Ratings based on 2,307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swindon

comfortable & clean, great location & facilities

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The location close to shops but off the manic main drag. The free travel card and free wifi - both worked well and made life easy.
Cons: More english speaking entertainment channels on TV - not just rolling world news. More comfortable seating/waiting area in reception.
Location: Very handy to access all of Berlin from Zoo Stn with easy public transport. Loads of shops and eating places. Zoo, Aquarium & Tiergarten Park.
Travelled 17-20 October with my daughter and baby grandson. We usually stay at Pullman Schweizerhof or Swissotel when visiting Berlin, but Steigenberger is now our preference in terms of what you get for your money. It's a handy location, 2 minutes walk from KaDeWe, 5 minutes from Zoo buses and stations, and a couple of minutes from several UBahn stations (Kurfurstendamm is closest). Parking is easy with spaces and an underground car park in front in Los Angeles Platz, beneath a small and basic area of public garden with benches. We requested single beds, a cot for the baby, a quiet room and a bath (not just shower) and our room (612) delivered all of that and was spacious, well arranged and clean. Wifi was free with the codes provided on check-in. The free travel card (which lasts for the whole duration of the stay) was a valuable bonus. 2 complimentary bottles of water were provided each day. Didn't try the fitness room, but the pool (although not the biggest) and its surrounding area were fine for mum and baby. Staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Didn't eat at Steigenberger so I can't comment on the food, but peering in from outside it appeared to lack atmosphere and customers. With breakfast at 25 euros, we found very decent breakfast nearby at Cafe Clave and La Piadina Bistro (round the corner in Augsburgerstrasse) instead. The only negative was that the only english speaking TV channels were BBC World News and CNN. Despite that, we'll definitely stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tabuk, Saudi Arabia

The hotel needs a renovations

Posted Oct 19, 2016
This hotel offers VIP+ tratment to Expedia gold memebers,sadly they didn't do anything retarding that. The room was smaal so i had to pay for an upgrade
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Alfreddie Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not receive a special treatment as Expedia Gold Member. After intensive examination, I found that there was a lack during data transfer between the booking website Expedia and our property management system. Therefore, the information that you are a Gold Member was not transmitted. For this reason, I hereby do apologize sincerely for the disappointment caused and hope that you will be back in the future as we desire to revise your first impression. Kind regards Gondra Wettley General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel, gerne wieder

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Das Badezimmer war sehr edel. Kostenlose Möglichkeiten für sportliche Aktivitäten. Zwei Ticket für öffentliche Verkehrsmittel inklusive.
Cons: Nichts.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich am Los Angeles Platz von wo aus man schnell zu vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten gelangen konnte.
Wir haben ein Standard Dz gebucht. Das Zimmer war sehr sauber und von den anderen Zimmern hat man nichts gehört. Ideal um sich zu erholen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by GW, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Haus und Ihre wunderbare Bewertung via Expedia. Es ist schön zu lesen, dass Sie sich gut erholen konnten und besonders das Badezimmer Ihren Geschmack getroffen hat. Ich freue mich, dass Sie zudem die Lage, den Fitnessbereich und die Steigenberger Berlin Travel Card schätzten. Es ist mir eine besondere Freude, Sie schon bald wieder in Berlin zu begrüßen. Viele Grüße Gondra Wettley Hoteldirektorin
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
More a 4 star hotel. It is very convenient location. There are much better hotels of this brand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you for staying with us and for your review via Expedia. It is great to read, that you especially appreciated the incomparable location of the hotel. At the same time, I regret that you did not enjoy your stay entirely. I hope you will be our guest soon again. Kind regards Gondra Wettley General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harlow, Essex

Great hotel and location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Perfect for Zoological Garten U bahn and S bahn stations. Some great local restaurants for breakfast and perfect for the main shopping avenues
Very good location close to main shopping area and restaurants. Very friendly and knowledgeable front of house staff. Only downsides were the poor internet service and the morose staff in the spa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt am Main

