Featured Image

Reviews of Super 8 by Wyndham Calgary Shawnessy Area

2 out of 5
Super 8 by Wyndham Calgary Shawnessy Area60 Shawville Road S.E., Calgary, AB

3.7/5 Good

623623 verified reviews
Cleanliness
3.9/5
Cleanliness 78%
Staff & service
4.0/5
Staff & service 80%
Amenities
3.8/5
Amenities 76%
Property conditions & facilities
3.7/5
Property conditions & facilities 74%

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in May 2020
0
Billy
We appreciate the time you took to share your experience, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Guest Services Team

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service
Sad face IconDisliked: Amenities

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2020
0
Front Desk
We appreciate the time you took to share your experience, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
0
General Manager
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay. We hope to see you again near in the future.

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020
0
General Manager
We appreciate the time you took to share your experience, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

2/5 Poor

Sad face IconDisliked: Staff & service, amenities

The breakfast was substandard, the eating area dirty. The in room coffee machine was broken.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than super. We are currently working on making improvements to our breakfast. We invite you to join us again in the future to see the changes.

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again in the future to provide you with a super stay.

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities

Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Staff was nice location very convenient to all amenities but quiet too
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking to the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities

Clean and quiet. Very small continental breakfast my MY GOSH was it ever good. I typically dislike preprepared eggs but the omelettes here were AMAZING
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our breakfast. We are currently working on making it even better! We hope to see you again soon!

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Colleen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

3/5 Okay

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again soon.

1/5 Terrible

Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Cyrus, We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was less than super. We hope to have another opportunity to give you a better experience.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness

Only thing that was problematic was a hair on the pillow. Just wondering if they replace bedding every night as they should
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for you finding a hair on your pillow. We will discuss this with our cleaning staff.

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service

It was ok The beds are comfortable The room was unbearably hot even after the front desk man unplugged the heater Maid was weird One day she cleaned the bathroom but didn’t make the bed
Stayed 6 nights in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Shannon, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than super. We will look into your concerns.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Bed and pillows were perfect! A/c was great for keeping room temp as I like it. Staff were great. Convenient location. Room was clean and spacious. Shower was a nightmare. Water pressure was incredibly weak and hot water was barely luke warm. Sink hot water was great but stand up shower with cold water was less than ideal.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Heather, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the concerns that you shared about the shower, and we appreciate you letting us know about them. We hope to see you again soon.

2/5 Poor

Happy face iconLiked: Amenities
Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness

Stayed here for location near an EFW radiology location, so that was purely the motive. Bed was comf but parents next door couldnt control their kids who were screaming, running up and down the hall, banging in and out their room door from 10 to midnight. I had a biopsy in the early a.m so that kinda sucked. The gentleman at the desk did his best efforts to ask the guests to keep it down but you truly can't fix stupid or expect it to be courteous of others around them.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are sorry that your stay was less than super. We hope to see you again next time in order to improve our service.

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities

Great location and amenities. Staff was very helpful and courteous.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for your glowing review. We hope to see you again next time!

1/5 Terrible

Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Felt like an hourly dive

Fprst once you book online ($80+ ) when at hotel check in they insist on $200 to hold for 5 business days ( 2.5X cost of room ) Heat did not work in room so in the 60Fs is all you get . Pulled up guide on TV to catch ball game but time never programmed in . Once you go through that , then guide only showed channel number , no network or programming information . Checked drawers, not even a channel ID sheet so I had to go channel by channel. Finally found it , put dinner in microwave. Microwave and TV blacked out . Both on surge protector to small and blew the breaker . Had to pull microwave from cabinet and put on table near another outlet to operate . White confetti substance on floor , long black hair across back of toilet and grit in bottom of tub . Obviously cleaning is a low priority , made me nervous as to the cleanliness of the bedding . Felt like a room that should have a blacklight run over it . Stay in 100 hotels annually in that area, this one will never be repeated . Pics are on phone of condition
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
William, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize that your experience was less than super. We will review your comments with our maintenance and cleaning staff. It concerns us that things like the heating were not working correctly, and we hope that you notified our staff as soon as it was discovered so that they could try to remedy it. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

2/5 Poor

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service
Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities

Behind the beds and night stand was never cleaned at all gross and light switch in the bathroom was very dirty I don’t understand how cleaning people couldn’t see that, gross.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Cathy, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We apologize that your stay with us was less than super. We will take your comments and review them with our cleaning staff.

