Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Comfortable for the price

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The convenience and the price were the perks.
Cons: Overall maintenance/upkeep of the facility & toilet, tub trim, heat/AC unit (made an odd whistling noise every time the fan shut off) could improve
While it's definitely not a 4 or 5 star hotel, it does the job. I stayed on a Friday night for a class I had in Boone. Check-in was efficient. Staff was pleasant. The hotel itself is definitely older and showing the wear and tear, however it appeared clean and I didn't see any 6 or 8 legged critters which is always a fear of mine. The lobby and hallways had that "old musty" smell but the room was comfortable and clean and had no odor. Check-out staff was really friendly. It beat driving another 10 miles to Ames and paying 2 or 3 times the price for just a short night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Just the basics

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Price and location since my daughter attends Iowa State. Just remember, you get what you pay for.
Cons: maintenance on the drains and more attention to the breakfast and breakfast area
Location: Not a bad drive to ISU
Not a bad hotel, but not the greatest. You are getting what you pay for. Pillows were flat but usable. The heat in the room was turned off, so as we entered we needed to wear our jackets for a while before the room heated up. The breakfast is extremely basic. We've had better at other Super 8's. The waffle maker either needs to be replaced or seriously cleaned. Even applying the oil spray, the waffles would stick and completely break apart as you try to remove them. We decided to eat breakfast out the second morning. The room where they offer breakfast is not cleaned regularly. When we arrived, the tables were all dirty and we needed to clean up ourselves before trying to eat. The drain in the shower was extremely slow. You would need to step out of the water since it would not drain. This means you need to go back and rinse the tub for the next person since any body hair or soap build up would need to be rinsed down the drain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Placement

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: It has beds to sleep on.
Cons: The staff's willingness to at least pretend to care about customers staying in their hotel.
I've stayed at this hotel a few times, its nothing flashy or sophisticated. If you boil it down, its just a hotel with rooms and beds, which is all I personally need at times. That being said, I was a little upset with my booking. Hotel has 3 floors and if I had to guess with 20+ rooms on each floor? Of the 60+ available rooms, I was booked in the one with a communicating room (door between two rooms) and next to the staff washing machines. The thing is, there was about 5 vehicles in the parking lot and about 7 in the morning. Why the hell was I placed right next to another occupied room. Surely there was plenty of rooms to choice from. Pretty much sums up my experience at this Hotel every time. They just go through the motions and do the bare minimum to get customers into their rooms.
3 out of 5
by Jeff

Boone

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room was larger than I expected, but the room smelled like smoke and needed to be updated. No elevator either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Overpriced

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Breakfast is minimal. Expensive for what you get. Small room. Good tv. Kinda quiet. Easy location. Good for one night only.
2 out of 5
by Nicole

Free wake up without asking

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Was woke up at 8:30 by room service "just wondering if we were still here"! All because we didn't put out the do not disturb sign.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointing

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: a comfortable bed.
Cons: maintenance problems should have been addressed and repaired before it was used again by customer.
Location: no problem with location of what was nearby.
several maintenance issues with room which I reported to the desk clerk. she took notesI asked for a receipt and all I got was a piece of paper with zeros on it which didn't include the price and the person blamed it on you. I then went for coffee and apparently she has just made but the coffee was cold I told her about it but you get very defensive and was not very pleasant. Yes, I raised my voice and made a comment about how she treated her customers and then she yelled at me and told me to get off of "her" property and don't come back. I left and went across the Street to get coffee. A man and I never met before apparently was with this desk clerk in the back room that heard the whole conversation and he was extremely angry and started yelling at me and I definitely did not want to get into a confrontation with him so I turned around and walked out the door. these are probably things you don't want to hear but I'm just being honest. There was no profanity on either of us in our conversations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, IA

Okay motel for the price.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The price.
Cons: Could be cleaner.
Location: Boone dinner train ride.
I wouldn't pay to much money for a night at this motel. Okay for one night bed was comfortable.
5 out of 5
by norman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was not cleaned

Posted Aug 23, 2017
When we arrived there were cigarette wrappers and trash inside the drawers. The room did not provide an ashtray even though it was a smoking room. It was a good thing we were just staying over one night on our trip.