Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice hotel close to centre of town

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Ideal for young people everything within walking distance, bars restaurants, and night life.would recommend travel light upstairs rooms are up narrow winding stairs
5 out of 5
by Sharon

Perfect location, quaint, home away from home.

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
We loved it. It is a short walk from Central Station and is right in the heart of Amsterdam. The staff was welcoming, kind and gave great recommendations for meals and walking routes. The décor is charming and eclectically artsy. Our room was clean, spacious and comfy with one of the best view ever. The only slight criticism I have is that the internet was a little spotty up in our room on the 3rd floor.
5 out of 5
by Elsa

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel with excellent facilities, great service and friendly staff. A small criticism: staff did not give us very practical advice regarding surrounding area.
4 out of 5
by Bethany

Quaint with friendly staff

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
A quaint spot with awesome location and very friendly desk workers. Hotel is old with lots of stairs, but we were looking for charm. Room slept 4 comfortably, but it was only an overnight stay. We arrived before noon after an overnight flight and we got in to the room very quickly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Centrum Robin area on tram main

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Nice hotel-older hotel with no a/c on main tram line and across street from canals
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent location, bare-bones hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
It should be stated that there are a lot of stairs, including getting into the hotel so this is not for anybody with mobility issues. The hotel was located in an absolutely perfect location. Very walkable and close to transportation. The room was also very large and since I upgraded it did overlook the canal. The location and the window were the two highlights of this room. I booked one double bed but instead got two twin beds. Which made it somewhat awkward since we checked in as a couple. There were absolutely no extra amenities in this room at all. The toilet tissue was one ply, there were no face tissues provided, the towels were small, thin and scratchy and even though there was a tea kettle/cups provided there was no coffee or tea. You were required to drop your key at the front desk every time you left, yes an actual key, and therefore they controlled your access to the room completely. Knowing that we were in our room the housekeeping staff continually knocked on our door until I had to answer it and tell them we did not need service. The hotel does not provide a do not disturb sign. This may be a pretty typical Dutch room, I'm not sure, but I'm not sure that many foreign travelers would be satisfied with this hotel.
1 out of 5
by Gulderen

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
What a terrible hotel. If you are looking for friendly& helpful staff do not stay at this hotel. We experienced a very bitter service in particular from the lady serving the breakfast. She was very unprofessional and rude. My friend asked gullible questions about the city, where best to eat where is nearest attractions .it looked like the answer was such a burden, we received. Rooms are extremely basic, no water, no telephone to call the reception or anyone, no tea or coffee in the rooms, no hair dryer. I don't even think cettle was working. Be prepared to claim very steep steps to get to your room. Breakfast is not worth the money either, very basic. You can't even toast bread to put your butter on. Overall it was a disaster stay and with staff we've been made very unwelcome . Would never come back would not recommend.
4 out of 5
by Robbie

Great location and comfy

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, comfy beds, clean, kettle but no tea and coffee in the room... friendly staff :)
4 out of 5
by Theresa

Canal Ring Amsterdam

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great Location! Staff was wonderful. Small room but clean. No elevator which was not a problem for me but could be a problem for someone with a problem with stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Wales, UK

Nice centrally located hotel.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Although a kettle was supplied in the room, it would help if tea, coffee, milk and sugar was also supplied.
Location: 20 minutes walking distance from grand central station. 10 minutes from Dam square. You can walk to most attractions within 20 minutes.
Ideal hotel for exploring the city on foot; although there are good travel links outside the hotel. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and the continental breakfast was enjoyable.