Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Babylonstren

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
An beautiful and convenient property. Great service, food and wine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So happy we stayed here!

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and we loved it! The Cottage Suite was large, luxurious and very comfortable - everything you could want/need in the room - and the minibar was complementary. The staff were extremely friendly and always available to help. And breakfast and dinner at Babel were delicious - all local fruit and vegetables grown on the farm. The wines were delicious as well and would recommend the cellar tour. Such a relaxing place and would return tomorrow if we could!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to end tour of South Africa

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Peaceful, beautiful. Healthy fresh breakfast. Excellent gift shop, cheese and bakery. Informative garden tour. Absolutely gorgeous with easy access to Winelands. All staff were courteous and helpful A few niggly things... Very slippery floor in second bedroom... Quite dangerous. Poor lighting in second bathroom. Tiny bedside tables proved useless. No electric blankets in second bedroom. No adaptor for hairdryer in second bedroom. Lounge chairs were very uncomfortable. Wood fire was lovely. I would definitely stay here again...here's hoping the interior design is more comfy.
5 out of 5
by Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert

Stunning place. Friendly service.

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
First class stay in the Winelands.
5 out of 5
by Ann from Albany, NY

Romantic place to stay, but not veg-friendly

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was incredible staying at Babylonstoren. The service was impeccable and the surroundings stunning. The wine tour was completely lame, and their vegetarian offerings were slim, but other than that, we had the best time there.
5 out of 5
by August from Washington DC

Like a dream

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I have stayed at a lot of very wonderful places, but nothing comes close to the dream-like world of Babylonstoren. The staff is unfailingly friendly, the cottages are straight out of a design magazine, and the grounds are like a playground for adults. One of the the days of our stay, we scrapped our plans for other activities in the Winelands and just spent the day at Babylonstoren, climbing the hill to watch the sun rise over the mountains, gathering freshly-layed eggs, gingerly holding the hedgehog, touring the gardens, feeding grass to the donkeys, canoeing on the reservoir, bird watching, and biking to every corner of the vast property. We woke each morning to breakfast in a fantasy greenhouse and enjoyed delicious lunches and dinners in their stylish Babel restaurant and cozy pizza kitchen. This place is truly magical!
4 out of 5
by Richard from Minneapolis

Will stay again

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Interesting place. In a working farm. Two bottles of their wine was included in the room charge. The major drawback to our stay was the mantle of the fireplace caught fire. What a bad design. I had noticed that this had happened before and tried to keep the fire small. I guess it wasn't because at 4AM I woke to a smoke filled room. I hope they change the design of the fireplaces because this was a hazard. Breakfast was wonderful. Everything about this place is wonderful except the fireplace design.
5 out of 5
by Alan from carefree, AZ

heaven

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Extraordinary place. Unlike any in the world. Fabulous service. Beautiful surroundings. Wonderful food. Wish I had stayed longer. Will return.
5 out of 5
by Radhika from London

Lovely service, romantic location and property!

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing stay! We travel a lot and after our stay my husband said this was probably the best hotel we have stayed in together- and there have been hundreds! The service was exceptional, all staff unfailingly friendly. We were traveling with our 9 month old baby who was a bit sick and quite fussy during our stay there. The staff at breakfast made sure they took him away for a bit after he had eaten so we could finish our breakfast in peace. We had a splendid tour of the gardens. The spa was exquisite. We bought some bread from the bakery which was lovely, and were even treated to a free loaf as we were buying just as the shop was closing one of the days. The only thing that didnt match up to everything else was the dinner at their restaurant, Babel. We appreciate the effort to use ingredients grown at the farm, but this meant the menu was less exciting than it could be. MY husband was only offered pork belly- which he isnt fond of, and as a vegetarian I had a main course of cauliflower cheese which isnt exciting either. Despite this we would give this stay five stars and definitely recommend it.