Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yellowknife, Canada

Cape Town V&A accomodation

Posted May 7, 2017
We spent 5 days at the Protea. The location was excellent, the room rate was good. The converted prison provides a unique hotel experience. The rooms are very compact so be prepared for this but finishes and design are good and meet Marriot standard. Room was very clean. Bed was great. Unfortunately we had no water for one full day because of a city main break. We did not receive any discount for this and should have. Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Beautiful rooms. Perfect location. Very clean. I definitely recommend it although the room is a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
After reading mixed reviews I was pleasantly surprised. This is a great hotel, good location, only 5 mins walk from V&A waterfront with its many attractions. The hotel restaurant offers great food at a good price. Would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
by Thomas

Its like a prison!

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was an old prison, cool for a night I guess, but ultimately not much you can do with an old prison to make it into a nice hotel (obviously... but Marriott didn't seem to realize this). A lot of much nicer places to stay in Capetown...would not recommend this one. Oh and there is a college there to ... altogether very weird.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Close to Waterfront

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Cleaning of the room floors.
Location: A multitude of things to do in Cape Town. No chance of being bored.
Using the hotel made staying in Cape Town a pleasant experience. The location meant easy access to amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
The staff was wonderful and the room was perfect for the price. We stayed in a family room and it was nice to have two rooms together.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location, not a family suite!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Excellent location near to the Cape Town Waterfront and central to other Cape Town activities. However the room was advertised as a Family Suite and I have to say it is nowhere near a suite! There are two rooms which are clean and comfortable. However they are basically either a prison cell or dormitory converted - there are locks on the two bedrooms which clearly could be used with shared facilities in the middle of the rooms. There is no separate area for the family to sit down and relax - it has to be in the bedrooms - therefore under my definition that is not a suite but simply two bedrooms - both of which are small.
3 out of 5
by Joakim

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Fix you WiFi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Terrible mess getting it work!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very convenient to the V&A Waterfront

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Room is very small and the bed is comfortable but very small also. Very close to all the V&A shops and restaurants and we felt safe walking to and from the hotel at any time of the day.