Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by August from Washington DC

Like a dream

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I have stayed at a lot of very wonderful places, but nothing comes close to the dream-like world of Babylonstoren. The staff is unfailingly friendly, the cottages are straight out of a design magazine, and the grounds are like a playground for adults. One of the the days of our stay, we scrapped our plans for other activities in the Winelands and just spent the day at Babylonstoren, climbing the hill to watch the sun rise over the mountains, gathering freshly-layed eggs, gingerly holding the hedgehog, touring the gardens, feeding grass to the donkeys, canoeing on the reservoir, bird watching, and biking to every corner of the vast property. We woke each morning to breakfast in a fantasy greenhouse and enjoyed delicious lunches and dinners in their stylish Babel restaurant and cozy pizza kitchen. This place is truly magical!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kulinarisches Highlight

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Wunderbare Unterkunft mit Spitzengastronomie in herrlicher Umgebung. Der Garten des Anwesens ist selbst für Südafrika ein Ausrufezeichen in Sachen Wohlfühlfaktor. Die Zimmer sind in alten Farmerunterkünften in direkter Nähe zum Restaurant und anderen Annehmlichkeiten. Im Zimmerpreis ist die Minibar mit allen Getränken von Wasser, Wein bis zu Gin Tonic inklusive. Das Personal war immer absolut hilfsbereit, flexibel und freundlich. Alles in allem absolut zu empfehlen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Minneapolis

Will stay again

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Interesting place. In a working farm. Two bottles of their wine was included in the room charge. The major drawback to our stay was the mantle of the fireplace caught fire. What a bad design. I had noticed that this had happened before and tried to keep the fire small. I guess it wasn't because at 4AM I woke to a smoke filled room. I hope they change the design of the fireplaces because this was a hazard. Breakfast was wonderful. Everything about this place is wonderful except the fireplace design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alan from carefree, AZ

heaven

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Extraordinary place. Unlike any in the world. Fabulous service. Beautiful surroundings. Wonderful food. Wish I had stayed longer. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Radhika from London

Lovely service, romantic location and property!

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing stay! We travel a lot and after our stay my husband said this was probably the best hotel we have stayed in together- and there have been hundreds! The service was exceptional, all staff unfailingly friendly. We were traveling with our 9 month old baby who was a bit sick and quite fussy during our stay there. The staff at breakfast made sure they took him away for a bit after he had eaten so we could finish our breakfast in peace. We had a splendid tour of the gardens. The spa was exquisite. We bought some bread from the bakery which was lovely, and were even treated to a free loaf as we were buying just as the shop was closing one of the days. The only thing that didnt match up to everything else was the dinner at their restaurant, Babel. We appreciate the effort to use ingredients grown at the farm, but this meant the menu was less exciting than it could be. MY husband was only offered pork belly- which he isnt fond of, and as a vegetarian I had a main course of cauliflower cheese which isnt exciting either. Despite this we would give this stay five stars and definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a find!_

Posted Aug 23, 2015
This place is amazing I am very fussy and I struggle to find any fault. I would definitely recommend staying here for more than one night. The overall experience was wonderful, I felt at home away from home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patricia from Cape Town

One of the loveliest places ever

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
One of the loveliest places I have ever stayed. The cottage was beautiful, the gardens, even in winter were fabulous and the guest services perfect. I loved being greeted in our room with two bottles of special wine!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London/Amsterdam

Amazing respite in a beautiful environment

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Not much!
I spent a wonderful 24 hours at Babylonstoren and despite it being off season, I thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of the environment, the amazing gardens, the spacious and well designed room, the friendly staff and the delicious food. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Elmine Nel - Babylonstoren , Hotel Management
dear Joachim we hope that you will spend more time on Babylonstoren next time! Thank you for your kind feedback and we are happy that you also noticed the beautify of the farm....even in winter! Take good care and we hope to welcome you back sometime - maybe in summer next time! all the best Elmine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Cape Town

SIlver Annversary made Golden

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome in the true sense, some awe in everything. From design to service to creature comforts...what a brilliant celebration of life. Loved the extra li'l touches like complimentary bubbles and fresh flowers from the garden for our anniversary, plus the relaxed vibe about treats in fridge/good n proper coffee/wine included in room rate unlike other luxury hotels that rip you off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2015 by Elmine Nel Babylonstoren, Hotel Management
dear Mike It makes us just so happy to hear that we turned your silver anniversary into a gold celebration! thank you for sharing your experience with us and we wish you many more happy returns of this special celebration. all the best Elmine