Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

Disappointed by our room

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We liked the location very close to the beach but were given a room in the oldest part of the hotel which was not very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like a home away from home!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great staff, lovely room, almost like a suite in size with private garden and beach just opposite to hotel. I would definitely stay here again, great views of the bay from the reception area, huge fireplace (would be great in winter too) and the lookout point is just amazing to take in all the views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, England

Great hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The beach, Birds of Eden, Bramon Winery and Restaurant, Tsitsikamma National Park.
Spent a wonderful three nights here in September 2017, with a sea-view / balcony apartment at the front of the hotel (room 6 in the main building). We even had a separate lounge area! Food was good although not the best value meal we had on the Garden Route (but in fairness, Plett is generally pricier than elsewhere). Wine selection in the restaurant was very limited, which seemed bizarre given South Africa's reputation for good wine. Staff generally very helpful, although we did request an iron / iron board on our first day, which never materialised. But not a major issue, and would have no hesitation in going back or recommending to others.
4 out of 5
by Gary

A gem over looking the ocean

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely venue with ocean view. Plenty parking. Very friendly and helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. We were received with a complimentary coffee (hot chocolate for the kids) and cake - available throughout the stay in the lounge. The rooms was lacking soap, shampoo and a light- bulb but it was quickly corrected. Wi-Fi is unfortunately weak. We were lodged in the 'cottage pie' building which is the furthest from lobby and restaurant - but did not bother us. Should it had been raining - it might 'dampen' the comfort of your meals. Good value for price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but compact rooms

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel within 2 mins of the beach We stayed in room b2 which I found compact for two days with 2 cases but the most random thing was the person lying on the bed had a full view of the person using the bathroom esp the toilet. This could b resolved by putting in a solid door rather than a glass door
5 out of 5
by Jianan

Nice clean hotel in Plett

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Easy to find good location with great views. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Friendly service by Speedy upon check in and good breakfast spread!
5 out of 5
by hagai

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Denise

Excellent hotel in Plettenberg

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great rooms, great breakfast, nice swimming pool although the weather wasn't warm enough to use it. We had three rooms in Cottage Pie so had the whole of the downstairs to ourselves. The security in and around the hotel was first class. It was directly opposite the beach so very handy for our surfing lessons and only a short drive from Plettenberg main centre. Would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by Rakesh

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 star rating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Wonderful hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Room size. Location.
Cons: Check-in process. Need more staff if busy.
Location: Across the street from the beach. Close to shops and restaurants. Also close enough to Knysna for quick trip, as well as The Crags area.
Lovely hotel. Rooms are large, bathrooms too. Access to the beach across the street. Quiet, residential neighborhood but still close to shops and restaurants. Delicious croissants at breakfast. Reception area is small, making check-in a little confusing when busy.