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Property conditions & facilities

Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for rating your experience. We hope to see you again in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Food not good. Didn't eat the breakfast offering at all. No options onsite for restaurants.
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for your comments. We are always trying to improve our breakfast. For those who choose not to eat our complimentary breakfast, there are dozens of restaurant options within walking distance from the hotel.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you next time.

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Awesome
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Gerald, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you next time.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Vaughn, Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We apologize that you had a mediocre stay. We hope to see you again next time to improve our service.

1/5 Terrible

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service
Sad face IconDisliked: Property conditions & facilities

Zero likes, Pool dirty closed down failed health testing, loud rooms, bland breakfast, housekeeping did not properly clean daily, didn’t offer for us to get compensated for
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Can. P, Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments. Our pool was not shut down because of health testing, rather we were having to make updates to comply with new regulations. We are sorry that the rest of your stay did not meet expectations and we will use your comments to improve. Thank you.

1/5 Terrible

Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Pool was not working and we were not notified. No towels in our room. When asking for towels the staff member was not polite at all. There was a dryer sheet in the bed. Items left in the fridge from previous guests. Not happy with our stay. Wont be returning
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2019
1
Guest Service Supervisor
We are sorry that your experience was not a positive one. We did notify all arriving guests of the pool and hot tub being down via Expedia instant messaging with the offer of a free cancellation. We hope you will reconsider and try us again in the future.

4/5 Good

Sad face IconDisliked: Property conditions & facilities

They turn the outside hotel’s lights only at 1915! It is a scary place without outdoor lights, you can’t see anything, my wife slept on a patch of ice next to the car... never again
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Claude, Thank you for taking your time to submit a review. Because of your comments we have been able to adjust the time our lights come on so that guests do not need to worry about being in the dark.

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

The staff was amazing very clean loved the pool and the breakfast was also amazing . We will be back
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Arlee, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you next time.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for staying with us.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2019
0
Charlie
Thank you for staying with us. We will look forward to seeing you again here at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service

Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Every thing was very good. The room heating unit was noisy
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Barry, Thank you for your review. We will get that heating unit looked at.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

I really dislike having to get all the way in the shower before I can reach the on/off handle. The way it is set up I have to suffer cold water first! And your rooms could be redesigned with larger bathroom and smaller bedroom. Minor complaints!!
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for your comments. We will take these comments under advisement. We hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Great value for the price. Had a great sleep on a good bed. The breakfast was only average.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Alex, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are always working on improving, so we will look at ways to make our breakfast Super!

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Staff was very friendly and even turned on the water slides earlier in the morning for my daughter. Great prices here and fairly nice rooms.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you for your positive review. Our staff are always happy to help out in any way they can. We look forward to seeing you next time.

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

The room was quiet and big , the breakfast area and food was good. The staff was very friendly and prompt service
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
0
Guest Service Supervisor
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again next time.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
0
Collin
Than you very much for your review.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Good location for our needs. Clean, friendly and helpful staff. Quiet.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
0
Ripin
Dear Anonymous We appreciate your feedback. Hope to serve you again during your next visit to Calgary.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
0
Ripin
Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback. We hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the city.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

The hotel was in a great location to the wedding we were attending.only complaint was the cold not good coffee.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
0
Ripin
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your valuable feedback. While your overall stay experience appears to be positive, i am very sorry about your disappointment with the coffee. Rest assured, we have addressed your concern to ensure this was an isolated issue. We hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the city.

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2019
0
Ripin
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share the feedback. We hope to serve you again.

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

I really liked that on a warm sunny day I could sit just outside the pool area and 'catch some rays'. The pool area itself was very comfortable and the kids loved the yellow waterslide. I really liked the selection and the space of the breakfast room.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
0
Ripin
Dear Anonymous Thank you for an amazing review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay. We look forward to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to the city.

3/5 Okay

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
0
Ripin
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am very sorry we failed to deliver the exceptional service. We hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the city and regain your trust.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Location. Know the area so was perfect to get a room during Masters Outside garbage was not picked up
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
0
Ripin Y
Thank you for your recent stay and the valuable feedback! I have shared your feedback with our team. We hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the city.

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service

Chose the property for location which was close to an event we were attending. It was clean and convenient.. The front desk staff were very nice and helped with an early check-in. Minor frustration with breakfast as only whole wheat bread and eggs were very salty. Also the entry to the property is a bit odd and missed it when we were looking for the hotel. Better signage could help.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
0
Ripin
Dear Anonymous Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and we hope you stay with us again in the future.