Renovations have improved room comfort.
Location: Take buses or taxis into Puerto Vallarta, or further south to beaches, botanical gardens.
Costa Sur is an older property, undergoing room renovations - updates are very nice. It should be noted that it is primarily a time share property, and seems to cater to the older retirees, who stay for a week or more. There are games around the pool, some activities such as water aerobics, music and dancing several nights a week, and the PA system can be quite loud, but fortunately seemed to finish by 10 PM The restaurant has a more American menu than traditional Mexican, with buffet dinners also available. There are 2 small pools, and a small beach which was closed off due to strong waves. Like all accommodation along this stretch of beach, it hugs the road and hillside, and street noise is evident, but tolerable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

3 star hotel in a 5 star location

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, value
Cons: All new tile and flooring would be a big visual improvement.
Location: Downtown Puerto Vallarta has many very good restaurants, a charming Malacon to stroll , dozens of fine galleries.
This aging property is still worth a visit. The rooms are very spacious, all directly on the oceanfront and a great staff. Furnishings all nice, with a kitchenette in each room. The clientele is senior, many returning for years as time share owners, but very friendly. Downtown is a 10 minute, 8 peso bus ride away. Considering value for price, this place is a steal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Liked it. Would stay again for the hotel. It was a bit of a seniors resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

frequent mexico visitor

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Beware timeshare trap at check in! Kayaking and whale watching (in season) are great from this hotel, other things such as food and spa are over priced. Room is clean and view is wonderful. Bus to town is easy and convenient (8 pesos). Taco stands across from bus stop are superb!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Clean comfortable affordable

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Good price for a simple clean comfortable hotel. Staff in lobby area was always so friendly and helpful.
Cons: Need to get more towels for pool area! Also more waiters for pool area especially at peak times.
Location: Beautiful beachfront views. Nothing to do or see within walking distance but only 10 min bus ride to old Vallarta.
We stayed for 2 weeks at Costa Sur. It had simple decor but room was clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly. There were seldom towels for the pool after lunch and you had to wait sometimes 2 hours to receive any. Often felt ignored by servers in pool/restaurant areas as you had to flag them down or go to counter for service. Beach area was small but nice to swim in when the ocean conditions were right which is not everyday. Pools are small and crowded when beach is closed especially. Always have to take bus or taxi to get anywhere as there really was no walking paths and a long distance from anywhere. View was wonderful from balcony and frequently sited whales and dolphins from our balcony.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area

Old style Mexican hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: That old Mexican feeling without timeshare presentations!
Cons: Nothing--the noise is out of the hotel's control.
Location: Only stayed one night while traveling.
Hotel staff very friendly, grounds very well maintained, food is excellent with gourmet presentation. Rooms are simple but very comfortable and bedding is med/firm which is just what I prefer. The downside.....highway noise!! The location of the hotel is directly below the highway in and out of town. Even rooms on the beach front level could not escape the highway noise which is round the clock. Because of the noise, I was not comfortable and would not recommend the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

Don't judge a book (or this hotel) by it's cover!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Checking out.
Cons: Close the hotel - put some money into renovating it. Should not be on Expedia's list of locations.
Location: On the beach - nothing nearby - need to catch the bus or call a taxi for restaurants and shopping. Too far to walk to PV.
Looks great from the outside but once beyond the entrance/lobby, the hotel is old, outdated, not clean, and desperately needs a complete redo. Bathroom was gross - grouting was all moldy, window above shower faces the hallway so people can hear you and you can hear people walking by or workers in the hall. Two elevators can barely hold 3 people - sometimes work - sometimes better to take the stairs. Stairways are totally gross - dirty with smells of food cooking. We stayed in the Studio Room on the 3rd floor. Lobby is on 6th floor. Pool area was decent but while having a drink by the pool, one of the workers started moping the area with a strong smelling bleach type cleaner. Couldn't this be done early morning before breakfast???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Canyon, AZ

Close to everything without being on top of it.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location . Everything close but not to close. Staff friendly and pleasing.
Cons: Upgrades in appearance of floors and pool.
Location: All is close by without being on top of you.
Everything I hoped it would be and more. I had a wonderful time and am looking forward to a return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Jan 24, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Costa Sur and have no complaints whatsoever. The view from our oceanfront room was outstanding and the staff was fantastic. The hotel is a 5-10 minute ride to Old Town and Malecon, so that's not ideal, but cab fare is cheap and you can also take the bus that stops right in front of the hotel (bus fare is less than $1 (U.S.). Costa Sur isn't a luxury hotel, but its a nice enough place and the value can't be beat (at least for the time of year we stayed there (January). I would have no problem recommending this hotel to a friend (with the minor caveats noted above).