Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
24% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Never again

Posted Jun 17, 2015
This is about the EconoLodge in Alexandria, LA on Notth MacArthur Drive. The only staff member that I can be positive about was the maintenance man. I had to listen to employees complaining about customers while I am standing there. There were never any towels and when there were they were dingy and stained. The other staff were not helpful or very polite. The facilities were in disrepair and dirty. There were bugs in our room. People who were not checked into the hotel were allowed to use the pool and they came in car loads. The TV didn't even have a cable wire to connect to the cable service. I was constantly having to call to have something taken care of. It was just one thing after another and a terrible experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible

Posted Jun 8, 2015
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone ... when I pulled up I wish I could have cancelled but per the policies I couldn't
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Old Hotel that needs to be totally remodeled

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The staff was courteous and I expected customer pastries for breakfast but was pleasantly surprised.
Cons: This hotel needs a total renovation.
Location: It was near several restaurants and located on the main thoroughfare in Alexandria.
We booked five rooms for a group of women for one night. We had to ask to change one room because the smell of smoke was intolerable and the other room had a distinct smell of sewerage. The staff was courteous and did change out the two rooms. Won't stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disgusting

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I went to my non smoking room and immediately notice the smell of stale smoke. I then noticed that it was not cleaned in a while as it was dusty and obviously not vacuumed in some time. The best part was the cigarette burns in the carpet and the bedding (which was probably 10 or so years past it's useful life anyway). I went back to the lobby to request a different room. After 2 more experiences similar I settled into the room that was remodeled. I think it was remodeled 10 years ago by a 10 year old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

subpar stay

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Most of it.
Location: Plenty restaurants. Craziest road designs EVER!
Hand towels had stains. They were afraid to to leave more than 2 bath towels. Room didn't smell pleasant. Not unbearable though. Bed spread had prior burns/blemishes. Desk help was subpar. Breakfast was ok. Building was run down somewhat but had some refubishing. Won't stay there again. Good thing it wasn't warm because the a/c struggled.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Orleans

Horrible

Posted Mar 1, 2015
This hotel was horrible..there was vomit on the stairway trash in the halls it smelled like smoke and vomit..inside the room was worse hair in the tub shower head was broke ..used bar soap weren't replaced ..the list goes on and on and on and on..I'd rather sleep at motel 6 then here I'd never recommend this place to anyone the online pictures really fooled me
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hammond, la.

Very not noce

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Was there for just a few minutes. But that was a few too many. Need to fix it up and I do not mean tape.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

The hotel from hell

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Words can't describe this place but I did take pictures
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

TERRIBLE w/capital T!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: BULLDOZE IT DOWN & START OVER!
Room was advertised as "non-smoking" but wreaked with the smell of cigarettes; linens were a dingy grey w/bad stains on them; commode tank lid was missing; curtains wouldn't shut completely & falling apart. I have very mild allergies & the minute I stepped into room, they were full blown out of control. The iron had electrical insides exposed & leaked water(bad combination). When we arrived it was late and couldn't make a change to another hotel till the next morning, when I got to the lobby it was full of people checking out & demanding refunds...a very upset scene to say the least.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

disappointing to say the least

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: location was convenient
Cons: staff training, facility
I knew when I walked into the lobby and saw what appeared to be homeless people sleeping there I had made a mistake.. a 30 second checkin actually took 10-15 minutes. the clerk had difficulty with the computer and didn't know the location of my assigned room. I had to change rooms because the plumbing stopped up