Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Dated on the bay

Posted May 8, 2017
The pictures online are of updated and renovated spaces, which was not representative of our condo whatsoever. Hotel staff acted put out that we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Excellent view, nice having a kitchen, bit dated

Posted May 1, 2017
Stayed here for a night on a weekend trip with family. We loved the view from the room with lots of windows. Great having a kitchen for the same rate as a budget hotel without a view. Overall the place was clean, but is basically a 1980's building with some updates. Each room will be a bit different based on remodeling, but they all have a decent view. On the downside, the shower was really low, place smells kind of old, they didn't have a pull out sofa even though it advertised the room had one. They gave us a fold out mattress which worked I guess. Nothing super fancy, but a decent place considering the price and comparable options in this small coastal town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Not for Comfort

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Upon arrival they stated they had reservation for us and seemed agitated that it was booked through Expedia. They finally found us a room they claimed had a queen sized bed (we booked a king, but that's still acceptable) which actually turned out to be a VERY stiff and uncomfortable double. The overall room was dated and not super clean. I would never stay there again. For the amount of money we spent we could've stayed at Nye Beach Hotel or elsewhere that would've been nicer and cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philomath, OR

Management went Above and Beyond

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The view, the staff, the dinner - no complaints!
Cons: The pool towels could be larger and softer
Location: Newport is so diverse and beautiful! There is beach combing, bay front shopping, sea lions, wine tasting, whale watching, and a magnificent aquarium
Upon arrival, we were greeted by amazing staff and given a spectacular room, however, it was on the third floor and my mother who was visiting from back east was unable to climb the stairs. The manager was at the desk when we went back in to explain our dilemma and not only did she find us another room on the ground floor but in order to receive the same amazing view, she upgraded us for the first night at no cost! My mother was so impressed that she decided we should stay an extra night and bring other family over from the valley for a couple nights. We have always been impressed with the Embarcadero but have now become even more certain of why we will always stay here when visiting the coast. In regards to the restaurant - the Bad A Crab Boil was excellent, however, we very much miss being able to have breakfast with that view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliment we strive to make each and every one of our guests happy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Hotel in Newport

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The room we were given was at one point a smoking room despite our asking for nonsmoking. The carpet was dirty, couch broken down and uncomfortable and the kitchen was not clean. Our room was located just over the laundry facility so we could not open our door due to the chemical smell. Not sure if the stale smoke or chemicals was worse. I've been to this hotel before through a private party and had no issues. I won't rent through the hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scappoose, OR

Our Room was awesome.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Being on the bay and we had the swimming pool mostly to ourselves. We had a great time.
Cons: The noise from the other rooms. If you have little ones that need their sleep it doesn't happen till about 11:00-12:00
Location: Love how close to old town you are and the aquarium is close by.
When you are down on the lower level room the rooms above you can hear everything that is going on in that room. If you go to bed earlier then them you will be woken up. The room was awesome. Plenty of room and plenty of view.
5 out of 5
by Lindsey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Need tons of improvements

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The lady who checked us in was rude, annoyed with having to print our reservation as she didn't have it with her pile. She said we were there too early at almost 3:00 pm and when we asked her about lunch around there she told us to check Yelp as it's a personal choice and she's scared to recommend places????? Rules or bylaws existe for the safety and comfort of all of the users and if you are asked to shower before entering the pool for Christ sake do it. There were a couple of families whom entered the pool just as they were, there were babies and toddlers with them and all they did was ask do you have to go potty??! Swimmers exist for a reason people! A little girl just pooped on the pool and needless to say we only stayed one night instead of 5.