Freundliches und professionelles Personal.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Dieses Hotel ist jeweils 5 Gehminuten von 2 U-Bahnhöfen und 3,7 km vom Brandenburger Tor entfernt. Shopping, Restaurants und Bars in der nähe.
Zentrumsnah; Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, Sehenswürdigkeiten, Restaurants und Bars in der Nähe·Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel, Bahnhof und Flughafen in der Nähe·Gut mit dem Auto erreichbar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by GW, Hotel Management
Lieber Hamid S., vielen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt im Steigenberger Hotel Berlin und für Ihre freundlichen Worte hier bei Expedia. Es freut mich sehr, dass Sie vor allem die einzigartige Lage des Hauses geschätzt haben und hier in Ihrer Bewertung verdeutlichen. Ich hoffe, Sie demnächst wieder in Berlin begrüßen zu dürfen. Herzliche Grüße Gondra Wettley Hoteldirektorin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Gute Lagd, freundliches Personal und sehr gutes Frühstück (Qualität und Vielfalt, Inklusive Berlin Travel Card
Cons: der Fooyerbereich, zu klein und beengt
Location: In Nähe des Ku damms und Gedächtniskirche
Sehr gutes Hotel in guter Lage mit allem, was man für einen touristischdn Besuch benötigt
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by GW, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, besten Dank, dass Sie sich für Ihre Städtereise für das Steigenberger Hotel Berlin entschieden haben und für Ihre zuvorkommende Bewertung. Dass Sie nicht nur die herausragende Lage, sondern auch die Mitarbeiter und unser umfangreiches Frühstücksbuffet lobend erwähnen, freut mich sehr. Ich hoffe, dass ich bald wieder die Gelegenheit bekomme Sie bei uns am Los-Angeles-Platz begrüßen zu dürfen und wünsche Ihnen zwischenzeitlich alles Gute. Herzlichst, Ihre Gondra Wettley Hoteldirektorin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
ロケーションは最高です。Zoo駅の近くながら、静かな環境です。 ただしルームサービスは金曜日だったからでしょうか、最低でした。スープとサラダを頼み10分ぐらいでもって行きますと言われたのですが、30分しても来ず、すると電話があり、先ほどスープができるといいましたが、すいませんできませんとのこと、結局腹が立ち全てキャンセルしました。残念ながらその日の夜は夕食はなしでした。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Location was excellent

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The Concierge was OUTSTANDING. He made a considerable effort to guide and give us very useful tips on what to see and how to see it. Kai's interpersonal skills were of the very highest order. The Steigenberger Group should run an annual "Best Concierge of the Year" competition. This, in itself will drive up standards and motivation. We can say without doubt that Kai would be a worthy winner of this award. We will return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for leaving this wonderful review. Thank you also for highlighting the friendly service you received from Kai. I have shared your comments with him and he is very delighted with the feedback. I very much look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Yours sincerely Gondra Wettley General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

poor value for money

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The rooms were comfortable
Cons: see above Staff could smile more and be more welcoming. More attention to checking bed linen
Location: we had to take trains to the places we wanted to see. The zoo is nearby which is good for families
we found the staff to be pleasant enough but aloof and not as helpful as one would expect. I wanted to know on the map where we were located and was told by receptionist (male elderly) that the consierge would be in at 9am! We had a blood stain on the duvet in one room and the staff showed les concern than I would expect for such poor hygiene. A change of room was not offered and compensation offered was - "a drink in the bar" for the two of us who complained ( there were 5 in our party. For what we paid and the location which is not as desirable as some I thought it was poor value for money. Sorry to report this - I hate to be negative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear Mairi Thank you very much for staying with us in September and for your feedback via Expedia. Your information helps us to identify and close lacks in our service chain. I am most grateful for this. I am glad to read that in general you felt comfortable in your room. However, I regret that we gave reason for disappointment when receptionists were not able to be helpful as well as to communicate in a warm way. It is unacceptable that you were allocated into a room with a soiled duvet. Our service standards for room cleaners and floor housekeepers obligate that only perfectly clean sheets can be used and that this standard has to be double checked in every room prior to check in. As a consequence, we will have a critical conversation with the certain staff and will increase spot checks from the management side. Furthermore, it saddens me that you were not satisfied with the complaint handling by our front office team. I ensure, a warm and individual communication in each situation is our highest priority which is also deep-seated in our corporate philosophy. I will certainly take these incidents as an occasion to repeat our complaint handling and the standards of a sincere and individual communication during the front office team meeting next Wednesday. Dear Mairi, I hereby do apologize for the inconveniences caused to you. I can only hope that you will accept my apologies and I would be grateful if you would give us the opportunity to revise the first impression and to welcome you here in the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin soon. Kind regards Gondra Wettley General Manager