Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Disappointed in Managment/ No Breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We originally chose this room for its reasonable price and prevailing review of "dated but clean". This description proved to be very accurate as it was spotless and with full amenities, though very few facilities had been updated. The problem with our stay began the minute we arrived with our room confirmation being missing. The fault was clearly on the Expedia site and not with her hotel. While neither my friend nor I were upset about this AT ALL the woman at the desk was very distressed. After the situation was resolved with a short call to Expedia, the woman chose to lecture us about how we should never use third party websites because they are all horrible. We found this a lititle ironic considering we never would have found this hole in the wall motel without one. On a separate note we were also disappointed to learn that the "continental breakfast" promised was a single, small packaged muffin. Not a bad hotel, but not as much as promised.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northeast Ohio

Great hotel for a quick overnight stay

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The reasonable price and its cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel is situated on the southern edge of town away from the commercial district and the University but is convenient for access to Ohio river area
The Hometown Inn is a great place if all you need is a clean room to sleep overnight at a very reasonable price in the Athens, Ohio area. Room rate is $50 less expensive than all other hotels I looked at online. The front desk staff is very nice and check in/check out is very fast and uncomplicated. My room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom very clean with a great shower and lots of hot water. Nice in room television with good cable plan. In room wifi, small refrigerator, and coffee maker were added pluses. Hotel is somewhat dated with no pool, exercise room, etc needed for a family vacation; but if all you need is a nice clean room to sleep in, the Hometown Inn is the place..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Fairly cheap, but clean and not gross.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Quick check-in and check-out, clean, quiet. I also thought the vintage sink in my room was cool.
Cons: A slightly larger mini-fridge in rooms would be good, and more pillows on the bed.
Location: It's convenient to routes 33 and 50-32. About a half-mile or so away from Richland Ave, which has some restaurants, and about 2 miles away from OU.
It's in an odd place compared to the rest of the hotels in Athens, which tend to be clumped together on either end of town. But it's convenient to highway exits if you're just staying overnight and looking to leave town first thing. It's an older hotel, but it's clean and relatively quiet - the white noise from the A/C covered most of the noisy trucks on the highway. The non-smoking and smoking sections of the hotel seem to be separated, so I had no issues with cigarette smells. Check-in and check-out was quick and painless.
4 out of 5
by Glenn from North Carolina

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Other area hotels were booked so we took a chance on the Hometown Inn. Although the facilities are older and could use a little updating, the room was clean and comfortable. We brought our own breakfast with us. We didn't spend much time in the room as we were visiting family but the time spent there was pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Good value for the money - spacious, clean, convenient accommodations.
1 out of 5
by Rance from Ohio

Bring your earplugs

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
This motel is in BAD need of updating/total renovation. The bathroom fixtures were straight out of the 60s, as was the room decor. Room insulation/quietness was nonexistent and its close proximity to the highway made for a very noisy stay from the road noise alone, not to mention all the occupants of the other rooms. Guests upstairs from us sounded as if they were in the room with us. In fairness the room was at least clean, which was its saving grace. There is no such thing as an inexpensive room in Athens, but certainly this room was not worth what we were charged.
3 out of 5
by John from StormLake

Decent, but dated.

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
This was a decent room,if slightly expensive(IMO). The fixtures were right out of the 1960's but everything was clean&pretty well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. The place is next to a major highway and there was a lot of road noise. It got annoying late at night& in the morning too.
3 out of 5
by Deltom

Adequate but dated and overpriced

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Orbitz
An older but clean property reminiscent of mid-20th century roadside motels. Quaint green-ceramic bathroom fixtures. A small through-the-wall window air conditioner. Rather overpriced for what you get, I paid $95.00 all up where $75.00 would be more realistic.
2 out of 5
by Scha

Noisy Place

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Orbitz
There was a lot activity and loud conversations in the parking lot between 8 PM and 10:30 PM, also the traffic from the highway next to the motel was loud and woke me up. Room is dated (avocado bathroom fixtures) but the staff was friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean but very dated.