Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Comfortable for the price

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The convenience and the price were the perks.
Cons: Overall maintenance/upkeep of the facility & toilet, tub trim, heat/AC unit (made an odd whistling noise every time the fan shut off) could improve
While it's definitely not a 4 or 5 star hotel, it does the job. I stayed on a Friday night for a class I had in Boone. Check-in was efficient. Staff was pleasant. The hotel itself is definitely older and showing the wear and tear, however it appeared clean and I didn't see any 6 or 8 legged critters which is always a fear of mine. The lobby and hallways had that "old musty" smell but the room was comfortable and clean and had no odor. Check-out staff was really friendly. It beat driving another 10 miles to Ames and paying 2 or 3 times the price for just a short night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Just the basics

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Price and location since my daughter attends Iowa State. Just remember, you get what you pay for.
Cons: maintenance on the drains and more attention to the breakfast and breakfast area
Location: Not a bad drive to ISU
Not a bad hotel, but not the greatest. You are getting what you pay for. Pillows were flat but usable. The heat in the room was turned off, so as we entered we needed to wear our jackets for a while before the room heated up. The breakfast is extremely basic. We've had better at other Super 8's. The waffle maker either needs to be replaced or seriously cleaned. Even applying the oil spray, the waffles would stick and completely break apart as you try to remove them. We decided to eat breakfast out the second morning. The room where they offer breakfast is not cleaned regularly. When we arrived, the tables were all dirty and we needed to clean up ourselves before trying to eat. The drain in the shower was extremely slow. You would need to step out of the water since it would not drain. This means you need to go back and rinse the tub for the next person since any body hair or soap build up would need to be rinsed down the drain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Placement

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: It has beds to sleep on.
Cons: The staff's willingness to at least pretend to care about customers staying in their hotel.
I've stayed at this hotel a few times, its nothing flashy or sophisticated. If you boil it down, its just a hotel with rooms and beds, which is all I personally need at times. That being said, I was a little upset with my booking. Hotel has 3 floors and if I had to guess with 20+ rooms on each floor? Of the 60+ available rooms, I was booked in the one with a communicating room (door between two rooms) and next to the staff washing machines. The thing is, there was about 5 vehicles in the parking lot and about 7 in the morning. Why the hell was I placed right next to another occupied room. Surely there was plenty of rooms to choice from. Pretty much sums up my experience at this Hotel every time. They just go through the motions and do the bare minimum to get customers into their rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointing

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: a comfortable bed.
Cons: maintenance problems should have been addressed and repaired before it was used again by customer.
Location: no problem with location of what was nearby.
several maintenance issues with room which I reported to the desk clerk. she took notesI asked for a receipt and all I got was a piece of paper with zeros on it which didn't include the price and the person blamed it on you. I then went for coffee and apparently she has just made but the coffee was cold I told her about it but you get very defensive and was not very pleasant. Yes, I raised my voice and made a comment about how she treated her customers and then she yelled at me and told me to get off of "her" property and don't come back. I left and went across the Street to get coffee. A man and I never met before apparently was with this desk clerk in the back room that heard the whole conversation and he was extremely angry and started yelling at me and I definitely did not want to get into a confrontation with him so I turned around and walked out the door. these are probably things you don't want to hear but I'm just being honest. There was no profanity on either of us in our conversations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, IA

Okay motel for the price.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The price.
Cons: Could be cleaner.
Location: Boone dinner train ride.
I wouldn't pay to much money for a night at this motel. Okay for one night bed was comfortable.
5 out of 5
by norman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was not cleaned

Posted Aug 23, 2017
When we arrived there were cigarette wrappers and trash inside the drawers. The room did not provide an ashtray even though it was a smoking room. It was a good thing we were just staying over one night on our trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Management rude

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was supposed to be pet friendly - it WAS NOT. Even though management had a dog and was allowed and it is on the website it is pet friendly, it isn't. Will not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Kevin

Safety issues

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Not good. I won't be staying here again. Issues with safety. The back door which should require an access key, was broken and always open. My door to my room always had to be forced shut. Then there was an issue with the pet policy. I, along with several others, were in town for a working dog competition. We filtered our search for pet friendly hotels and this was the first one on hotels.com. I made notes I'm my reservation about me bringing a pet. We got there and found out that there was a recent change and no animals allowed. Bit of a shock. Especially when signing our check in slip, the paperwork mentions an extra per night charge for pets. And we found out the owner lives in the hotel. And he has... get this... a pet. In the hotel. When I discussed my displeasure with this, he said "you can stay in Ames". So poor service and severe safety issues is why I won't becoming back
1 out of 5
by Clay

Bloody, stained underwear

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The room was OK for the price, however there was a pair of bloody stained underwear in the shower. Upon informing the manager, he told me that the room had not been cleaned in four days, however the underwear was still wet. After much arguing he offered only to refund me $20, which I still have not received. The health and safety concern of my children, in addition to not being able to use the shower made our stay a horrible one. Neither the manager nor Hotels.com seems too concerned with my issue. Will never stay here again.