Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel and plenty of restaurant's around

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Would have been 5 stars of it were closer to the Michigan stadium...it seemed farther than stated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

....okay.....

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Decent enough place but needs to move up to the next level in terms of decor, beds, towels etc. User friendly hotel in terms of parking and access but feels like your staying in a cheap rental suite which essentially you are.......although this style of accommodation is not that cheap anymore. Staff was awesome though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Steve D, Hotel Management
Dear Jodie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not like our decor, we were freshly remodeled in 2014, so I would love to have more feedback on that if you have the time. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Livonia!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Don't let the reputation of this name fool you!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The front entrance isn't marked. We had to drive around the building to figure out which door to go in. The attendant was friendly and the reservation was ready. We booked for a 2 bedroom for our party of 8, 4 adults, 4 kids. We did receive a 2 bedroom, but each room only had 1 queen bed and a sleeper sofa that slept 2...that is only bed space for 6, and they do not have roll away beds. So we had to get another room. They did not discount our additional room or offer any apologies for the misrepresentation of the reservation. The rooms were dingy. The kitchen and bathroom floors were sticky. There was dust in the corners and the mattresses were horrible. The hotel had 3 separate buildings which we did not like for security purposes. The building also wasn't well lit at dark. Our big family has stayed at many Residents Inn by Marriot over the years and this location was not only the worst namesake, but one of the worst places we have ever stayed. It is, by far, not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Perfect for a family

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: We use it for visiting family in the area
have stayed here often, always clean, convenient to highway and ammenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2016 by Steve Duhonich, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am glad to have you stay with us and am glad to hear that you find us always clean and that we are a convenient location for you. I look forward to the next time, and every time, your travels bring you to Livonia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but not for sleeping

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Fast Check in Friendly staff
Cons: Rooms are noisy and have little soundproofing between them.
I stayed at the Residence Inn for one night. I arrived late at night and was anxious to turn in for the night. The check in was the fastest check in I've ever had at a hotel. The woman who checked me in was friendly and welcoming. The room was large and setup nicely. It was clean, smelled fine and up to date. However, when I was about to go to sleep, I realized how little soundproofing was in the walls/ceiling. I could hear televisions from across the hall, people walking around above me, someone using the sink in the next room over, etc. You name the sound and I could hear it. I did manage to get to sleep, but at 5:00a.m., the guest above me got up and started showering. I could hear the whole process. Unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend staying here because of that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you Mark for taking the time to share you feedback about your stay at the Residence Inn Livonia. I am so sorry that you were not able to get a good nights sleep due to the fact that you could hear the noise of your neighbors around you. I am please to hear that you liked the room and the staff. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you give us another opportunity to make a better impression the next time your travels bring you to the Livonia area. Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Myke from MI

Best deal in town

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Great upgrades Great complimentary breakfast Great location Great price Great amenities (including fast wifi) Clean Cozy Comfortable I'd return in the future!
2 out of 5
by Sheila from St. Paul, MN

Started good but went down hill fast

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Most of the staff was very friendly - especially the ones cleaning the rooms. Just passing them in the hallway they had a smile and friendly comment.
Cons: Clean the swimming pool and put toilet seats on that aren't angled off to the side.
Location: The location was good with lots of shops and places to eat nearby.
When I first arrived, I received a friendly welcome. I knew it was a long shot but asked if it would be possible to check in early - I was there around 1:00. Luckily (or not) there was one room of my type that had been cleaned so I was allowed to check in early. I found out why nobody was in that room when after being in the room for an hour it was very hot and not cooling down at all. Before going out I asked that someone check the AC in the room. When I got back I was given a different room - where the AC worked great. My next encounter at the front desk went well, too, but the third person (a guy this time) acted like I was imposing on him. Especially when I went down to print my boarding pass on the computer and was unable to connect to the internet. He looked at it and decided to just restart it and as it was restarting I noticed there was only one piece of paper in the printer and asked if he also had more paper. At that point he got annoyed and said he would just print it out at the front desk. I can only assume the next person wanting to print their boarding pass had the same problems - why not just fix it in the first place? Anyway, when I got to the airport and up to the security line, I was sent back to the Delta kiosk because when he printed my boarding pass it cut off the left side so they would not accept it. The toilet seat did not fit the toilet properly and off to one side and the swimming pool was filthy - not up to Marriott standards in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best extended stay!

Posted May 2, 2013
We were very pleasantly surprised with our 3 night stay at the Residence hotel by Marriott and would definitely stay again. Our cat liked it also but we were charged a pet fee despite Expedia assuring us there would be no fee! We somehow feel this was a misunderstanding and Expedia was more at fault than the hotel. Our suite was so roomy and included all our needs. It was also very convenient .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Pittsburgh

great palce for business or pleasure

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: generous sized room at a very reasonable price
Cons: having to go outside into the cold to get to breakfast/office.
Location: good location for NW detroit suburbs
great value! Studio suite was perfect for my wife and me as we visited family over the weekend. Breakfast was pleasantly good with a nice selection of hot and cold items. Staff was very friendly and accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Excellent Stay!

Posted Apr 26, 2011
I was in town for pleasure, and was quite impressed with the room amenities as well as the continental breakfast offered. This hotel really did offer a "home away from home" experience, and the hotel manager was very nice and helpful, recommending local restaurants and where the nearest stores were to get supplies. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!